Best loss Ever

I'm not the least bit worried about the SE chances after losing to Madagascar. We must first give massive props to Madagascar for playing a smart game vs a listless SE team on the day.However , beating us after we've already qualified is much easier to do especially with the wholesale games made. I take nothing away from Madagascar. We lost but we're still a top 4 team at this AFCON as Ghana will soon find out.

Imho, this loss was inevitable. We are bound to suffer an embarrassing loss sooner or later because the team is in a transitional period. This game marked the end of an era. The Mikel,Balogun, Ogu, and to a certain extent Ighalo era came to an end today. It was painfully obvious that Mikel and Ogu will no longer fit into this team mostly because of the uptempo style of play. While Balogun can still contribute I think the benefit of him playing is not enough, Omeruo and Troost are now the undisputed starting CD combo. In MF Iwobi hasn't exactly won the AM position but he has a massive game coming up to show us if he can fill the AM position. Musa seems to have lost a step, gone are the days when he would blow by defenders, now he's relying more on his ability to make the right pass which is not the best.

Personally, it hurts to see Mikel want to perform but not able to do it like he used to. To see Musa pass up a chance to use his pace for a cross that ends up nowhere. Ighalo basically just hustling and not able to create for himself or take advantage of the few chances he gets.

We now have to make a bet on the future. I expect ROHR to roll out this lineup in the next round

Akpeyi

Aina. Omeruo Troost. Collins

Ndidi. Etebo

Chukwueze Iwobi Onyekuru

Onuachu/ Osihmen

This is the bet we must make.
Re: Best loss Ever

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: We lost but we're still a top 4 team at this AFCON as Ghana will soon find out.
Leave us alone

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote:I'm not the least bit worried about the SE chances after losing to Madagascar. We must first give massive props to Madagascar for playing a smart game vs a listless SE team on the day.However , beating us after we've already qualified is much easier to do especially with the wholesale games made. I take nothing away from Madagascar. We lost but we're still a top 4 team at this AFCON as Ghana will soon find out.

Imho, this loss was inevitable. We are bound to suffer an embarrassing loss sooner or later because the team is in a transitional period. This game marked the end of an era. The Mikel,Balogun, Ogu, and to a certain extent Ighalo era came to an end today. It was painfully obvious that Mikel and Ogu will no longer fit into this team mostly because of the uptempo style of play. While Balogun can still contribute I think the benefit of him playing is not enough, Omeruo and Troost are now the undisputed starting CD combo. In MF Iwobi hasn't exactly won the AM position but he has a massive game coming up to show us if he can fill the AM position. Musa seems to have lost a step, gone are the days when he would blow by defenders, now he's relying more on his ability to make the right pass which is not the best.

Personally, it hurts to see Mikel want to perform but not able to do it like he used to. To see Musa pass up a chance to use his pace for a cross that ends up nowhere. Ighalo basically just hustling and not able to create for himself or take advantage of the few chances he gets.

We now have to make a bet on the future. I expect ROHR to roll out this lineup in the next round

Akpeyi

Ndidi. Etebo

Chukwueze Iwobi Onyekuru

Onuachu/ Osihmen

Rohr and his daft crew. This lineup is what we have been asking for but y’all and rohr want to play Musa and Simon :rotf: :rotf:

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: We lost but we're still a top 4 team at this AFCON as Ghana will soon find out.
Leave us alone

This yeye babalawo don come again. Mikel and Ogu's era has come to an end he says. Tomorrow he will be abusing people for saying the exact same thing. Next tomorrow he will open a thread reiterating the same damn thing and so forth and so on. Damn Ibadan people can be weird af.

The way Balogun poorly shielded that ball, and worst still bullied off the ball by the faster Madagascan player now makes me understand in better perspective why the Brighton coach never played him all season. Unfortunately age has probably caught up with him, for all his intelligence and calm as a defender, it leaves much to be desired if we keep him as the starting 11 player along with Ekong...omeruo is now by default the undisputed #1 in that defense, Balogun can sit it out for as far as we can go in the tournament, and should be joining league of old men retirees like Ogu, Ighalo, Akpeyi, Ezenwa and Mikel Post AFCON.

Our team after AFCON 2019 for the future will be GK's: Uzoho, Okoye (Arsenal kid), and Nwokor

CB/FB: Omeruo, Ekong, Awaziem, (any other top class defender we somehow unearth), Tomori?, Aina, Ebuehi, Shehu(dudes still not good enough).

CM: Ndidi, Etebo, Azubuike (this boy should be ahead of grandpa's like Ogu and Mikel) Ejaria?, Nwakali?, Igbekeme(this boy is a baller playing in the La Liga for God's sake)!!, Orji Okonkwo(kid is doing the business at the MLS)

FWD: Osimhen, Iwobi, Musa, Chukwueze, Onuachu(undecided) , Simon Moses(undecided), Okereke, Awoniyi.

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote:I'm not the least bit worried about the SE chances after losing to Madagascar. We must first give massive props to Madagascar for playing a smart game vs a listless SE team on the day.However , beating us after we've already qualified is much easier to do especially with the wholesale games made. I take nothing away from Madagascar. We lost but we're still a top 4 team at this AFCON as Ghana will soon find out.

Akpeyi

Ndidi. Etebo

Chukwueze Iwobi Onyekuru

Onuachu/ Osihmen

You've been raped repeatedly by 3rd rate European coaches, you are prepared to lie down for the next one.

You are to be pitied. You need referral to a specialist in counselling victims with a Stockholm syndrome affliction.

Ekpele. SMH!

Akpeyi

Ndidi. Etebo

Chukwueze Iwobi Onyekuru

Onuachu/ Osihmen

Go and listen to his post match presser. He accused "some players" of having attitude issues when he was asked about the two highlighted. They aint smelling the starting line up anytime soon.

And Ighalo is a guaranteed starter for Rohr barring injury.

While we all get emotional I'm sure the coaches of our future opponents are smart enough not to read too much into this result due to the five changes in starting line up and the mindset of only needing a draw. It's still a confidence boost to their players though. Those who are stupid enough to let their guard down are sure to be Cameroon'd OR RSA'd. This is why they play the best of seven Series in the NBA. Every game is like the previous one never happened

Akpeyi

Ndidi. Etebo

Chukwueze Iwobi Onyekuru

Onuachu/ Osihmen

The German angel* doesn't get it.

Akpeyi

Ndidi. Etebo

Chukwueze Iwobi Onyekuru

Onuachu/ Osihmen

He will still stick to Ighalo and Musa you daft moron.

We got beat, pure and simple. Any team that has to lose a game to wake up is not a very good team. There is nothing I have seen of this team that suggest we are capable of "switching" it on whenever we want to. I think we can play better than we did today, but but there is not one player we had on the bench that could have come in make much of a difference.

Based on what we've seen so far, I would start the same team we started against Guinea in our next game.

1naija wrote:We got beat, pure and simple. Any team that has to lose a game to wake up is not a very good team. There is nothing I have seen of this team that suggest we are capable of "switching" it on whenever we want to. I think we can play better than we did today, but but there is not one player we had on the bench that could have come in make much of a difference.

Based on what we've seen so far, I would start the same team we started against Guinea in our next game.
Ghana is coming for you!!!!

1naija wrote:We got beat, pure and simple. Any team that has to lose a game to wake up is not a very good team. There is nothing I have seen of this team that suggest we are capable of "switching" it on whenever we want to. I think we can play better than we did today, but but there is not one player we had on the bench that could have come in make much of a difference.

Tuesday is around the corner

Lance Corporal 1Naija,
Saturday is around the corner

Lance Corporal 1Naija,
Saturday is around the corner
We've been ready for Saturday since Monday, but Tuesday is around the corner.