Paul Onuachu

I saw enough from this player not to write him off just yet. This was our first game in, perhaps, his very first tension-packed game for the SE. I thought he did some tidy things with the ball that showed he has something to offer.

Granted, Ighalo is more experienced, but Onuachu should not be discarded just yet. I trust Nigerians to praise you this second, and curse you the next.

This Onuachu boy is still going to make a difference in this tournament.
Last edited by Cally on Sun Jun 23, 2019 12:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.

"My friends - "We need to really reassess the way we trash our national team, derogate some players and disrespect the people that run our football. Let the brand new Super Eagles become our new Brand of national pride.. The unifying identity for all.. Bar none!" - CE's The Great Seloweizer (6/24/13)

Re: Paul Onuachu

I think he actually did quite well considering our inability to break their defense down in the fist half. He's a massive threat threat in the air, hold up decently and actually tracks back to help in Mf. Unfortunately, he's not going to look good when the team isn't creating chances. He's definitely a keeper. With the young wingers and creative players on the horizon he's the perfect striker for this team along with Osihmen.
west33637

Post by west33637 »

Cally wrote:I saw enough from this player not to write him off just yet. This was our first game in, perhaps, his very first tension parked game for the SE. I thought he did some tidy things with the ball that showed he has something to offer.

Granted, Ighalo is more experienced, but Onuachu should not be discarded just yet. I trust Nigerians to praise you this second, and curse you the next.

I concur! The aerial threat that he brings is welcome. We haven't been dangerous in that area for quite some time. I think he showed promise

OK. But he shouldn't play in this tournament again, save that for friendlies.

Cally wrote:I saw enough from this player not to write him off just yet. This was our first game in, perhaps, his very first tension parked game for the SE. I thought he did some tidy things with the ball that showed he has something to offer.

Though I’ll always have a bias for pacy forwards (which he is not) I agree with you. He wasn’t bad and did strike me as mostly lacking service. That being said, I doubt he would have been in position, let alone score the goal Ighalo scored.

He needs a bit more time and club experience

Ppl keep saying that we didn’t create chances....the striker needs to move for you to create for him, the guy is not mobile and we don’t have wingers that are great in crossing the ball..... let’s see what Oshimen can do before we crown Ighalo though...

Enyi wrote:Ppl keep saying that we didn’t create chances....the striker needs to move for you to create for him, the guy is not mobile and we don’t have wingers that are great in crossing the ball..... let’s see what Oshimen can do before we crown Ighalo though...
It's not about crowning anyone Ighalo scored the only goal so obviously he deserves some merit!

Nah the guy was horrible today, loses possession easily for a big man ....the guy shouldn't even be ahead of osieme

Bigpokey24 wrote:Nah the guy was horrible today, loses possession easily for a big man ....the guy shouldn't even be ahead of osieme
Not ready for the tournament.

Yekini struggled in many matches for Nigeria before he finally came good. Onuachu has an aerial presence no one else on the team does and they didn't play to that strength. I expected a ton of crosses to be whipped into the box but nada. Samu kept trying to dribble his way into a cul-de-sac. Iwobi had a couple of nice crosses but that's about it. Musa can't cross to save his life.

theYemster wrote:Yekini struggled in many matches for Nigeria before he finally came good. Onuachu has an aerial presence no one else on the team does and they didn't play to that strength. I expected a ton of crosses to be whipped into the box but nada. Samu kept trying to dribble his way into a cul-de-sac. Iwobi had a couple of nice crosses but that's about it. Musa can't cross to save his life.
Rubbish..smh comparing that horrible first touch to yekini. That guy should never have started ....there's a reason he is stuck at Denmark

This guy got selected on the back of a goal scorer against Egypt ....... however he hasn’t proved to be quality striker as he hasn’t scored since. Playing in Norway is the standard that high? I was particularly disappointed with the two changes he had one in the air that the goal keeper saved and the weak shot which the goalkeeper save I thought he got have taken an extra touch to get closer and finish.
ojafranpa

Post by ojafranpa »

theYemster wrote:]Yekini struggled in many matches for Nigeria before he finally came good. Onuachu has an aerial presence no one else on the team does and they didn't play to that strength. I expected a ton of crosses to be whipped into the box but nada. Samu kept trying to dribble his way into a cul-de-sac. Iwobi had a couple of nice crosses but that's about it. Musa can't cross to save his life.
I will like you to mention those games. That is a fat lie.

Flex Swift wrote:This guy got selected on the back of a goal scorer against Egypt ....... however he hasn’t proved to be quality striker as he hasn’t scored since. Playing in Norway is the standard that high? I was particularly disappointed with the two changes he had one in the air that the goal keeper saved and the weak shot which the goalkeeper save I thought he got have taken an extra touch to get closer and finish.

Abeg sharap dia. Nobody wishing injury on our players is allowed here. Logout now! :curse:

Flex Swift wrote:This guy got selected on the back of a goal scorer against Egypt ....... however he hasn’t proved to be quality striker as he hasn’t scored since. Playing in Norway is the standard that high? I was particularly disappointed with the two changes he had one in the air that the goal keeper saved and the weak shot which the goalkeeper save I thought he got have taken an extra touch to get closer and finish.

Abeg sharap dia. Nobody wishing injury on our players is allowed here. Logout now! :curse:
I got your attention !!!! now you will be watching Akepyi & Ighalo closely and guess what??? If Nigeria plays like that against Egypt’s , Ivory Coast or Senegal in the knockout rounds it will be game over now that is a reason for you the shake

Cally wrote:I saw enough from this player not to write him off just yet. This was our first game in, perhaps, his very first tension-packed game for the SE. I thought he did some tidy things with the ball that showed he has something to offer.

I agree.
kali

Post by kali »

Onuachu offers physical presence but he is not using it to manhandle and draw defenders like Emenike for example.

The guy will be fine. Chillax

Paul Onuachu will come good. Like all players, he just needs to work out the difference between club and international football. He must exploit his physicality but must never depend on it alone like he did against Burundi. Making off-the-ball runs and presenting threats every time he has the ball is the mark of a club football player that has fully grasped international football. It took Yekini a while too to blend into the SE.

theYemster wrote:Yekini struggled in many matches for Nigeria before he finally came good. Onuachu has an aerial presence no one else on the team does and they didn't play to that strength. I expected a ton of crosses to be whipped into the box but nada. Samu kept trying to dribble his way into a cul-de-sac. Iwobi had a couple of nice crosses but that's about it. Musa can't cross to save his life.
Rubbish..smh comparing that horrible first touch to yekini. That guy should never have started ....there's a reason he is stuck at Denmark
Why do you always have to make an a$s of yourself? Are you that desperate for attention? I specifically referred to Yekini EARLY in his career but you choose to misrepresent what I said. And yes, Yekini was a clumsy bumbling player early in his career.

Even though he scored at Maroc and Seoul 88, his profile began to rise at Algiers 90 from whence he became the player he became. And even so, Onuachu seems like he might be better in the air than Yekini. And don't forget Yekini had a "dead" left foot.

Just because I acknowledge some weaknesses in his game doesn't diminish his legacy. On the contrary, the fact that he was able to accomplish what he did despise those weaknesses is a testament to his overall greatness.

The overall point here is to suggest that just like Yekini did, Onuachu is capable of growing into a more deadly striker despite the (perceived) flaws in his game presently.

He won 12 duels. got into 23 duels in total and won 15.

Its clear his job was to play with back to goal, hold up, get into a heading position, expect crosses amnd score. he's scored over 70% of his goal with headers and that was the plan exactly.

Iwobi (4 crosses, none was connected by any player) and Aina (4crosses, 2 success) whipped in crosses especially in the 2nd half but they were not properly targeted.

chief nfachairman wrote:He won 12 duels. got into 23 duels in total and won 15.

Its clear his job was to play with back to goal, hold up, get into a heading position, expect crosses amnd score. he's scored over 70% of his goal with headers and that was the plan exactly.

Iwobi (4 crosses, none was connected by any player) and Aina (4crosses, 2 success) whipped in crosses especially in the 2nd half but they were not properly targeted.
You won't hear me slandering him, I think he did his job well as a 'holding' striker, however he did have like about 3 headed opportunities (uncontested) and put only one on target though it was a really tame effort. I don't think he's an Olivier Bierrhoff with his head so we shouldn't be relying on that, maybe we can use his holding qualities to kill off games, but playing in this manner he won't score too many goals on this SE team, even with Kalu in there serving crosses.
peppersoup

Post by peppersoup »

Yekini had an horrible first touch until way later in his career. To make it worse, his heading was atrocious too
"His Excellency President for Life, Field Marshal Al Hadji Doctor Idi Amin, VC, DSO, MC, Lord of All the Beasts of the Earth and Fishes of the Sea, and Conqueror of the British Empire in Africa in General and Uganda in Particular."