SHOCK LOSS that exposes Quite a lot (+ Ratings)

As for Manager Gernot Rohr, he is now hanging on a thin string. This result will find no friends among his bosses at the federation. It was an embarrassment that was totally unexpected. While it is easy to blame the loss on his decision to bench some starters, the reality is that Nigeria, even with a totally changed team, was the overwhelming favorite. Nigeria had the players with the foreign club profile that is so highly touted in Africa. Even Rohr has touted that in selecting his squad. But today he team was outplayed by an opponent who had players at nondescript professional locales.
Manager Rohr's attempts to salvage the game at that point was like chasing a mirage. He had already taken off Ogu. This time he took off Mikel and then Kalu but the reality is that there were a litany of others that also did not deserve to finish the game. Mikel certainly is on his last legs. After watching him in two games at this AFCON, it is quite clear that he is slower than ever. Then his ability to protect the ball is now history. His play and his inability to adapt to the pace of the games tells the story of who he is now at this stage of his career. He is finished. It is now unlikely that he will find any additional minutes in what is left of Nigeria's participation at this 2019 AFCON. It is a sad end to an erstwhile decorative Nigerian career.
More can be found by clicking on the link below:

https://eaglecity.blogspot.com/2019/06/ ... tings.html
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
Re: SHOCK LOSS that exposes Quite a lot (+ Ratings)

Spot on analysis Prof. :clap:

When a player is at the tail end of his career, what you tend to find is his legs are no longer at the sharp command of his brain. He will then tend to stretch to reach balls that he would easily have gathered years before. Also, because his legs are slower than his mind, balls get trapped between his legs while the opposition closes down on him quicker than in years past. His passes are no longer measured. he is unable to jump for crosses (his feet dont actually come off the ground!) and he only passes (or attempts to play) the short safe passes. Most other players around him go past him quickly just when he is gathering his own reaction.

TODAY, UNFORTUNATELY WE SAW ALL OF THE ABOVE FROM JOHN MIKEL OBI!

I will be very surprised if Gernot Rohr plays JMO for Nigeria again after today.

Goldleaf wrote:When a player is at the tail end of his career, what you tend to find is his legs are no longer at the sharp command of his brain. He will then tend to stretch to reach balls that he would easily have gathered years before. Also, because his legs are slower than his mind, balls get trapped between his legs while the opposition closes down on him quicker than in years past. His passes are no longer measured. he is unable to jump for crosses (his feet dont actually come off the ground!) and he only passes (or attempts to play) the short safe passes. Most other players around him go past him quickly just when he is gathering his own reaction.

TODAY, UNFORTUNATELY WE SAW ALL OF THE ABOVE FROM JOHN MIKEL OBI!

I will be very surprised if Gernot Rohr plays JMO for Nigeria again after today.
I'll be more surprised if Rohr remains a coach any time past this AFCON.

Make una leave Mikel alone, he dug his own grave with nonsense sabbatical. When you get to that stage of your career you must keep playing to keep up. The way the African players have been dancing around him in this tournament has been pathetic. Should have stayed retired or not go on that sabbatical,the team appears to have moved on in his absence

Maybe the squad is not as good as we thought. For one, two of the three goalkeepers are not starters at their clubs, even Akpeyi might not be the first choice making it 3 of 3. Then you have benchwarmers in Balogun and Awazien and am sure their are others as well. When the chips are down, when fitness and skill is required, can they perform? Truth is that this is not the FIFA worldcup but AFCON and if Naija cant match Madagascar then something somewhere is not working. Of all the games I have seen at this edition of AFCON, the only team that looks more poor than Naija today is Tanzania coached by Amunike.
zoro

Post by zoro »

Mikel is 32 years . Not so ?
IGBOS ARE THE IMPORTANT AND USEFUL SLAVES OF NIGERIA. THEY HAVE A CHOICE TO MAKE.

why is this loss labeled as a SHOCK?
If it happened during the days of Okocha, Kanu, Finidi, Yekini, the bull, etc, then it could be classified as such
Today? No so much

oscar52 wrote:Maybe the squad is not as good as we thought. For one, two of the three goalkeepers are not starters at their clubs, even Akpeyi might not be the first choice making it 3 of 3. Then you have benchwarmers in Balogun and Awazien and am sure their are others as well. When the chips are down, when fitness and skill is required, can they perform? Truth is that this is not the FIFA worldcup but AFCON and if Naija cant match Madagascar then something somewhere is not working. Of all the games I have seen at this edition of AFCON, the only team that looks more poor than Naija today is Tanzania coached by Amunike.
Awaziem is not a benchwarmer. He’s just not a RB...
Meanwhile, noticed you not only exonerate Rohr but found a way to drag down Amunike as well. SMH
>

oscar52 wrote:Maybe the squad is not as good as we thought. For one, two of the three goalkeepers are not starters at their clubs, even Akpeyi might not be the first choice making it 3 of 3. Then you have benchwarmers in Balogun and Awazien and am sure their are others as well. When the chips are down, when fitness and skill is required, can they perform? Truth is that this is not the FIFA worldcup but AFCON and if Naija cant match Madagascar then something somewhere is not working. Of all the games I have seen at this edition of AFCON, the only team that looks more poor than Naija today is Tanzania coached by Amunike.
Awaziem is not a benchwarmer. He’s just not a RB...
Meanwhile, noticed you not only exonerate Rohr but found a way to drag down Amunike as well. SMH
>
After the AFCON, a full evaluation of Rohr will be done. For now, we just have to support the team.

RIP Amodu and Keshi.