U13 League in Nigeria (WATCH VIDEO)

The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
Re: U13 League in Nigeria (WATCH VIDEO)

If we can follow this through, with an u15 league then we will end up not using players we are not sure of their ages.

osita wrote:If we can follow this through, with an u15 league then we will end up not using players we are not sure of their ages.
There are national teams for both U13 and U15. Chukwueze was a member of the NT at the U15 level, BTW.

There is a U15 and U17 league for NPFL clubs. However, that league can be best described as chaotic with uncertainties on when it would and would not take place. I agree with you that if we have a reliable league at U15 level we will be much better than what we currently show. IMHO, I think that the age cheating has been drastically reduced at the U17 level but U20 is another case altogether. That is my tuppence.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
amafolas

Post by amafolas »

osita wrote:If we can follow this through, with an u15 league then we will end up not using players we are not sure of their ages.
There are national teams for both U13 and U15. Chukwueze was a member of the NT at the U15 level, BTW.

There is a U15 and U17 league for NPFL clubs. However, that league can be best described as chaotic with uncertainties on when it would and would not take place. I agree with you that if we have a reliable league at U15 level we will be much better than what we currently show. IMHO, I think that the age cheating has been drastically reduced at the U17 level but U20 is another case altogether. That is my tuppence.
the U-17 indeed does look better. The U-20 is still ???
"We will go through the gate. If the gate is closed, we will go over the fence. If the fence is too high, we will pole vault in. If that doesn’t work, we will parachute in. But we are going to get health-care reform passed"
Nancy Pelosi, 01/28/2010 after Scott Brown got elected to Ted Kennedy's senate seat.

CHECK BACK IN 5 - 7 YEARS BECAUSE...

...these kids might be the future. They exhibit a sense of passing the Super Falcons lacked.

Chief EII please stop this wuruwuru tricks. :lol:
None of these 'goal poachers' has a soccer IQ less than that of a 25 years old.
I recognize two or three of them from an owambe party I attended many years ago.

Anyway, thanks for sharing. Quite impressive.

joao wrote:Chief EII please stop this wuruwuru tricks. :lol:
None of these 'goal poachers' has a soccer IQ less than that of a 25 years old.
I recognize two or three of them from an owambe party I attended many years ago.

Anyway, thanks for sharing. Quite impressive.
okidoki

Post by okidoki »

U-17 has been basically cleaned up to manageable levels for a while. Chidereh Ezeh and Kelechi Iheanacho were also in that U-15 team, I think Awoniyi too.

I always feel that U17 and younger reflects the genius that is Nigerian soccer. But something happens after they stop playing cadet footy, its like they forget how to tap leather the Nigerian way. U20 and above seems to produce players that can't do even the basics right. My hunch is that so many of the kids give up after U17 due to the inefficient local league full of jambody players except for the lucky few that get go overseas and most are reduced to part players or bench warmers never to be heard from again. If all was fair (equal access), Nigeria should have players in every big club in the world to rival the Brazilians but the first task is to shake the stereotype of age cheating.

We also have the Channels International Kids Cup. We just need the NFF department in charge of youth football to be more effective in terms of monitoring. They also need better media strategies. When you have these kids in the news, they won't be strangers to anybody when they reach U17 and U20 level even if some of them eventually 'massively' bulk up in size or impregnate 2 or 3 girls on their way to full adulthood (It happens).

https://www.channelstv.com/tag/channels-kids-cup/

YemiBrazil wrote:We also have the Channels International Kids Cup. We just need the NFF department in charge of youth football to be more effective in terms of monitoring. They also need better media strategies. When you have these kids in the news, they won't be strangers to anybody when they reach U17 and U20 level even if some of them eventually 'massively' bulk up in size or impregnate 2 or 3 girls on their way to full adulthood (It happens).

Naija and its paternal society. Why do we need NFF to get involved in this? These guys are already doing a great job as it is. And we don't need media strategy because the best thing to do for these kids is to not put media pressure on them. With media coverage comes false hope in the belly of the Atlantic and pressure to impress.

We just had the national U13 and U15 competitions earlier this month...

oscar52 wrote:I always feel that U17 and younger reflects the genius that is Nigerian soccer. But something happens after they stop playing cadet footy, its like they forget how to tap leather the Nigerian way. U20 and above seems to produce players that can't do even the basics right. My hunch is that so many of the kids give up after U17 due to the inefficient local league full of jambody players except for the lucky few that get go overseas and most are reduced to part players or bench warmers never to be heard from again. If all was fair (equal access), Nigeria should have players in every big club in the world to rival the Brazilians but the first task is to shake the stereotype of age cheating.
On the contrary, most of them go abroad where the flair and creativity is "coached" out of them...
Mikel is turned into a DM, Success is turned into a winger, Yahaya is turned into a wingback, etc. SMH

kolinzo wrote:
YemiBrazil wrote:We also have the Channels International Kids Cup. We just need the NFF department in charge of youth football to be more effective in terms of monitoring. They also need better media strategies. When you have these kids in the news, they won't be strangers to anybody when they reach U17 and U20 level even if some of them eventually 'massively' bulk up in size or impregnate 2 or 3 girls on their way to full adulthood (It happens).
Naija and its paternal society. Why do we need NFF to get involved in this? These guys are already doing a great job as it is. And we don't need media strategy because the best thing to do for these kids is to not put media pressure on them. With media coverage comes false hope in the belly of the Atlantic and pressure to impress.
Opaks baba how body? I'm sure the normal people reading this have a clear understanding of the meaning of 'monitoring' with regards to NFF as the body responsible for our national teams.

Also, on media strategies, how can anyone but the clueless argue against that in 2019? You think media, you think data, then you are onto something with integrity. The kids better get used to the media as early as possible because it comes with the terrain. Those who can't thrive under scrutiny have already demonstrated a weakness that will be a factor later in their career. Help them get used to it from day 1. Pele & even the most useless players in his childhood team were already in the news as kids. Same with Ronaldinho, C Ronaldo, Rooney etc. This is not your monkey post football under the tree in front of the palace of Osemawe of Ondo. Be serious pls :mrgreen: .

Nice video. However did the team in green have anyone playing in defence?! The number of times they were outnumbered 5-2 at the back...

kolinzo wrote:

I DON'T SEE ANTHING WRONG WITH NFF INVOLVEMENT; AFTERALL...

…they stand to gain the most from this effort. And since you like to see the US as a role model, the US soccer federation is deeply involved in the development of kids in their country. Why's it wrong for Nigeria to do same?