Our third goal.

Watching the game and really impressed with our front press.
The press from Iwobi, Ighalo and Etebo led to that misplaced pass to Musa, which led to the goal.
Re: Our third goal.

Both defences made terrible blunders:

Omeruo beaten in the air twice
Aina being outmuscled
Akpeyi being beaten at his near post
Awaziem not stopping a cross

We have looked at our errors but if you look at the Cameroon defence too, they too were pretty philanthropic:

Not closing down Ighalo on the first goal
Allowing Musa to chest the ball in their area for the second goal
Giving away the ball in midfield for our third goal

African football still has a lot more to do. An average European team will be looking at this Nations Cup thinking: "We can beat any of these teams."

Ayo Akinfe wrote:Both defences made terrible blunders:

Aina being outmuscled

We have looked at our errors but if you look at the Cameroon defence too, they too were pretty philanthropic:

African football still has a lot more to do. An average European team will be looking at this Nations Cup thinking: "We can beat any of these teams."
Oh puhlease!!!! Stop that nonsense. There is no soccer team anywhere on the face of this planet that cannot, has not and will not make blunders-- in defense and other parts of the field. - in any single match. When countries are allowed to field robots in their lineup, then maybe you can come sell that ish about almighty, inerrant European teams.

Ayo Akinfe wrote:African football still has a lot more to do. An average European team will be looking at this Nations Cup thinking: "We can beat any of these teams."
THIS WEEK IN CONCACAF, COMMEBOL...THERE WERE TONS OF BLUNDERS. NOTHING TO DO WITH AFRICAN FOOTBALL UNLESS YOU'VE NEVER PLAYED FOOTIE.

theDunamis wrote:

Aina being outmuscled

Oh puhlease!!!! Stop that nonsense. There is no soccer team anywhere on the face of this planet that cannot, has not and will not make blunders-- in defense and other parts of the field. - in any single match. When countries are allowed to field robots in their lineup, then maybe you can come sell that ish about almighty, inerrant European teams.
Dunamis

Point. I think Ayo is confusing being beaten by your man and what is a genuine error. I do not believe any of the two goals conceded against Cameroon were errors in the sense that they represent cases that the player made poor efforts or were unforced. Compare those incidents with goal given up against Madagascar.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

theDunamis wrote:

Aina being outmuscled

Why you dey waste your time explaining to Ayo?

How can being outmuscled be a 'blunder'?
How can being legitimately beaten in the air be a ‘blunder’?

The whole ethos of football (and all sport for that matter) is based around the winning and losing of
Individual and collective duels.
Those were not blunders.

Balogun committed a blunder v Madagascar.
Finish.

Aina being outmuscled

Going by analysis from experienced defenders like Rio Ferdinand, for Cameroon's 1st goal, Awaziem backed off and invited the cross rather than stifle the danger, but more importantly for Omeruo, when a ball is coming in from the wings, central defenders like Ferdinand, Vidic, Van Dijk quickly adjust their body shape to face the ball squarely to head it away. Actually, for the crosses that came into the box in the 2nd half, Omeruo did adjust his shape to face the ball and dealt with them. So, we can put the lapse for the cameroonian goal to lack of concentration.

Our 3rd goal actually interested me in that Iwobi's run was not picked by the Cameroonian midfield and you could almost see the goal coming. The key was that Ighalo spotted Iwobi's run and found a way by nutmegging the defender and passing into space so that Iwobi did not break his run speed but simply opened his body to pass the ball into the net. It was a brilliant technical goal that looked like a training move.

Certainly one of the best goals scored by the SE in recent times.

theDunamis wrote:

Aina being outmuscled

Dunamis

Point. I think Ayo is confusing being beaten by your man and what is a genuine error. I do not believe any of the two goals conceded against Cameroon were errors in the sense that they represent cases that the player made poor efforts or were unforced. Compare those incidents with goal given up against Madagascar.

Enugu II, why do you think it is that Omeruo cannot get into the Chelsea team? For an English central defenders to be beaten twice ion the air like that in one game is considered as terrible a blunder as Balogun's howler against Madagascar.

Let us not try and paper over serious cracks abeg. If a player does that at Real Madrid, Barcelona, Man City, Liverpool, etc the club will be in the market for a replacement immediately.

In Italy, if you do that, the fans will boo you all season, forcing the manager to drop you. Being beaten by some brilliance is one thing but being outjumped or taken out by a long ball is another!

Aina being outmuscled

Title of the thread: Our third goal. :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll:
skillful

Post by skillful »

The same Omerou one of the best defenders in the Spanish league
"I first saw David Rocastle play in 1983 for the youth team. I remember coming home excitedly from the match and telling my family, "I've just watched the nearest thing to a Brazilian footballer you are ever likely to see - and he comes from Lewisham." - David Dein on Rocky Rocastle

theDunamis wrote:

Aina being outmuscled

:clap: :clap: :clap: you dey mind dem

imehjunior wrote:Watching the game and really impressed with our front press.
The press from Iwobi, Ighalo and Etebo led to that misplaced pass to Musa, which led to the goal.
Not impressed at all by our high press-- let me call it what you did, "front press," because we have a very poor high press. To be fair, every coach is different. I love high pressing, but I know Rohr is a defensive coach and doesn't know high press exists, and that's also okay.

imehjunior wrote:Watching the game and really impressed with our front press.
Not impressed at all by our high press-- let me call it what you did, "front press," because we have a very poor high press. To be fair, every coach is different. I love high pressing, but I know Rohr is a defensive coach and doesn't know high press exists, and that's also okay.

More like a steam iron press!

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

skillful wrote:The same Omerou one of the best defenders in the Spanish league
This is your opinion? or the opinion of Real madrid, Barca, Valencia, Sevilla, Atleti who are all scrambling to get his signature?

I am no fan of Akpeyi (to put it lightly), but blaming him for being beaten at the near post shows you really don't know how to analyze soccer.

deanotito wrote:I am no fan of Akpeyi (to put it lightly), but blaming him for being beaten at the near post shows you really don't know how to analyze soccer.

He is not to blame of course, but he clearly was uselessly helpless; he didn't even make a "hopelessly fake" attempt that could be argued as trying to stop the goal. He just hit the flow, like a tree trunk. :roll:
blueangel

Post by blueangel »

From Many Posts Here and Elsewhere .
It is Very Clear that Guys Have Never Played Organized Football Matches ( 11 vs 11 ) in real Pitches in organized leagues. Home and Away against different opposition.