Nigeria 2-1 South Africa : FT(Samu, Ekong...VAR)

Re: Nigeria 2-1 South Africa : FT(Samu, Ekong...VAR)

When we attack we simply do not have enough options in the box.

Cellular wrote:We have ourselves a Left Back.

Collins can play!

Kai.
Mr. President, you can say that again..I mean :thumbs:
I agree but this is still first full game. Aina also impressed at AFCON first game. I hope he sustains his performance

Curve whiz wrote:
marko wrote:I thought Musa ran the south African player ragged and cant understand why he was subbed
Yes he did a great job on the guy, but it became frustrating watching him do all the work and no end product. I was almost losing my mind watching him get to vantage position only to cross to no one... In essence he was doing nothing, the ball was ending in a less dangerous area from a dangerous position.

A coach has to do something to stop the madness, before everyone lose their minds from expectations that was never there. Haba almost tore all my hair out. He did well, but his final decisions were poor.
Oga Oloye, one question: Was it Musa’s final delivery that was poor or Ighalo and Iwobi sleeping and not reading the pass? The first few chances, Musa pulled it to the far post, Ighalo was hanging back at the D and Iwobi and Chukwueze were nowhere to be found. Later, Musa started pulling the ball to the D, and Ighalo started attacking the box.

Me I will blame Rohr for his personnel choices and not working with his strikers. Tbh, I think Osimhen or Onyekuru or Musa himself, looking at the way they attack the box, would have scored two or three goals from Musa’s crosses today.

Can you imagine, if Drogba or Aguero were in Ighalo position today? It would have been tap-in all day my brother. So, its not fair to keep blaming Musa, he’s actually more cerebral than most of his teammates. Ighalo need to stop ball watching, attack the box and allow Iwobi to arrive at the D.
Man!!! See football sense!!

I'm not gonna blame Ighalo but everything you said is spot on. Even the cross that Chuwueze pulled through in the second half that missed everybody at tongue of box box 6 could have resulted to a goal if Ighalo hadn't pulled back. On that play, Iwobi was at the right position but Ighalo pulled back to obstruct Iwobi. You could see Chukwueze telling Ighalo he should have kept moving forward.

Musa was fantastic.

marko wrote:They should drill our front men in training, anticipation, making runs, when Musa attacks the defence, Ighalo should be on the last defender back, we can all blame Musa but the way he goes past defences with his pace, Nigeria does not make the best use of it
Most of Ruud Van Niisterooy's goals for Manchester United were in box 6. Didier Drogba, Sergio Aguero and Lewandowski are another set that scored mainly in box 6. They will love Ahmed Musa's runs.

oloye wrote:That boy Collins has that 3 locked down, he looks the part, I don't want to jinx him, but I have not seen anyone I fancy on that position for about 10 years. Even with Taiwo there he did not impress me beyond his bazooka shots.
Chief oloye, you don't think Ola Aina did a great job on that left flank? I think Aina belongs in that defence, probably as a right back.

Just looking at the machine that Pep Guardiola turned Bernardo Silva into, you just pray that a good coach can get his hands on Samuel Chukwueze. For me, this boy can become one of the greatest players in the world.

achuzia-the-air-raid wrote:Image
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: Left for the Egyptians, they would have been throwing Shiiit on the SAs

Look at the goals Musa scored at the world cup, he was direct, 1st goal against Iceland in the box, his anticipation, the cool finishing, the ones against Argentina, running direct at defences, why is he wasted on the wings? That pace will get us free kicks, penalties, look at his acceleration, leaves defenders for dead, dont think we use him well

Re: Nigeria 1-1 South Africa : 2HT

Samora Machel wrote:Williams killed us :mad:
Sounds like you spoke too soon :laugh: Sorry :atc: :!:

Re: Nigeria 2-1 South Africa : 2HT

marko wrote:Nigeria very frustrating to watch but these games are all about doing whatever to win! Still cant make out Nigeria formation but they allowed South Africa to control the game, scored 2 fortunate goals, especially the last one, well congrats and semi finals is anyone game!
It is the indecisiveness of our coach that makes us look frustrating
FACT!!! :agree:

ohsee wrote:
oloye wrote:That boy Collins has that 3 locked down, he looks the part, I don't want to jinx him, but I have not seen anyone I fancy on that position for about 10 years. Even with Taiwo there he did not impress me beyond his bazooka shots.
Chief oloye, you don't think Ola Aina did a great job on that left flank? I think Aina belongs in that defence, probably as a right back.
Ola did well, but when you see a better option one has to admit. I hate seeing right side players playing on the left side of defence. That boy is natural and he made it look easy.

oloye wrote:When we attack we simply do not have enough options in the box.
That's what it comes down to, many a time.

Rohr appears to hold back one of the attacking players on the other side or in the center to prevent a counter, and rarely allows any of the CMs to make late bursts into the opposition box...
Last edited by txj on Wed Jul 10, 2019 10:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

Remarkable how good he was :clap:

And to think not so long ago, he I as ridiculed for playing in division 2. Well we will see him in Bundesliga next season! People don’t realize that life ain’t easy for a black man! Had he been German, he’d have been starting for one of the top 3 German clubs by now, considering how Germany is struggling for a great left back.

Another backhand slap to Rohr, Moses and Akpeyi haters...lol

Remarkable how good he was :clap:

And to think not so long ago, he I as ridiculed for playing in division 2. Well we will see him in Bundesliga next season! People don’t realize that life ain’t easy for a black man! Had he been German, he’d have been starting for one of the top 3 German clubs by now, considering how Germany is struggling for a great left back.
Nico shultz

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

marko wrote:Look at the goals Musa scored at the world cup, he was direct, 1st goal against Iceland in the box, his anticipation, the cool finishing, the ones against Argentina, running direct at defences, why is he wasted on the wings? That pace will get us free kicks, penalties, look at his acceleration, leaves defenders for dead, dont think we use him well
And you refuse to acknowledge where he ran from. Why do you folks like to massage the truth. The goals you mentioned where did he cut in from? If I remember Ighalo was the number 9 in the Iceland game and against Argentina we had a certain Ogna na chance as the striker, so he played also from the same position, wings. That you put a striker on the wings does not mean he is a winger... Is Sallah a winger, is Thierry Henry a winger? You won't even call Chukwueze a winger. We played 3 attackers.

Rohr appears to hold back one of the attacking players on the other side or in the center to prevent a counter, and rarely allows any of the CMs to make late bursts into the opposition box...
It is amazing seeing how late or non arrival into the box.

Has Nigeria ever lost a quarter final match in the AFCON? At least not before 1976 though from what I remember.

It is amazing seeing how late or non arrival into the box.
Noticed in the first half and was lamenting it just before Chukwueze scored the opener.

I've lost count of the number of times, Etebo's free-kicks strike the bar. Even against Senegal in the pre AFCON friendly, he struck the bar from a free-kick.

Dammy wrote:I've lost count of the number of times, Etebo's free-kicks strike the bar. Even against Senegal in the pre AFCON friendly, he struck the bar from a free-kick.
He is a bar specialist

Bigpokey24 wrote:This game was won by luck, we were outplayed by SA..scored a deflecting pass, and a goalie flap..smh..39% possession
Outplayed yet they didn't test Akpeyi? Honestly, some of you internet coaches are so funny....lol

Ighalo doesn't have the best acceleration.