Page 1 of 2

Getting A Goalkeeper Should Be A Priority

Posted: Thu Jul 11, 2019 8:01 am
by 404
Nigeria’s priority after AFCON 2019 should be identifying and securing at least 3 decent goalkeepers. The Super Eagles weakest department is in the goalkeeping department. None of the present goalkeepers inspire confidence. Our weakness in the goalkeeping department is like a sore thumb! I just don’t understand why we cannot secure one decent goalkeeper. Akpeyi had one ball on target and he let it in because of poor positioning. The guy inspires no confidence...it will be a different proposition if we meet a team that has more balls on target. I blame Rohr for not upgrading the goalkeeping department and sticking with what I can only describe as goalkeepers that just don’t make the grade!

Re: Getting A Goalkeeper Should Be A Priority

Posted: Thu Jul 11, 2019 8:34 am
by nzeogwu
No worries bro. We will seal the deal on Okoye, Okonkwo and give the guy in Croatia a try.

Posted: Thu Jul 11, 2019 8:35 am
There's a German Naija boy, rohr had in mind for this Afcon, but he got hurt

Posted: Thu Jul 11, 2019 9:58 am
by Damunk
404 wrote:Nigeria’s priority after AFCON 2019 should be identifying and securing at least 3 decent goalkeepers. The Super Eagles weakest department is in the goalkeeping department. None of the present goalkeepers inspire confidence. Our weakness in the goalkeeping department is like a sore thumb! I just don’t understand why we cannot secure one decent goalkeeper. Akpeyi had one ball on target and he let it in because of poor positioning. The guy inspires no confidence...it will be a different proposition if we meet a team that has more balls on target. I blame Rohr for not upgrading the goalkeeping department and sticking with what I can only describe as goalkeepers that just don’t make the grade!
Have you been following the goalkeeper story at all?
If there is one position that has generated concern and debate above all others it is the GK dept.
Sounds like you are expecting him to work miracles by manufacturing a GK out of his a$$.

I doubt there is any one single position Rohr has expressed a public opinion on more than his GKs! :idea:

Posted: Thu Jul 11, 2019 10:24 am
by Senator WIRES
:lol: :lol: "Brazil do not do goalkeeper in the past until recently" PELE

the best form of defense is to attack constantly, i am of the opinion that Naija GK department is good enough but can be improved upon// none of the GKs should be shorter than 1.88m :thumb: ..

Isn't Akpereyi taller than any of the remaining GKs? :P

Posted: Thu Jul 11, 2019 2:04 pm
by olu
Yes it should. There's no guarantee that the likes of Arthur Okonkwo or Maduka Okoye will come good, but we need to try other options. Finding other AM options should also be a priority. Iwobi can't play every game.

Posted: Thu Jul 11, 2019 2:37 pm
by osita
nzeogwu wrote:No worries bro. We will seal the deal on Okoye, Okonkwo and give the guy in Croatia a try.

we have in our local league

Posted: Thu Jul 11, 2019 3:54 pm
by wiseone

Posted: Thu Jul 11, 2019 4:16 pm
by Cellular
404 wrote:Nigeria’s priority after AFCON 2019 should be identifying and securing at least 3 decent goalkeepers. The Super Eagles weakest department is in the goalkeeping department. None of the present goalkeepers inspire confidence. Our weakness in the goalkeeping department is like a sore thumb! I just don’t understand why we cannot secure one decent goalkeeper. Akpeyi had one ball on target and he let it in because of poor positioning. The guy inspires no confidence...it will be a different proposition if we meet a team that has more balls on target. I blame Rohr for not upgrading the goalkeeping department and sticking with what I can only describe as goalkeepers that just don’t make the grade!
Kpom!

He has ZERO command of his area.

He is like the opposite of Ezenwa (don't know if it is bad or good) in terms of reading the game and coming out... sometimes it is a good thing but most times it betrays a lack of awareness.

That headed goal got me pissed off. Pissed off that he did not challenge the header.

All said and done, i am glad he hasn't faced clear cut chances.

Posted: Thu Jul 11, 2019 5:01 pm
by Robbynice
Kpom!

He is like the opposite of Ezenwa (don't know if it is bad or good) in terms of reading the game and coming out... sometimes it is a good thing but most times it betrays a lack of awareness.

That headed goal got me pissed off. Pissed off that he did not challenge the header.

He probably thought it was offside just like the rest of the players and the rest of us watching on TV. I didn't think he made a bad decision on that play.

Posted: Thu Jul 11, 2019 5:15 pm
Kpom!

He probably thought it was offside just like the rest of the players and the rest of us watching on TV. I didn't think he made a bad decision on that play.
You have gotta be kidding me! :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Babs, you are too intelligent for this comment. abeg! Have you ever heard "you play to the whistle??" This is how teams end up losing based on a player's stupidity. WTH!!!?? He probably thought it was offside! And so what?? even if the man is 500 yards offside, you get to the ball, put it under your control before you give a dammn about whether it is offside or not. Come on! Abeg!!!

Posted: Thu Jul 11, 2019 6:39 pm
by Damunk
Kpom!

Lai-lai.
That woulda been an afterthought.
He was out of position, truth be told. :idea:

Posted: Thu Jul 11, 2019 6:41 pm
by The Observer
Robin Udegbe of KFC Uerdingen in the German 3rd Liga, expressed interest to represent Nigeria. At 28, he may be a better option today, while the coaches work with Okoye, Osigwe and Uzoho for the future.

Posted: Thu Jul 11, 2019 7:03 pm
by Tobi17
The Observer wrote:Robin Udegbe of KFC Uerdingen in the German 3rd Liga, expressed interest to represent Nigeria. At 28, he may be a better option today, while the coaches work with Okoye, Osigwe and Uzoho for the future.
Heard about him, seems a decent prospect. We should definitely look to cap Okoye, Nwokolor, Alampasu, and Osigwe for the future...

Posted: Fri Jul 12, 2019 1:39 pm
by wale1974
Have you been following the goalkeeper story at all?
If there is one position that has generated concern and debate above all others it is the GK dept.
Sounds like you are expecting him to work miracles by manufacturing a GK out of his a$$.

I doubt there is any one single position Rohr has expressed a public opinion on more than his GKs! :idea:
:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Posted: Fri Jul 12, 2019 2:45 pm
by Robotnik
Not easy to be a GK. Know the game before complaining..

Posted: Fri Jul 12, 2019 6:02 pm
by olu
The prospect of us fielding a 28 year old goalie in the German 3rd division does not make me excited.
The Observer wrote:Robin Udegbe of KFC Uerdingen in the German 3rd Liga, expressed interest to represent Nigeria. At 28, he may be a better option today, while the coaches work with Okoye, Osigwe and Uzoho for the future.

Posted: Fri Jul 12, 2019 6:34 pm
by ANC
Cameroon has so many. I am sure some of them would likely be from Ambazzonia

Posted: Fri Jul 12, 2019 7:27 pm
by Damunk
ANC wrote:Cameroon has so many. I am sure some of them would likely be from Ambazzonia
I think FIFA allows for a player to trace his roots back as far as a grandparent.
There will be many western Cameroonians of Nigerian descent

Posted: Fri Jul 12, 2019 7:33 pm
by ohenhen1
I still have a lot of hope for Uzoho and Alampasu. Arsenal Okonkwo should also be on the list. We should also look at the local league. Not just the first division. Also heard some good things about Jonathan Zacalla. I am disappointed in the progress of Akpan Udoh and Emanuel Daniel.

Posted: Fri Jul 12, 2019 9:27 pm
by 1naija
When are you going to start the manufacturing process?

Posted: Fri Jul 12, 2019 10:04 pm
by niyi
ohenhen1 wrote:I still have a lot of hope for Uzoho and Alampasu. Arsenal Okonkwo should also be on the list. We should also look at the local league. Not just the first division. Also heard some good things about Jonathan Zacalla. I am disappointed in the progress of Akpan Udoh and Emanuel Daniel.

Wow. We'll be set for 15 years if we get this guy

Posted: Sat Jul 13, 2019 1:16 pm
by maceo4
niyi wrote:
ohenhen1 wrote:I still have a lot of hope for Uzoho and Alampasu. Arsenal Okonkwo should also be on the list. We should also look at the local league. Not just the first division. Also heard some good things about Jonathan Zacalla. I am disappointed in the progress of Akpan Udoh and Emanuel Daniel.

Wow. We'll be set for 15 years if we get this guy
Kai we need to get this boy o, Waffi abeg hope you are on the job!