We may be back to square one.

While I think Rohr is a good coach and has done a great job building this team to have great depth, I doubt he can take us to the next level. I think we'll continue to be a serious threat with him as the coach, but I doubt we can win championships with him. The question then is Who should be the next coach?

My fear is that we'll listen to these sweet talking Nigerian coaches and hire one of them. Then we will be back to square one. I see this team being completely destroyed in 2 years.
Last edited by 1naija on Sun Jul 14, 2019 11:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Re: We may be back to square one.

Well, you maybe right. But we have no choice but to try something new.

I have a feeling Amunike or Siasia will be hired.

1naija wrote:While I think Rohr is a good coach and has done a great job building this team to have great depth, I doubt he can take us to the next level. I think we'll continue to be a serious threat with his as a coach, but I doubt we can championships with him. The question then is. Who should be the next coach?

My fear is that we'll listen to these sweet talking Nigerian coaches and hire one of them. Then we will be back to square one. I see this team being completely destroyed in 2 years.
You're right. We should re-hire the coach who won us the 2015 & 17 AFCON.

1naija wrote:While I think Rohr is a good coach and has done a great job building this team to have great depth, I doubt he can take us to the next level. I think we'll continue to be a serious threat with his as a coach, but I doubt we can championships with him. The question then is. Who should be the next coach?

You're right. We should re-hire the coach who won us the 2015 & 17 AFCON.
The one that won the World U-17 is still alive.
"Today we remember Nigeria and Africa football legend, Late Coach Stephen Okechukwu Keshi who passed on, on june 7th 2016. Thank you for the memories ‘The Big Boss.’ We can never forget you"............Kanu Nwankwo

Human beings always thrive to better themselves not accept their fate.

Human beings always try to better themselves not accept their fate. IF the next coach fails too. We fire him and hire someone else until we get it right.

Hire the Ghana coach

Why did you even give hime the benefit of the doubt at this tourney? Huh?

You be my man 1Naija but on Rohr, you fall my hand big time.

If you can rewatch WC2018 and tell us what changed I'll be all ears.

Another one finally learning what I learned one year ago! :lol: :lol: :lol:

This is why Nigeria is useless. A bunch of citizens who are so mentally lazy and always catching up with knowledge. Never proactive! tufia! God! Why did you curse us so? :(
Zelex

Post by Zelex »

1naija wrote:While I think Rohr is a good coach and has done a great job building this team to have great depth, I doubt he can take us to the next level. I think we'll continue to be a serious threat with him as the coach, but I doubt we can win championships with him. The question then is Who should be the next coach?

This is my feeling also. If we look at Rohr's tenure as SE coach, he has done a pretty good job. I thought he did as expected in this tournament but personally wanted a bit more from him. I haven't really seen much improvement since last year which has led to me to also believe he can't take Nigeria to the next level. That being said, he shouldn't be sacked unless there is better available.
Zelex-CE World Cup 2010 prediction Winner
http://forum.cybereagles.com/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=177767

If he stays, then he needs a complete staff overhaul cause I feel his backroom staff are useless... Get a more attacking minded assistant coach to work with him, and someone definitely better than Victor Agali to do the player scouting, cause we need more players to build on what we have (after the likes of Mikel, Ighalo, Ogu, Akpeyi) retire as expected. But most importantly, Rohr if he stays, needs to change his coaching philosophy... play more attacking minded players and change his rubbish philosophy... But I want him gone either way.

If Chelsea can hire Frank Lampard, Naija can hire Sunday Ogorchukwu Oliseh. But I don't believe it's all on Rohr. The players should look at themselves too.

felarey wrote:If Chelsea can hire Frank Lampard, Naija can hire Sunday Ogorchukwu Oliseh. But I don't believe it's all on Rohr. The players should look at themselves too.
Oliseh again? Doing the same things and expecting a different result not wise.

Most Nigerians are regretting sacking Amodu, keshi for qualifying us for two wc and winning ANC. Yet, 7, 9, 19 years later they want the same done to Rohr only to regret when his gone lol. First of all, a new coach isn't our problem. If you like hire Mourinho Guardiola he will still have the same calibre of players at his disposal. There isn't anyone important that rohr omitted so selection wasn't an issue. We simply lost to a team that was better than us on the day $#% happens just learn from your mistakes. Most of these players are young and this is their first ANC have some patience with them and above all Thank Almighty GOD. A new coach will select new unknown player waste 2/3 and by the time his done, you will be thanking ROHR. Experience is the best teacher of life

oscar52 wrote:
felarey wrote:If Chelsea can hire Frank Lampard, Naija can hire Sunday Ogorchukwu Oliseh. But I don't believe it's all on Rohr. The players should look at themselves too.
Don't think we've been doing the same with Rohr. Haven't heard of Rohr Feeding players out of pocket, not enough shoes, subhuman accommodations, lying on airport floors, reusing jerseys, shoddy arrangements, unpaid salaries plus fraudulent claims of payment from NFF etc.

Oliseh can be tried with same or better conditions as Rohr.

Zelex

Post by Zelex »

john12 wrote:Most Nigerians are regretting sacking Amodu, keshi for qualifying us for two wc and winning ANC. Yet, 7, 9, 19 years later they want the same done to Rohr only to regret when his gone lol. First of all, a new coach isn't our problem. If you like hire Mourinho Guardiola he will still have the same calibre of players at his disposal. There isn't anyone important that rohr omitted so selection wasn't an issue. We simply lost to a team that was better than us on the day $#% happens just learn from your mistakes. Most of these players are young and this is their first ANC have some patience with them and above all Thank Almighty GOD. A new coach will select new unknown player waste 2/3 and by the time his done, you will be thanking ROHR. Experience is the best teacher of life
Rohr himself should naturally want to improve himself, he seems quite rigid in his thinking and contented with how things are going. This is my concern. I want to see improvements in him and the team but I haven't seen any over the last 18 months! He did OK in this tournament, I don't think he deserves to be sacked but I don't see the SE getting any better under him.
Zelex

Post by Zelex »

felarey wrote:
oscar52 wrote:
Don't think we've been doing the same with Rohr. Haven't heard of Rohr Feeding players out of pocket, not enough shoes, subhuman accommodations, lying on airport floors, reusing jerseys, shoddy arrangements, unpaid salaries plus fraudulent claims of payment from NFF etc.

Oliseh can be tried with same or better conditions as Rohr.
I think Oliseh has a great ability (tactics,coaching) but his man management of players is questionable which is probably the most important attribute needed in being successful with the SE. This is where Keshi (RIP) thrived and to some extent where Rohr's strengths lie.

The same people that are calling for rohr dack now were the same people calling for keshi and amodu sack. Today, they regret sacking keshi and amodu. You cannot do the same thing over and over then expect a different result

Naija did hire Oliseh once and he abandoned the team in the middle of a competition. No way should such unprofessional person be allowed to manage the team again. He is like those crooked Nigerian doctors that demand for their pay in the middle of an operation. I don't care how good Oliseh is, I would not hire him ever again to coach Nigeria. Remember, Rohr came about because of Oliseh!
Last edited by 1naija on Mon Jul 15, 2019 1:14 am, edited 1 time in total.

Rawlings wrote:Hire the Ghana coach

Give a name
Leaf

Post by Leaf »

Slightly off topic, but I still believe we need to dump green on green uni on green grass. Teams wearing contrasting colors have the advantage in the peripheral vision department

Leaf wrote:Slightly off topic, but I still believe we need to dump green on green uni on green grass. Teams wearing contrasting colors have the advantage in the peripheral vision department

This is the most sensible post on the jersey thing