Player for player, the current team is VASTLY superior to 94

I was looking again at that 1994 World cup squad, and I dare say today only Finidi, Okocha, Rufai and Yekini could make the grade on the current team.
Mikel is better than Oliseh
Ndidi is better than Adepoju
Musa is better than Siasia
Aina/Ebuehi better than Eguavon

The list goes on....
Re: Player for player, the current team is VASTLY superior t

4 (disputable) out of 11?

Yeah, right
azuka

Post by azuka »

bushboy wrote:I was looking again at that 1994 World cup squad, and I dare say today only Finidi, Okocha, Rufai and Yekini could make the grade on the current team.

The list goes on....
And let me help you Ighalo is better than Rashidi or Amokachi.
That thing u dey smoke abeg give am back to the person wey pass am to you. :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:
Last edited by azuka on Thu Jul 11, 2019 9:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Mikel of 2019 better than Oliseh of 94? :lol:
And the list goes on.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

Ighalo actually has 3 goals so far in this tournament with 2 games remaining. He deserves some respect

Vastly superior?? I still have my copy of Complete Sports magazine from right after WC '94. A lot was better then including sports writers, player interviews etc. That team was ranked 5th in the world. They didn't know how good they were and none of us did going into that WC. I was hanging out with 2 Italians (one from Florence, other from Sicily) 2 weeks ago and they admitted Baggio and co got away big time in that heartbreaking game. The only Nigerian player they called out outside '94 was Ikpeba. Boy...do they respect Amokachie! No doubt Westerhof did something with that team that changed Naija football.

Certified bushboy :mrgreen:
1994 SE, still the gold standard 25 years on... :clap: :clap:

Big ups to 2019 set, keep pushing :thumb: :lol:

kash n' karry

Post by kash n' karry »

niyi wrote:4 (disputable) out of 11?

Yeah, right
:evil: :twisted:
Abi Oooo.... short memory is a biatchhh :blink: what about Keshi, Yekini, Amunike, Amokachi, Rufai, Okocha etc !!
Vastly superior ko... vastly inferior nii :bump:
===================================
Aaaaaagggghhh gaaaddaammmn itt !! Wherez my Heineken + big wet bubble booty chics ? :mrgreen:
Polly

Post by Polly »

bushboy wrote:I was looking again at that 1994 World cup squad, and I dare say today only Finidi, Okocha, Rufai and Yekini could make the grade on the current team.

The list goes on....
This is what happens when you mix hard liquor and tombo. Your tongue mistakes liberty for licence.

kash n' karry wrote:

Yeah, right
Abi Oooo.... short memory is a biatchhh :blink: what about Keshi, Yekini, Amunike, Amokachi, Rufai, Okocha etc !!
Aaaaaagggghhh gaaaddaammmn itt !! Wherez my Heineken + big wet bubble booty chics ? :mrgreen:
The 94 boys got places in big European teams when teams were limited to three foreign (not three non-EU) players. This team can be great but they haven't done anything yet.

If there was a slap emoticon, you'll be deaf & blind by now.
Just saying......
Last edited by Ekorian on Fri Jul 12, 2019 1:44 am, edited 1 time in total.

Yekini vs Ighalo? Yekini, no question.

Finidi vs Chukwueze? Finidi, no question

Iwobi vs Okocha? You dey craze?!

Alloy Agu vs ........your head no dey house!
obaGol

Post by obaGol »

charlie wrote:Yekini vs Ighalo? Yekini, no question.

Stop trolling man.....maybe you're too young to remember that team. Please look up their games on Youtube

kash n' karry wrote:

Yeah, right
Ighalo and Akpeyi definitely better than Yekini and Rufai.

Bushboy might be trolling.

obaGol wrote:

Stop trolling man.....maybe you're too young to remember that team. Please look up their games on Youtube
:D Listen kiddo, you dont know me so don't make stupid assumptions.

If you disagree, make your point and say why. If you only have cheap insults, then I have nothing else to say to you.

Man for man, the 1994/96 squad is our most talented squad ever.
If you want to talk about team organization, then I would agree that the current squad is more organized and carries less controversy, but thats about it!

charlie wrote:
obaGol wrote:

If you disagree, make your point and say why. If you only have cheap insults, then I have nothing else to say to you.

If you want to talk about team organization, then I would agree that the current squad is more organized and carries less controversy, but thats about it!
Why do I feel you both are supporting the 94 set , in essence on the same side of the argument.

imehjunior wrote:
charlie wrote:
obaGol wrote:

Why do I feel you both are supporting the 94 set , in essence on the same side of the argument.
Ask the bobo for me. Instead of just giving his opinion, he had to start questioning my age....
obaGol

Post by obaGol »

charlie wrote:
imehjunior wrote:
charlie wrote:
obaGol wrote:

Ask the bobo for me. Instead of just giving his opinion, he had to start questioning my age....
True. I made a quoting error. I wanted to quote Bushboy. 94 is definitely superior
COOKING SPOON

Post by COOKING SPOON »

Firstly all three goalkeepers from 1994 were superior to our number one keeper at present.
Peter Rufai, Wilfred Agbonavbare, and Alloy Agu. Peter was playing in The Dutch first division,Wilfred in La Liga and Alloy was in the Dutch league.

You can not compare the seasoned Ben Iroha of 1994 to young Jamilu Collins plus Ben had top level experience in the Dutch league with vitesse Arnhem. Jamilu is yet to experience top flight European football. Our reserve left back was mike emenalo, who was a natural center back that was played out of position. As a left back he was not a specialist, so I guess he would struggle to displace either Collins or Aina.

Eguavoen was once a roving midfielder so lack the specialist qualities of a true right back.

Our center backs in 1994 were Keshi, Nwatu, Uche Okechukwu, Emeka Ezeugo and Uche Okafor. All of them with the exception of Okafor and Ezeugo are better than the chaps we have today. Taking nothing away from our boys, the fact is that ability wise , they cannot come close to the class of 1994.

Our central midfield in 1994 consisted of Mutiu, Okocha, Oliseh, and Oliha. How can anyone that watched both teams even argue that Mikel is superior to Oliseh? Who born dog? The only chap from 1994 that would struggle today is Oliha. However Oliha was a fantastic defensive midfielder, I remember many a match when he marked deadly strikers out of games.

Our wingers from 1994 were Finidi, and Amunike. One was voted African player of the year, the other was so good that at Ajax (when he was fresh from Sharks of port harcourt) he displaced the Finnish genius jari litmanen from his role on the right wing and moved him to the left. That’s why during some matches both players would switch wings. Which of our wingers today can match them?

Our strikers in 1994 were Yekini, SiaSia, Amokachi, Ikpeba and Ekoku.
Two African players of the year (Yekini and Ikpeba), A genius in siasia and ekoku that had a brilliant career in the English premiership at Norwich city and then Wimbledon. He played with Robbie Earle and Marcus Gayle, has speed, was six foot four, great in the air, he a wicked shot and could finish beautifully.
The entire attack player for player kicks our present teams #$%.
They seek him here.
They seek him there.
Moderators seek him everywhere.
They seek him at night
And even at noon
That damn elusive cooking spoon

:lol: @ the thread

joplass wrote::lol: @ the thread

:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: its' like saying Clinton Njie is VASTLLY superior to Roger Milla.

Even Thompson Oliha was better than Etebo