Is it time to Bring Back Oliseh

Igugu
Re: Is it time to Bring Back Oliseh

Post by Igugu »

Amuneke rings a bell! After Tazania, we need to try him. He is son of soil and had coached U-17 before, with success.

Oliseh and Siasia are two of the best coaches we have in Nigeria and Africa but we won't give them what they need. Already people have forgotten what Oliseh went through. Feeding players out of pocket, not enough shoes, subhuman accommodations, lying on airport floors, reusing jerseys, shoddy arrangements, unpaid salaries plus fraudulent claims of payment from NFF etc. If Mourinho, Sir Alex, Keane etc were Nigerians, they'd never get a chance for their temperament and outspokenness something not uncommon with natural born leaders.

We need to tap Senegal's coach and pay him at least what Gernot earns now and regularly as well.

Oliseh is a good coach but he has issues with player management and diplomacy.

1. The whole row with Enyeama.
2. Posting on youtube to criticize the NFF.
3. Quitting just before the Egypt game.

Maybe not the right time to bring him back.

ohenhen1 wrote:Oliseh is a good coach but he has issues with player management and diplomacy.

1. The whole row with Enyeama.
2. Posting on youtube to criticize the NFF.
3. Quitting just before the Egypt game.

Maybe not the right time to bring him back.
What about

4. His achievement with Fortuna Sittard.

What has he done since coaching SE? If Lampard can go from Derby to Chelsea, Oliseh can more than go to SE. Support him, give him time and treat him well. We don't get it but can with minimal effort.

Give it to Amunike, SE play in these tourney is similar to Tanzania than to Algeria anyway.

oscar52 wrote:Give it to Amunike, SE play in these tourney is similar to Tanzania than to Algeria anyway.
Will he get the Rohr treatment or he's just another bloody Nigerian to be counted?

No. I'm not convinced Oliseh's man management skills have improved. I'll like to see how he does handling another team before giving him the SE job.
soma

Post by soma »

Give Siasia the job and all the perks the Oyinbo was given and he would find a good local goalkeeper for starters.

3. Thomas Sankara
4. Patrice Lumumba
5. Robert Mugabe
6. Murmar "the Lion" Ghaddafi....

cchinukw wrote:We need to tap Senegal's coach and pay him at least what Gernot earns now and regularly as well.

Nah I would rather get the Algerian coach.

We should get Hassan Shehata!

Dog going back to his vomit
Chingo Bling

Post by Chingo Bling »

He failed to qualify for AFCON. He must be better qualified

Chingo Bling wrote:He failed to qualify for AFCON. He must be better qualified
That is how we reason and roll.. :lol:

To be fair, SSS toke over qualifications twice after two games had been played and was asked to rescue Nigeria from bad situations. Didnt have time to build his team.

Nigeria need a young Eastern European or a South American coach. Hard as nail that can go anywhere in Nigeria and in the mould of Simeone, Pochetino etc

This is not the time for a local loach. The players and certainly the NFF will not respect a local coach

No it's not time.

TonyTheTigerKiller wrote:I think we need to start thinking outside the box. Mike Emenalo :!:

Is not a coach.
This Tony sef :lol:

oloye wrote:Please I beg you people, just leave Oliseh alone, I beg you in the name of God.
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Tobi17 wrote:The good thing is we now the the likes of Mikel, Ighalo, Balogun, Akpeyi, Ezenwa are on the retirement list. We already have the core of a new generation that should be built around the likes of Aina etc...get a better coach that will add few more young quality players, and we should be back in contention ahead of future tournaments.
There you go making scapegoats. We did not lose due to lack of players. We lost due to poor preparation for that game and a coach who was incapable of making adjustments when his initial plan clearly was proved ineffective early in the game. Also, he did not use his squad - only relied on 13 players at most with token crumbs of mins tossed around here and there.

pajimoh wrote:Nigeria need a young Eastern European or a South American coach. Hard as nail that can go anywhere in Nigeria and in the mould of Simeone, Pochetino etc

This is not the time for a local loach. The players and certainly the NFF will not respect a local coach
What country/continent plays the brand of football we like?

And yes, I like the idea of an Eastern European coach... but we also need a coach that understands "qualification football".

Oliseh ke.
The drama too much and he unwittingly lead us to Akpeyi. Also won't forget the hey you he brought to the team.

Tobi17 wrote:The good thing is we now the the likes of Mikel, Ighalo, Balogun, Akpeyi, Ezenwa are on the retirement list. We already have the core of a new generation that should be built around the likes of Aina etc...get a better coach that will add few more young quality players, and we should be back in contention ahead of future tournaments.
There you go making scapegoats. We did not lose due to lack of players. We lost due to poor preparation for that game and a coach who was incapable of making adjustments when his initial plan clearly was proved ineffective early in the game. Also, he did not use his squad - only relied on 13 players at most with token crumbs of mins tossed around here and there.
He used Naijaria to gain experience.

Coach a WC game ✅
Coach an AFCON game ✅
Tell natives that they are not expected to win nada because they don't have players ✅
Get paid while learning on the job✅