Ex-footballer Obodo kidnapped in Nigeria

https://www.yahoo.com/news/ex-footballe ... 31198.html

Former Nigeria midfielder Christian Obodo, who spent over a decade in Seria A, including spells with Fiorentina and Udinese, has been abducted in the country's oil-rich Delta state, police said Monday.

The 36-year-old was stopped by unknown gunmen on Sunday in the southern city of Warri, police spokesman Onome Onowakpoyeya told AFP.

"The police are on some intelligence lead towards his rescue," Onowakpoyeya said, but "no contacts have been made with the abductors".

Kidnappings for ransom by criminal gangs are common in Africa's most populous country, in particular in the oil-producing Delta region.

Obodo was abducted in the same area in 2012, and rescued a day later in a police raid. His kidnappers had demanded a ransom of about $188,000 (149,000 euros).

A friend of the midfielder, who was a regular in the Nigeria team between 2003 and 2008, told AFP that this time Obodo was with his girlfriend in his car when he was abducted.

"They had stopped to buy bananas by the roadside when the gunmen stopped him, forced him out of his car into theirs, and drove off to an unknown destination," the man who asked to be identified as Chief Big Sam said.

Obodo was 17 when he moved to Italy in 2001 to play for Perugia. He later appeared for Fiorentina, Udinese, Torino and Lecce before moving to Dynamo Minsk in 2014.

Re: Ex-footballer Obodo kidnapped in Nigeria

Nigeria,Nigeria.

this falls on buhari 100%

Released same day after apparently paying a ransome.

he should move and never return

...probably making loud noise, spreading or is it spreeing cash. That is a magnet for criminals.

ANC wrote:he should move and never return
...And start complaining from afar like the rest of us?
Until we engage in making our country better, complaining will not resolve our issues.

joao wrote:
ANC wrote:he should move and never return
...And start complaining from afar like the rest of us?
Until we engage in making our country better, complaining will not resolve our issues.
I knew of people that went to Nigeria to help and where kidnapped and killed,there are people in Nigeria that make it hard for you to help and only want what you’ve got despite your hard work to get it in the first place and to make matters worse some of these people doing the killing are not even hungry!

mcal wrote:...probably making loud noise, spreading or is it spreeing cash. That is a magnet for criminals.
Okay

Obodo was abducted in the same area in 2012, and rescued a day later in a police raid. His kidnappers had demanded a ransom of about $188,000 (149,000 euros).
:shock: E get as e be oh

imehjunior wrote:Released same day after apparently paying a ransome.
Released already? Did he pay any ransom, or he simply spoke some 'native language', bought them some drinks, gave them a little "Akara" money and they let him go?

Eaglezbeak wrote:Nigeria,Nigeria.
Yep! If you go home, don't show yourself too much, else ... na you sabi.