Pinnick: Desperate Nigerian coaches want NFF to sack Rohr

FATHER TIKO
Re: Pinnick: Desperate Nigerian coaches want NFF to sack Roh

Post by FATHER TIKO »

megapro wrote:
Babalawo wrote:Why would i fire a coach that has more wins under has belt than defeats? A coach that is 4-5 games away from surpassing Westerhoffs wins for Nigeria. This is like spanking a Kid for placing 3rd in a class of 24 in a school he couldn't gain admission to 2 years in a row!

Rebuilding is a gradual process! Anyway we are talking about Nigerians who are allergic to standing in line at the bank, airport or in Traffic because we feel we are more in a hurry than the next guy.

I am with Pinnick on this one, Rohr Stays!
without friendlies

Westerhof’s competitive games with Nigeria

Clemens Westerhof

1989 – 1994

1. Cameroon 0-1
2. Algeria 1-5
3. Egypt 1-0
4. Ivory Coast 1-0
5. Zambia 2-0
6. Algeria 0-1
7. Togo 3-0
8. Ghana 0-1
9. Benin 1-0
10. Burkina Faso 1-1
11. Togo 0-0
12. Ghana 0-0
13. Benin 3-0
14. Burkina Faso 7-1
15. Senegal 2-1
16. Kenya 2-1
17. Zaire 1-0
18. Ghana 1-2
19. Cameroon 2-1
20. Sudan 0-0
21. Uganda 2-0
22. South Africa 4-0
23. Congo 1-0
24. South Africa 0-0
25. Congo 2-0
26. Ethiopia 0-1
27. Sudan 4-0
88. Ivory Coast 1-2
29. Algeria 4-1
30. Uganda 0-0
31. Ethiopia 6-0
32. Ivory Coast 4-1
33. Algeria 1-1
34. Gabon 3-0
35. Egypt 0-0
36. Zaire 2-0
37. Ivory Coast 2-2*
38. Zambia 2-1
39. Bulgaria 3-0
40. Argentina 1-2
41. Greece 2-0
42. Italy 1-2

* = PK win

Rohr
P24 W15 D4 L5
Westerhof P42 W24
Bro, nice try...

Una like to view stats in isolation...

You've conveniently forgotten the environment Westerhof functioned under:
1) Westerhof busy fighting with administrators over lack of basic support structure (which ultimately necessitated in Aikhomu stepping in)
2) Players always fighting over bonuses, many times on the eve of most of those games listed here...
3) No FIFA windows...Westerhof had to play most of those games (especially qualifiers) without key players because of
players non-release by their European clubs... (1990 AFCON Finals, anyone..?)

Comparatively, Rohr has largely worked in a more conducive environment...especially the factor that all his key players are available for all games...all games...(excluding absences due to injuries)

That, my brother, makes a whole lot of difference when comparing Rohr's record with Westerhof's...
"...Some say football is not a matter of life and death;
I can assure you it's more important than that..."
- Bill Shankly

FATHER TIKO wrote:
megapro wrote:
Babalawo wrote:Why would i fire a coach that has more wins under has belt than defeats? A coach that is 4-5 games away from surpassing Westerhoffs wins for Nigeria. This is like spanking a Kid for placing 3rd in a class of 24 in a school he couldn't gain admission to 2 years in a row!

Rebuilding is a gradual process! Anyway we are talking about Nigerians who are allergic to standing in line at the bank, airport or in Traffic because we feel we are more in a hurry than the next guy.

without friendlies

Clemens Westerhof

1989 – 1994

1. Cameroon 0-1
2. Algeria 1-5
3. Egypt 1-0
4. Ivory Coast 1-0
5. Zambia 2-0
6. Algeria 0-1
7. Togo 3-0
8. Ghana 0-1
9. Benin 1-0
10. Burkina Faso 1-1
11. Togo 0-0
12. Ghana 0-0
13. Benin 3-0
14. Burkina Faso 7-1
15. Senegal 2-1
16. Kenya 2-1
17. Zaire 1-0
18. Ghana 1-2
19. Cameroon 2-1
20. Sudan 0-0
21. Uganda 2-0
22. South Africa 4-0
23. Congo 1-0
24. South Africa 0-0
25. Congo 2-0
26. Ethiopia 0-1
27. Sudan 4-0
88. Ivory Coast 1-2
29. Algeria 4-1
30. Uganda 0-0
31. Ethiopia 6-0
32. Ivory Coast 4-1
33. Algeria 1-1
34. Gabon 3-0
35. Egypt 0-0
36. Zaire 2-0
37. Ivory Coast 2-2*
38. Zambia 2-1
39. Bulgaria 3-0
40. Argentina 1-2
41. Greece 2-0
42. Italy 1-2

* = PK win

Rohr
P24 W15 D4 L5
Westerhof P42 W24
Bro, nice try...

1) Westerhof busy fighting with administrators over lack of basic support structure (which ultimately necessitated in Aikhomu stepping in)
2) Players always fighting over bonuses, many times on the eve of most of those games listed here...
3) No FIFA windows...Westerhof had to play most of those games (especially qualifiers) without key players because of

Comparatively, Rohr has largely worked in a more conducive environment...especially the factor that all his key players are available for all games...all games...(excluding absences due to injuries)

That, my brother, makes a whole lot of difference when comparing Rohr's record with Westerhof's...
So is this a subtle admission that Rohr's record is relatively impressive?
Cos it sounds like y'all keep giving excuses why he has performed - which is strange becos excuses usually come into play when trying to justfy failure.

So Rohr has this record becos he has a more efficient NFF?
The same NFF many of una wan dispatch?

The message from the naysayers is very very confusing.

Meanwhile, have you seen the Keshi v Rohr records?
Same thing.

He is comparing very favorably against our two best NT coaches, but he's somehow a "failure".
Now that's a serious headscratcher. :D

NOw we know Cellular, Big pokey and co are all agents of frustrated Nigerian coaches like Oliseh and Siasia.

It all makes sense now.
BAP

Post by BAP »

FATHER TIKO wrote:
iworo wrote:Desperate Nigerian coaches want NFF to sack Rohr, says Pinnick

“I want Nigerians to remember where we are coming from. Before Rohr took over, we could not qualify for two editions of the Nations Cup. He qualified us to Russia 2018 with a game in hand and also booked the ticket to Egypt 2019 with a game in hand. And in Egypt, Rohr qualified us to the round of 16 with a game in hand. So, why should we sack him?,” Pinnick queried.

https://guardian.ng/sport/desperate-nig ... s-pinnick/
Why do Rohr apologists keep on regurgitating this crap..?

Not qualifying for 2 AFCONS wasn't due to lack of quality...99% of qualified teams at those 2 AFCONS were not superior to Nigeria...

Nigeria's history is replete with non-qualification to one AFCON, and then rubbishing any questions about quality by making the podium at the next AFCON...

Rohr coaching us to qualification to the 2019 AFCON isn't really the 'great accomplishment' being trumpeted...Its been done many many times before him...

Question must be: Are we content with the level of performance being supervised by Rohr?

Hell, I am not. I've experienced much much better.
Thanl you Father Tiko..

Unforunately many of our esteemed brethren here have gotten used to low ambition soccer. We have by far the deepest talent pool and in Africa and it was on that strength alone that we got as far as we did not because of Rohr

Now many of us think first round exits at the WC 4 out of 5 losses agaisnt European opposition and losing to Madagascar is normal ?

I mean if we lost gallantly thats one thing but zero chances on goal against Croatia , Madagascar , Algeria simply shouldnt be heard of about a Nigerian team .

The guy simply does not INSTILL a winning mentality and that's the KEY STAT that's being overlooked .

The likes of Westerhoff and Bonfrere Jo instilled a winning mentality. That's why they still hang around Nigerian soccer cos they know what Naija can do . They essentially became Nigerians but all the Rohr, Vogts etc dont. That's why Rohr goes around Europe looking for foreign born players he simply has no faith in Naijas strengths
FATHER TIKO

Post by FATHER TIKO »

FATHER TIKO wrote:
megapro wrote:

without friendlies

Clemens Westerhof

1989 – 1994

1. Cameroon 0-1
2. Algeria 1-5
3. Egypt 1-0
4. Ivory Coast 1-0
5. Zambia 2-0
6. Algeria 0-1
7. Togo 3-0
8. Ghana 0-1
9. Benin 1-0
10. Burkina Faso 1-1
11. Togo 0-0
12. Ghana 0-0
13. Benin 3-0
14. Burkina Faso 7-1
15. Senegal 2-1
16. Kenya 2-1
17. Zaire 1-0
18. Ghana 1-2
19. Cameroon 2-1
20. Sudan 0-0
21. Uganda 2-0
22. South Africa 4-0
23. Congo 1-0
24. South Africa 0-0
25. Congo 2-0
26. Ethiopia 0-1
27. Sudan 4-0
88. Ivory Coast 1-2
29. Algeria 4-1
30. Uganda 0-0
31. Ethiopia 6-0
32. Ivory Coast 4-1
33. Algeria 1-1
34. Gabon 3-0
35. Egypt 0-0
36. Zaire 2-0
37. Ivory Coast 2-2*
38. Zambia 2-1
39. Bulgaria 3-0
40. Argentina 1-2
41. Greece 2-0
42. Italy 1-2

* = PK win

Rohr
P24 W15 D4 L5
Westerhof P42 W24
Bro, nice try...

Cos it sounds like y'all keep giving excuses why he has performed - which is strange becos excuses usually come into play when trying to justfy failure.

Same thing.

He is comparing very favorably against our two best NT coaches, but he's somehow a "failure".
NFF is still crap.. but we have to admit there has been massive improvement under Pinnick...

The current admin environment is the basic reason I'm personally dissatisfied with Rohr...
The German has fewer excuses compared to previous coaches...

Oga Damunk, I've followed football in Nigeria long enough to acknowledge Rohr is 'lucky' to be working under the present NFF regime...

For a start, how many months salary dem dey owe Rohr..? :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:
- Bill Shankly

FATHER TIKO wrote:
megapro wrote:

without friendlies

Clemens Westerhof

1989 – 1994

1. Cameroon 0-1
2. Algeria 1-5
3. Egypt 1-0
4. Ivory Coast 1-0
5. Zambia 2-0
6. Algeria 0-1
7. Togo 3-0
8. Ghana 0-1
9. Benin 1-0
10. Burkina Faso 1-1
11. Togo 0-0
12. Ghana 0-0
13. Benin 3-0
14. Burkina Faso 7-1
15. Senegal 2-1
16. Kenya 2-1
17. Zaire 1-0
18. Ghana 1-2
19. Cameroon 2-1
20. Sudan 0-0
21. Uganda 2-0
22. South Africa 4-0
23. Congo 1-0
24. South Africa 0-0
25. Congo 2-0
26. Ethiopia 0-1
27. Sudan 4-0
88. Ivory Coast 1-2
29. Algeria 4-1
30. Uganda 0-0
31. Ethiopia 6-0
32. Ivory Coast 4-1
33. Algeria 1-1
34. Gabon 3-0
35. Egypt 0-0
36. Zaire 2-0
37. Ivory Coast 2-2*
38. Zambia 2-1
39. Bulgaria 3-0
40. Argentina 1-2
41. Greece 2-0
42. Italy 1-2

* = PK win

Rohr
P24 W15 D4 L5
Westerhof P42 W24
Bro, nice try...

Same thing.

NFF is still crap.. but we have to admit there has been massive improvement under Pinnick...

The current admin environment is the basic reason I'm personally dissatisfied with Rohr...

Oga Damunk, I've followed football in Nigeria long enough to acknowledge Rohr is 'lucky' to be working under the present NFF regime...

Yes, but the point surely is not about his working conditions, lucky or not.

You might not agree with us that the case against Rohr is almost totally subjective.
We can list them, but when too much subjectivity comes into a case, there is no case.

We can equally use the same feelings to denigrate just about anybody...even Guardiola. After all, there are those that call him the 'checkbook manager' and that without that fat checkbook ('working conditions'), he'd be nothing. :D

So you can see why, last-last, this debate is kind of pointless.
The only reliable parameter is results and Rohr easily matches up with our two 'best' coaches - Keshi and Westerhoff.

We can dig up another latter-day 'Saint' - Amodu.
I'm sure Rohr's results will still stand up.

megapro wrote:

without friendlies

Clemens Westerhof

1989 – 1994

1. Cameroon 0-1
2. Algeria 1-5
3. Egypt 1-0
4. Ivory Coast 1-0
5. Zambia 2-0
6. Algeria 0-1
7. Togo 3-0
8. Ghana 0-1
9. Benin 1-0
10. Burkina Faso 1-1
11. Togo 0-0
12. Ghana 0-0
13. Benin 3-0
14. Burkina Faso 7-1
15. Senegal 2-1
16. Kenya 2-1
17. Zaire 1-0
18. Ghana 1-2
19. Cameroon 2-1
20. Sudan 0-0
21. Uganda 2-0
22. South Africa 4-0
23. Congo 1-0
24. South Africa 0-0
25. Congo 2-0
26. Ethiopia 0-1
27. Sudan 4-0
88. Ivory Coast 1-2
29. Algeria 4-1
30. Uganda 0-0
31. Ethiopia 6-0
32. Ivory Coast 4-1
33. Algeria 1-1
34. Gabon 3-0
35. Egypt 0-0
36. Zaire 2-0
37. Ivory Coast 2-2*
38. Zambia 2-1
39. Bulgaria 3-0
40. Argentina 1-2
41. Greece 2-0
42. Italy 1-2

* = PK win

Rohr
P24 W15 D4 L5
Westerhof P42 W24
Megapro, thanks for this. :thumb:
Could you provide a link so I can source all the info and compile for CE posterity.
Same with Amodu, if possible.
FATHER TIKO

Post by FATHER TIKO »

FATHER TIKO wrote:
megapro wrote:

without friendlies

Clemens Westerhof

1989 – 1994

1. Cameroon 0-1
2. Algeria 1-5
3. Egypt 1-0
4. Ivory Coast 1-0
5. Zambia 2-0
6. Algeria 0-1
7. Togo 3-0
8. Ghana 0-1
9. Benin 1-0
10. Burkina Faso 1-1
11. Togo 0-0
12. Ghana 0-0
13. Benin 3-0
14. Burkina Faso 7-1
15. Senegal 2-1
16. Kenya 2-1
17. Zaire 1-0
18. Ghana 1-2
19. Cameroon 2-1
20. Sudan 0-0
21. Uganda 2-0
22. South Africa 4-0
23. Congo 1-0
24. South Africa 0-0
25. Congo 2-0
26. Ethiopia 0-1
27. Sudan 4-0
88. Ivory Coast 1-2
29. Algeria 4-1
30. Uganda 0-0
31. Ethiopia 6-0
32. Ivory Coast 4-1
33. Algeria 1-1
34. Gabon 3-0
35. Egypt 0-0
36. Zaire 2-0
37. Ivory Coast 2-2*
38. Zambia 2-1
39. Bulgaria 3-0
40. Argentina 1-2
41. Greece 2-0
42. Italy 1-2

* = PK win

Rohr
P24 W15 D4 L5
Westerhof P42 W24
Bro, nice try...

Same thing.

You might not agree with us that the case against Rohr is almost totally subjective.
We can list them, but when too much subjectivity comes into a case, there is no case.

We can equally use the same feelings to denigrate just about anybody...even Guardiola. After all, there are those that call him the 'checkbook manager' and that without that fat checkbook ('working conditions'), he'd be nothing. :D

The only reliable parameter is results and Rohr easily matches up with our two 'best' coaches - Keshi and Westerhoff.

For fairness, a coach's regime ought to be assessed in the context of the coach's working conditions...
E.g. If Rohr went to AFCON 2019 with a squad composed of solely home-based players, and made R16, Rohr would have merited a national honour...
Or if he was being owed a backlog of wages, I'd be the first to accept such extenuating circumstances, and accord the man the benefit of the doubt...

We've all watched our football administrators handicap previous coaches (Amodu is still being owed wages, abi?) so it is pretty unfair to view stats in isolation...(I don't)

Guardiola is a cheque-book coach cannot fly, only as far as the man breaks records everywhere he works (and creates products lauded by a majority of football fans); a feat other cheque-book coaches can't match...

Surely, there is a reason most of us are dissatisfied with the 'product' Rohr offers...
- Bill Shankly

FATHER TIKO wrote:
megapro wrote:

without friendlies

Clemens Westerhof

1989 – 1994

1. Cameroon 0-1
2. Algeria 1-5
3. Egypt 1-0
4. Ivory Coast 1-0
5. Zambia 2-0
6. Algeria 0-1
7. Togo 3-0
8. Ghana 0-1
9. Benin 1-0
10. Burkina Faso 1-1
11. Togo 0-0
12. Ghana 0-0
13. Benin 3-0
14. Burkina Faso 7-1
15. Senegal 2-1
16. Kenya 2-1
17. Zaire 1-0
18. Ghana 1-2
19. Cameroon 2-1
20. Sudan 0-0
21. Uganda 2-0
22. South Africa 4-0
23. Congo 1-0
24. South Africa 0-0
25. Congo 2-0
26. Ethiopia 0-1
27. Sudan 4-0
88. Ivory Coast 1-2
29. Algeria 4-1
30. Uganda 0-0
31. Ethiopia 6-0
32. Ivory Coast 4-1
33. Algeria 1-1
34. Gabon 3-0
35. Egypt 0-0
36. Zaire 2-0
37. Ivory Coast 2-2*
38. Zambia 2-1
39. Bulgaria 3-0
40. Argentina 1-2
41. Greece 2-0
42. Italy 1-2

* = PK win

Rohr
P24 W15 D4 L5
Westerhof P42 W24
Bro, nice try...

Same thing.

For fairness, a coach's regime ought to be assessed in the context of the coach's working conditions...
E.g. If Rohr went to AFCON 2019 with a squad composed of solely home-based players, and made R16, Rohr would have merited a national honour...
Or if he was being owed a backlog of wages, I'd be the first to accept such extenuating circumstances, and accord the man the benefit of the doubt...

We've all watched our football administrators handicap previous coaches (Amodu is still being owed wages, abi?) so it is pretty unfair to view stats in isolation...(I don't)

Guardiola is a cheque-book coach cannot fly, only as far as the man breaks records everywhere he works (and creates products lauded by a majority of football fans); a feat other cheque-book coaches can't match...
My very point.
Results over time are far more indicative than subjective criteria like 'checkbooks' which are neither here nor there.
Surely, there is a reason most of us are dissatisfied with the 'product' Rohr offers...
'Most'? :lol: :lol: :lol:
It shows you are listening mostly to the people with the same views as yourself.
Actually you are right.
'Dissatisfied' is an appropriate word because we all want better.
We just dont think there is any reason to sack him like we have been doing for over 20 years
FATHER TIKO

Post by FATHER TIKO »

FATHER TIKO wrote:

My very point.
Results over time are far more indicative than subjective criteria like 'checkbooks' which are neither here nor there.
'Most'? :lol: :lol: :lol:
It shows you are listening mostly to the people with the same views as yourself.
Actually you are right.
'Dissatisfied' is an appropriate word because we all want better.
We just dont think there is any reason to sack him like we have been doing for over 20 years
But, there is little evidence the Dis-satisfied camp of fans aren't in the majority, is there..?

NFF isn't always popularity-driven, is it..?

They'll retain Rohr if they please anyway...

Doesn't mean those of us who are dis-satisfied (with good reason, mind) shouldn't make noise...
- Bill Shankly

Enugu II wrote:If I was in Pinnick's position, I would not have stated those things to be honest. It comes off as disparaging local coaches and that makes little sense considering that local coaches have also been successful. I do, however, understand why he made the decision on Rohr and I cannot fault that decision based on results.
It seems Pinnick made the statement under/with annoyance; therefore, he forgot the implication(s) of such comment from a person in the position he occupies

FATHER TIKO wrote:
megapro wrote:

without friendlies

Clemens Westerhof

1989 – 1994

1. Cameroon 0-1
2. Algeria 1-5
3. Egypt 1-0
4. Ivory Coast 1-0
5. Zambia 2-0
6. Algeria 0-1
7. Togo 3-0
8. Ghana 0-1
9. Benin 1-0
10. Burkina Faso 1-1
11. Togo 0-0
12. Ghana 0-0
13. Benin 3-0
14. Burkina Faso 7-1
15. Senegal 2-1
16. Kenya 2-1
17. Zaire 1-0
18. Ghana 1-2
19. Cameroon 2-1
20. Sudan 0-0
21. Uganda 2-0
22. South Africa 4-0
23. Congo 1-0
24. South Africa 0-0
25. Congo 2-0
26. Ethiopia 0-1
27. Sudan 4-0
88. Ivory Coast 1-2
29. Algeria 4-1
30. Uganda 0-0
31. Ethiopia 6-0
32. Ivory Coast 4-1
33. Algeria 1-1
34. Gabon 3-0
35. Egypt 0-0
36. Zaire 2-0
37. Ivory Coast 2-2*
38. Zambia 2-1
39. Bulgaria 3-0
40. Argentina 1-2
41. Greece 2-0
42. Italy 1-2

* = PK win

Rohr
P24 W15 D4 L5
Westerhof P42 W24
Bro, nice try...

Same thing.

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: Na wa-oo!

Wait Westerhof never beat Ghana!!!

Na true. I sat in a beer parlour drinking palminwith a nameless coach where naira notes were exchanged for support. Weeks
later I'm making anti Rohr posts on CE. What an ewu of an NFF chief!

The sooner this chap is kicked out, the better for Nigeian football going forward.

Enugu II wrote:If I was in Pinnick's position, I would not have stated those things to be honest. It comes off as disparaging local coaches and that makes little sense considering that local coaches have also been successful. I do, however, understand why he made the decision on Rohr and I cannot fault that decision based on results.
EII, I don't think the statement came off as such. Here is what he said.

“What are his offenses? Some Nigerian coaches who are so desperate to take over the Super Eagles are those engineering people to mount pressure on the NFF to sack the coach. But we won’t give them that chance. We know them, and what they are capable of offering the nation as coaches. “Nobody can push us around again on issues concerning appointment of coaches. We gave some of them the chance to prove themselves in the past but failed woefully.”

With this underlined statement, we can narrow the list.

We can rule our Amodu (RIP) and Keshi (RIP).
We can also rule out CCCCCCCCCCC. He is sick and can't take on such challenge anymore.
We can rule out backstabber Onigbinde ... He is still battling baby mama drama with his ex-wife

This leaves 3 coaches ... Siasia, Eguavoen, and Oliseh.

Siasia and Eguavoen never resorted to blackmail to get the job in the past, so I doubt they will start now. That leaves Oliseh. With his recent outburst about the team celebrating 3rd place finish, and the fact that Pinnick said the coach failed woefully when he had the chance, we have to admit that he looks like the prime target.
Last edited by 1naija on Thu Aug 01, 2019 4:58 am, edited 1 time in total.

Same argument different thread.
But then, one cannot deny the agitation by agents, jobless coaches, and of course fans who know football
better than who they see in the mirror.
If Nigeria was looking for a coach today, I bet there is no local coach that can be acceptable to all the different
interest factions agitating that Rohr must be let go. Neither can these agitators agree on any affordable coach
with a low caliber CV, but well recommended
. Thus there will be continuing agitations for this, that, and everything
else. Qatar 2022 is around the corner, and many are hell bent on reshuffling the cards and taking new chances?

This issue quite fits us as a people, looking for excellence in an environment of self inflicting pain and chaos.

joao wrote:This issue quite fits us as a people, looking for excellence in an environment of self inflicting pain and chaos.
:thumb:
What I describe as looking for ready-made perfection in an imperfect environment.

This guy is a comedian.

If Rohr didn't have a deficiency why is he sending him on a refresher course?

I repeat that Rohr is at best a disaster management specialist. He has done that, now time to get someone ambitious enough to aim for winning trophies.
For the 100th time, going on a refresher course does not mean you have a deficiency. Unless you are telling us all Doctors, Lawyers, Professional Engineers, etc, in the US that are required to take annual refresher courses have deficiencies in the courses they take.
Nna, you don start again.

In most professional endeavours, you go on refreshers to learn new techniques and acquire new knowledge. But you don't go teach a defensive-minded person how to become offensive-minded.

It is like teaching a tightfisted person how to become a flosser and a higher education scholarship provider.
For the 101th time this is not true. As an Uber driver, there are refresher training courses I have to take that have nothing to do with learning new things. In fact it's the same content year in year out. I think you are confusing refresher training with developmental training. Those are 2 separate things! All Nigerian coches need developmental training, Rohr needs refresher training.

Why would you want to teach a defensive minded person how to be offensive minded? So if Rohr were offensive minded instead of defensive minded he won't need a refresher course?

Pinnick asked you a simple question. Why do you want Rohr fired? Because he didn't win the ANC that Nigeria has won only 3 times since the competition began? Really?

I do agree that Rohr need to upgrade his coaching team to include offensive minded assistant, but he imself is doing a FANTASTIC JOB!!!
1.Because he played ugly defensive football but his team still ended up being among the two teams that conceeded the most goals in the tournament!
2. Remember this guy has been in charge for more than 3 yrs! Yet his team could not string 3 to 4 passes together without losing possession. Did you really enjoy how the eagles played???

It seems Pinnick made the statement under/with annoyance; therefore, he forgot the implication(s) of such comment from a person in the position he occupies
Did he forget the implications or that´s a trait he has exhibited....

gochino wrote: 1.Because he played ugly defensive football but his team still ended up being among the two teams that conceeded the most goals in the tournament!
2. Remember this guy has been in charge for more than 3 yrs! Yet his team could not string 3 to 4 passes together without losing possession. Did you really enjoy how the eagles played???
There is thread where Uncle Damunk was complaining about Rohr team (WC Friendlies) about the teams inability to score goals and he provided stats to back it. Suddenly like Saul on the way to Damacus, he saw the light and become a Rohrbot (Defender of everything and anything Rohr), despite evidence to the contrary.

gochino wrote: 1.Because he played ugly defensive football but his team still ended up being among the two teams that conceeded the most goals in the tournament!
Rohrbots, We were of the opinion that your man core skill was his defensive acumen. What happened to his defensive algorithm? I guess it was the players fault.
kash n' karry

Post by kash n' karry »

gochino wrote:
This guy is a comedian.

If Rohr didn't have a deficiency why is he sending him on a refresher course?

I repeat that Rohr is at best a disaster management specialist. He has done that, now time to get someone ambitious enough to aim for winning trophies.
For the 100th time, going on a refresher course does not mean you have a deficiency. Unless you are telling us all Doctors, Lawyers, Professional Engineers, etc, in the US that are required to take annual refresher courses have deficiencies in the courses they take.
Nna, you don start again.

In most professional endeavours, you go on refreshers to learn new techniques and acquire new knowledge. But you don't go teach a defensive-minded person how to become offensive-minded.

It is like teaching a tightfisted person how to become a flosser and a higher education scholarship provider.
For the 101th time this is not true. As an Uber driver, there are refresher training courses I have to take that have nothing to do with learning new things. In fact it's the same content year in year out. I think you are confusing refresher training with developmental training. Those are 2 separate things! All Nigerian coches need developmental training, Rohr needs refresher training.

Why would you want to teach a defensive minded person how to be offensive minded? So if Rohr were offensive minded instead of defensive minded he won't need a refresher course?

Pinnick asked you a simple question. Why do you want Rohr fired? Because he didn't win the ANC that Nigeria has won only 3 times since the competition began? Really?

I do agree that Rohr need to upgrade his coaching team to include offensive minded assistant, but he imself is doing a FANTASTIC JOB!!!
1.Because he played ugly defensive football but his team still ended up being among the two teams that conceeded the most goals in the tournament!
:evil: :twisted:
Exactly Gochino... u couldn't have spoken da truth more succintly !! :clap:

For me.. .I have no problem if the SE even crashes out to the quarterfinals of the AFCON if they played up to their potential rather than crash out of a semi-finals or finals of the AFCON with a lame-duck defensive game that shows off as playing not to lose rather than everything hang and going for the jugular of the opponent !!
===================================
Chance favors da prepared mind. ALWAYS !! :mrgreen:
megapro

Post by megapro »

megapro wrote:

without friendlies

Clemens Westerhof

1989 – 1994

1. Cameroon 0-1
2. Algeria 1-5
3. Egypt 1-0
4. Ivory Coast 1-0
5. Zambia 2-0
6. Algeria 0-1
7. Togo 3-0
8. Ghana 0-1
9. Benin 1-0
10. Burkina Faso 1-1
11. Togo 0-0
12. Ghana 0-0
13. Benin 3-0
14. Burkina Faso 7-1
15. Senegal 2-1
16. Kenya 2-1
17. Zaire 1-0
18. Ghana 1-2
19. Cameroon 2-1
20. Sudan 0-0
21. Uganda 2-0
22. South Africa 4-0
23. Congo 1-0
24. South Africa 0-0
25. Congo 2-0
26. Ethiopia 0-1
27. Sudan 4-0
88. Ivory Coast 1-2
29. Algeria 4-1
30. Uganda 0-0
31. Ethiopia 6-0
32. Ivory Coast 4-1
33. Algeria 1-1
34. Gabon 3-0
35. Egypt 0-0
36. Zaire 2-0
37. Ivory Coast 2-2*
38. Zambia 2-1
39. Bulgaria 3-0
40. Argentina 1-2
41. Greece 2-0
42. Italy 1-2

* = PK win

Rohr
P24 W15 D4 L5
Westerhof P42 W24
Megapro, thanks for this. :thumb:
Could you provide a link so I can source all the info and compile for CE posterity.
Same with Amodu, if possible.
My website

https://megapro24.wordpress.com/
megapro 2012:
Keshi should be left alone to continue his program, and seriously has a chance of casting his name in gold