Should this be allowed? Super Eagles kit rip-off

Posted: Fri Aug 02, 2019 5:48 pm
by Eddydove
I'm sure a few of you guys have already seen this, but Tunisian second division side EO Sidi Bouzid have completely copied the iconic Super Eagles jersey for their new season kit. I can't believe it, and I can't understand how it can be allowed. I mean, lovely kit and all, but this is just copying...
Full story (and photos) here: https://www.goal.com/en/news/extra-time ... iabyfak4k6

What can be done about this? Or should be take it as flattery that they are attempting to emulate our beloved Super Eagles?

Best,

'Though tribe and tongue may differ, in brotherhood we stand'

Re: Should this be allowed? Super Eagles kit rip-off

Posted: Fri Aug 02, 2019 5:58 pm
by Otitokoro
There's no 'Brotherhood' here.
This is an outright copyright infringement and theft.
Addidas and the NFF should sue them.
Eddydove wrote:I'm sure a few of you guys have already seen this, but Tunisian second division side EO Sidi Bouzid have completely copied the iconic Super Eagles jersey for their new season kit. I can't believe it, and I can't understand how it can be allowed. I mean, lovely kit and all, but this is just copying...
Full story (and photos) here: https://www.goal.com/en/news/extra-time ... iabyfak4k6

What can be done about this? Or should be take it as flattery that they are attempting to emulate our beloved Super Eagles?

Best,

Posted: Fri Aug 02, 2019 6:02 pm
by Cellular
Eddydove wrote:I'm sure a few of you guys have already seen this, but Tunisian second division side EO Sidi Bouzid have completely copied the iconic Super Eagles jersey for their new season kit. I can't believe it, and I can't understand how it can be allowed. I mean, lovely kit and all, but this is just copying...

Best,

Isn't that a Nike issue?

Me, just like you, I see it as a compliment (flattery). That our Jersey is good enough for a professional side to want to copy.

We have moved up in the world. :thumbs: :clap:

Good job Nike.

Posted: Fri Aug 02, 2019 6:29 pm
peakmilk should be flogged for this..I blame him 100%

Posted: Fri Aug 02, 2019 6:35 pm
by Otitokoro
Sorry, Nike, not Addidas.

Best,

Isn't that a Nike issue?

Me, just like you, I see it as a compliment (flattery). That our Jersey is good enough for a professional side to want to copy.

Good job Nike.

Posted: Fri Aug 02, 2019 9:07 pm
by Enugu II

Best,

Isn't that a Nike issue?

Good job Nike.
KPOM. I would think that the rights belong to Nike. Thus, that would mean it is a Nike issue. Maybe, Nike is a lso supplying kits to the club mentioned in the story.

Posted: Sat Aug 03, 2019 2:36 pm
by Eaglezbeak
Otitokoro wrote:There's no 'Brotherhood' here.
Eddy dove wrote:I'm sure a few of you guys have already seen this, but Tunisian second division side EO Sidi Bouzid have completely copied the iconic Super Eagles jersey for their new season kit. I can't believe it, and I can't understand how it can be allowed. I mean, lovely kit and all, but this is just copying...

Best,

Adidas can’t get involved.

Posted: Sat Aug 03, 2019 2:37 pm
by Eaglezbeak
Otitokoro wrote:There's no 'Brotherhood' here.
Eddy dove wrote:I'm sure a few of you guys have already seen this, but Tunisian second division side EO Sidi Bouzid have completely copied the iconic Super Eagles jersey for their new season kit. I can't believe it, and I can't understand how it can be allowed. I mean, lovely kit and all, but this is just copying...

Best,

Adidas can’t get involved.

Posted: Sat Aug 03, 2019 2:38 pm
by kalani JR
Nike probably gave it to them. Why should we care it doesn't cut into our profits.

Posted: Sat Aug 03, 2019 3:20 pm
by bret- hart
Blatant theft :curse:

Posted: Sat Aug 03, 2019 6:29 pm
by Otitokoro
Check the Manufacturer's logo on the jersey. It does NOT say Nike.
This is theft and Nike and Nigeria can sue them (and should)!
Understand a Turkish Div 2 club also has a similar design. Both clubs should be sued.
kalani JR wrote:Nike probably gave it to them. Why should we care it doesn't cut into our profits.

Posted: Sat Aug 03, 2019 6:33 pm
by pajimoh
Those who are for us can't be against us. I'm sure they have a soft spot for Naija football. You can't hate us and be wearing same Jersey as us.

This is nothing more than the best form of flattery

Posted: Sun Aug 04, 2019 9:43 am
by charlie
Imitation is the greatest form of flattery.

No issues here. Let Nike lawyers sort it out. I am just proud of our jersey.
Now if only Nike can do something about our away jersey.

Posted: Sun Aug 04, 2019 9:55 am
by kalani JR
Otitokoro wrote:Check the Manufacturer's logo on the jersey. It does NOT say Nike.
This is theft and Nike and Nigeria can sue them (and should)!
Understand a Turkish Div 2 club also has a similar design. Both clubs should be sued.
kalani JR wrote:Nike probably gave it to them. Why should we care it doesn't cut into our profits.
I don't think the NFF can sue them it's Nike's IP so it's up to them.

Posted: Fri Aug 09, 2019 10:26 pm
by jette1
First of all there is no copy right infringement involved here. How many teams did you not see use the green white green jerseys before we started using after adidas ditched us. Sports Jerseys designs are one area where copy right ownership isn’t set in stone. The Brazilian national team Jersey is probably the most copied sports apparel and I don’t see them suing anyone.

Posted: Fri Aug 09, 2019 11:21 pm
by kalani JR
jette1 wrote:First of all there is no copy right infringement involved here. How many teams did you not see use the green white green jerseys before we started using after adidas ditched us. Sports Jerseys designs are one area where copy right ownership isn’t set in stone. The Brazilian national team Jersey is probably the most copied sports apparel and I don’t see them suing anyone.
unique design can't be copyrighted?

Posted: Sun Aug 11, 2019 12:54 am
by ANC
It would be nice if Nigeria won something with this Jersey

Posted: Sun Aug 11, 2019 2:11 am
by jette1
ANC wrote:It would be nice if Nigeria won something with this Jersey
It would be nice if Nigeria won something with any jersey