Ebere Eze scored today...

Re: Ebere Eze scored today...

maceo4 wrote:Abi...bobo needs to be capped ASAP...
He's watching. But are the coaches watching him?
According to owngoalNigeria(yes I know it's Owngoalnigeria.com, but they have a surprisingly good record of getting their reports correct lately), Ebere has already been lined up for a possible call up for next month's qualifiers against Lesotho and Benin Republic, if there's any credibility to that report...I'll presume NFF have been processing his nationality switch documents discreetly for a while now.

vancity eagle wrote:Rohr has failed big time with Eze.

He even invited him to train with the SE during a friendly and he was there. :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:

with the lack of AM options he failed to call him up when he was on fire last season

The result was that the England U21 then called him up which will now complicate any switch of allegiance which had no complications before.

Now before anybody tells me Eze is not that good.

We need options for heavens sake. We cannot rely on only Iwobi.

He may be out of form or get injured, then what will we do ?

Play the brainless Etebo as an AM ?

I dont know why the likes of Ejaria and Eze are not being in the process of being capped.
:shock: :shock:
...THUNDER FIRE ROHR IF NA SO! :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil:

According to owngoalNigeria(yes I know it's Owngoalnigeria.com, but they have a surprisingly good record of getting their reports correct lately), Ebere has already been lined up for a possible call up for next month's qualifiers against Lesotho and Benin Republic, if there's any credibility to that report...I'll presume NFF have been processing his nationality switch documents discreetly for a while now.

owngoal stated that Rohr thought the switch would take longer because Eze had lined up for the England U20 team, but apparently he has not played in any official UEFA competition and thus his switch is not as complicated as once thought.

I looked up on this and apparently Eze has only played for England U20 in a competition called U20 elite league which is not a FIFA or UEFA sanctioned league. He was called up to the England U21 team in September for the UEFA U21 European championships. Interesting that he DID NOT COME OFF THE BENCH. So was not capped

In the October matches, he was IGNORED entirely and not called up by the ENgland U21 team. Now there is no way IMO the top rated player in the Championship will not be called up to the U21 team, so to me that is clear evidence that the switch is underway and indeed England must be aware, but he will likely be called up for the next set of games like Owngoal reports, unless the process takes longer than expected.

If anybody has any contrary or corroborating evidence please let us hear.

Kudos to you VE. You certainly did you research on the matter.

owngoal stated that Rohr thought the switch would take longer because Eze had lined up for the England U20 team, but apparently he has not played in any official UEFA competition and thus his switch is not as complicated as once thought.

I looked up on this and apparently Eze has only played for England U20 in a competition called U20 elite league which is not a FIFA or UEFA sanctioned league. He was called up to the England U21 team in September for the UEFA U21 European championships. Interesting that he DID NOT COME OFF THE BENCH. So was not capped

In the October matches, he was IGNORED entirely and not called up by the ENgland U21 team. Now there is no way IMO the top rated player in the Championship will not be called up to the U21 team, so to me that is clear evidence that the switch is underway and indeed England must be aware, but he will likely be called up for the next set of games like Owngoal reports, unless the process takes longer than expected.

If anybody has any contrary or corroborating evidence please let us hear.
That would be great! :thumb:

Own goal has now today published a story that the Elite league which Eze played in IS in fact UEFA sanctioned and so the process with Eze needs to take place. This is contradictory to what they initially reported.

I dont know what to believe now.

I just went to UEFA site and U20 elite league is not listed under their national team competitions.

Only U21 European championships as well as U19 and U17

So it would seem this U20 elite league may be considered a friendly in the same way the Toulon tournament would be considered.

Own goal said he appeared in a competitive match and that the elite league is under UEFA. But my search of UEFA site lists no such competition.

As I understand it "competitive" means either FIFA or UEFA sanctioned. If the competition is not under FIFA or UEFA would it not be a "friendly" regardless whether the competition is "competitive " or not. Is this not correct ?

Does anybody have any insight into this matter ?

Can This Little Magician Tearing England’s Championship Apart Be Super Eagles Long Awaited Answer For A New Jay Jay Okocha?
by Imhons Erons

With just a quarter of an hour left to play at the KCOM Stadium on Saturday, both Hull City and Queens Park Rangers were locked at a goal apiece and it appeared as though the two sets of players were pleased to see the spoils shared. But one Nigerian-born lad had other ideas.

It had been an eventful afternoon up till that point as Jarrod Bowen’s well-taken opener for the hosts had been cancelled just before half time by a Ryan Manning beauty struck from just inside the box.

From there, the away side seized the initiative and completely dominated the second period but Hull remained resolute and it increasingly became apparent that it would take something special, magical, to unlock the home side’s stubbornly determined defence. There was however a magician in the Rangers’ ranks.

QPR’s Ebere Eze had been lively all afternoon but in the 77th minute, he became too hot to handle. After twisting and turning his way past a couple of challenges, the England youth international was tripped inside the box by Eric Lichaj and the referee duly pointed to the spot. The forward picked himself up, dusted his shorts and calmly sent the Hull goalie the wrong way to give the away side the lead for the first time in the tie.
But Eze was not yet done. And ten minutes later, he had repeated the same trick: outsmarting another Hull defender, Kevin Smart, drawing a foul and winning another penalty. One more time, Eze confidently converted the spot-kick to extend QPR’s lead and that second goal became even more crucial as Josh Magennis pulled one back for Hull in the closing stages.

However, QPR had done just enough to claim a 3-2 away win, all three points, an impressive six wins in eight Sky Bet Championship matches and a fifth place ranking on the league table, no small thanks to their young, budding talented Anglo Nigerian.

It is worrying though, that while the entire country of the Queen is turning up and taking notice of the raw talents of this highly-rated youngster, the Nigeria Football Federation appear unaware of anyone named Ebere Eze.

In the period since the 2019 AFCON came to a glorious end in Egypt, the Super Eagles have played two international friendly matches – one against Ukraine, the other versus Brazil – and the team’s coach Gernot Rohr has extended first-time invitations to a bunch of new players some of whom had just one brilliant showing in a week or two prior to the squad unveiling, the kind of displays that Eze exhibits on a weekly basis.

What then does this lad need do to earn a call up to the Super Eagles?

He has been the best player in the Championship this season, according to Whoscored.com who gave him an average rating of 7.64 – better than any other player out there. With Eze currently being scouted by a number of Premier League sides, it is only a matter of time before the 21-year-old turn up in England’s top flight.

Since Ebere Eze banged in the winner at Stoke City in the season opener in August, he has been unstoppable, scoring a total of six goals and providing two further assists in just 12 league appearances, all from an attacking midfield role.

Goals don’t just fully define Eze, mind you, as his dribbling skills, quick thinking and beautiful football brain – ignoring momentarily his stamina and incredible strength – make him the creative hub of a QPR side that is the league’s best attacking force after Preston and leaders West Brom.

Ebere Eze might just be the long term answer to a nagging problem evident in the Nigeria national football team since Austin Okocha retired. While the Super Eagles have at different times sought the solution in the likes of Nnamdi Oduamadi, Sunday Mba, Mikel Obi and presently Alex Iwobi, none has truly convinced.

Okocha left behind boots the size Goliath would find too big to lace. A dribbling wizard of immortal proportions, only Jay Jay could do what Austin Okocha could do. Better than that, he could provide beautiful assists and score great goals, such that even the great Ronaldinho confessed that Okocha was his idol.

While it may be near impossible to find another like for like player to replace that legend, it is imperative that the Super Eagles number 10 jersey should only be worn by footballers of better-than-ordinary talents. Ebere Eze fits that bill perfectly.

Iwobi certainly has the potential to grow into the role, it is however not healthy for a country so blessed with talents like Nigeria to retain only the Everton star for that attacking midfield role. And whenever the former Arsenal forward has one of his numerous off days, it is usually an eyesore watching Gernot Rohr look helpless on the sidelines, scared to substitute the tiring player with others who are defensively inclined.

Ebere Eze can be the antidote to that debilitating fear. His skill set can see him play anywhere across the front three attacking positions, which could see him also complement Iwobi instead of replacing him.

There is a snag, though.

The 21-year-old has already played for the England national under-20 team, having made his debut in a 2–1 win against Italy in the Under 20 Elite League. And with England’s manager Gareth Southgate presently in a pretty mood of snapping up talented Nigeria-born youngsters – remember Fikayo Tomori and Tammy Abraham – it might be just a matter of time before Ebere Eze is called to join the Three Lions.

There is good news, however.

Eze loves and identifies with his fatherland dearly. The youngster once joined up with Alex Iwobi and co to train with the Nigeria national team and was pleased to see Joe Aribo score for the Super Eagles against Brazil.

If the country’s top football administrators can show genuine interest and sincerity of purpose, Eze will likely commit to Nigeria.

And with the Super Eagles goalkeeping problems gradually easing; the defence sorting its issues bit by bit thanks to the return of Semi Ajayi; Joe Aribo proving to be a classy addition to the midfield; and Chukwueze developing beautifully side by side with Osimhen; then Ebere Eze may just be the final missing puzzle in the birthing of this glorious Golden Generation.

https://soccernet.ng/2019/10/can-this-l ... kocha.html

Abeg leave dis one. the boy needs a nationality change and can not play for until spring of 2021 at the earliest.

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote:Abeg leave dis one. the boy needs a nationality change and can not play for until spring of 2021 at the earliest.
What's your source?

DIMKA76 wrote:
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote:Abeg leave dis one. the boy needs a nationality change and can not play for until spring of 2021 at the earliest.
What's your source?
His a$$.

DAgrin

Post by DAgrin »

Wow. What a baller. The boy is a word class player in the making. Pace, ball control, vision..he has it all. I pray that this boy has decided to play for Nigeria because he is the lacking puzzle piece in our midfield.
"The secret of life is to have no fear." - Fela Kuti

Naija 4 life!

DIMKA76 wrote:
What's your source?
Only people suffering from functional illiteracy reply to illegitimate people, are you an illiterate?

I wonder why he has not yet received an invitation. After all, he had trained with the team already.

These highlights, TBH, always make me wonder. Why must it always be about a player being on the ball? To truly evaluate a player, we need too also see what he does when his team does not have the ball.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

This ish isn't rocket science. The U20 games Ebere played in isn't "competitive" Those games are basically like the Toulon tournament in France. If that is the case, it shouldn't be long before he switches assuming the process has started. The hold up is due to the incompetent NFF who cant do their jobsproperly and the useless coach of ours who does not want to invite him. By now someone in the NFF should have called FIFA and asked about how to proceed with Ebere Eze instead of speculating. That is what the Technical committee is there for. By now as well, Rhor should have sat down with the boy and assured him(Ebere) that he is very much part of his plans. If Eze were born in Germany, Rhor would have invited him months ago :!:

Even if he is ineligible to play next month, it does not hurt to invite him and have him get accustomed to the team and his would be teammates. That's what Keshi did with Moses and Iwobi but the lazy ram faced Rhor cannot think beyond his nose. :boo:

At our Football Age an angel* is Blaming his Fa or Coach for not calling an "undecided player" personality, our Fa are even nice because no country of Substance will tolerate such disrespect from these dual-nationals. if you're interested in playing for Nigeria, publicly say so. if not, Nff shouldn't make that Move. we have been used, Abused, disrespected so much by these guys and it's high time we stand our ground. national team is a thing of pride, Honor, Love and dignity not buying/selling

DIMKA76 wrote:
What's your source?
Only people suffering from functional illiteracy reply to illegitimate people, are you an illiterate?
You ****. You leave the main topic to launch a personal attack on contributors. You need to be sectioned under the mental health act.

DIMKA76 wrote:
What's your source?
You ****. You leave the main topic to launch a personal attack on contributors. You need to be sectioned under the mental health act.
Read that post again, then take a good look at yourself via a mirror

I don't need to read it and it doesn't have to be directed at me. You man, get away with far too much than any other person on this forum. You launch too many personal attacks on everyone and anyone. People are so brave behind the keyboard. I have to call you out on this.

john12 wrote:At our Football Age an angel* is Blaming his Fa or Coach for not calling an "undecided player" personality, our Fa are even nice because no country of Substance will tolerate such disrespect from these dual-nationals. if you're interested in playing for Nigeria, publicly say so. if not, Nff shouldn't make that Move. we have been used, Abused, disrespected so much by these guys and it's high time we stand our ground. national team is a thing of pride, Honor, Love and dignity not buying/selling

Can you try not being stupid for once in your life? The boy has already stated he wants to play for Nigeria. The onus then is on the NFF and the coach to get the process started.

https://owngoalnigeria.com/2019/10/23/n ... ualifiers/

Seems the NFF are not mulling around, Rohr knows what to do at these point....no excuses not to be in contact with the boy right about now.

DIMKA76 wrote:I don't need to read it and it doesn't have to be directed at me. You man, get away with far too much than any other person on this forum. You launch too many personal attacks on everyone and anyone. People are so brave behind the keyboard. I have to call you out on this.
did you read that again?