Austin Eguavoen technical director at Slovenian

Posted: Fri Aug 09, 2019 9:20 pm
https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/49190745
As i said we have better LCS compared to Rohr..we should have hired Egu
Former Nigeria coach Austin Eguavoen has been named the technical director at Slovenian second division side NK Drava Dakinda.

The 53-year-old, who managed Greek lower tier club APS Zakynthos last season, has signed an undisclosed deal with the club owned by compatriot Emmanuel Oloja Akpakwu.

A former Nigeria defender and a member of the golden generation, he played for his country at the 1988 and 1992 Africa Cup of Nations, and when they won the tournament in 1994.

He also represented his country at the 1994 World Cup in the United states.

As a manager he had two stints as Super Eagles coach and led them to a third-place finish at the 2006 Nations Cup in Egypt. He also managed his country's under-20 and under-23 sides.

Re: Austin Eguavoen technical director at Slovenian

Posted: Sat Aug 10, 2019 12:52 am
by ANC
European badge stamped

Posted: Sat Aug 10, 2019 2:33 am
I wonder if Rohr even get coaching badge

Posted: Sat Aug 10, 2019 3:09 am
by kalani JR
Does the second division in Slovenia even count as professional football?

Posted: Sat Aug 10, 2019 4:18 am
by ANC
:lol: CE

Posted: Sat Aug 10, 2019 7:59 am
by chief nfachairman
You want a technical director, of a backwater league club in Slovenia, who are playing in D2 to come coach the SE?

I think you have lost the right to make comments or suggestions about the SE. We should restrict you to making comments for the U17 falcons (AFCON qualifers only).

Posted: Sat Aug 10, 2019 8:08 am
chief nfachairman wrote:You want a technical director, of a backwater league club in Slovenia, who are playing in D2 to come coach the SE?

I think you have lost the right to make comments or suggestions about the SE. We should restrict you to making comments for only the U17 falcons (AFCON qualifers only).
Oops you people hired a white man who coached Niger Republic to coach your national team.... :rotf:

Posted: Sat Aug 10, 2019 8:16 am
by chief nfachairman
chief nfachairman wrote:You want a technical director, of a backwater league club in Slovenia, who are playing in D2 to come coach the SE?

I think you have lost the right to make comments or suggestions about the SE. We should restrict you to making comments for only the U17 falcons (AFCON qualifers only).
Oops you people hired a white man who coached Niger Republic to coach your national team.... :rotf:
1990 Bordeaux
1991–1992 Bordeaux
1996 Bordeaux
1999–2000 Créteil
2002–2005 Nice
2005–2006 Young Boys
2007–2008 Ajaccio
2008–2009 Étoile Sahel[3]
2009 Nantes
2010–2012 Gabon
2012–2014 Niger
2015 Burkina Faso
2016– Nigeria

Posted: Sat Aug 10, 2019 10:03 am
This elemu posted teams bobo coached 30 years ago...your nff chairman peakmilk wants to send the prehistoric manager for refreshers..that alone ends the discussion

Posted: Sat Aug 10, 2019 1:32 pm
by ohenhen1
Good luck to Eguavon.

Posted: Sat Aug 10, 2019 2:02 pm
by Scipio Africanus
:clap: :clap: :clap: Much props to Eguavoen. Man must wack. I like his outfit too. Reminds me of the 1994 SE away jersey.

Posted: Sat Aug 10, 2019 3:50 pm
by Chief Ogbunigwe
Scipio Africanus wrote::clap: :clap: :clap: Much props to Eguavoen. Man must wack. I like his outfit too. Reminds me of the 1994 SE away jersey.
wow, he's just 53? Meaning that as one of the "senior" boys in 1994, he was just 28. Kudos, Egu :thumb:

Posted: Sat Aug 10, 2019 5:25 pm
by mcal
Scipio Africanus wrote::clap: :clap: :clap: Much props to Eguavoen. Man must wack. I like his outfit too. Reminds me of the 1994 SE away jersey.
wow, he's just 53? Meaning that as one of the "senior" boys in 1994, he was just 28. Kudos, Egu :thumb:
...Nigerians and fascination with age, so you don do the math quickly :biggrin:

Posted: Sat Aug 10, 2019 5:26 pm
by Chief Ogbunigwe
...Nigerians and fascination with age, so you don do the math quickly :biggrin:

it's just a matter of how we used to look at players as "senior boys" when we were kids o.

Posted: Sun Aug 11, 2019 7:14 am
by john12
Forgot to add that the owner of the club is a nigerian

Posted: Sun Aug 11, 2019 10:57 am
by Damunk
john12 wrote:Forgot to add that the owner of the club is a nigerian
Its in theoriginal article.

"The 53-year-old, who managed Greek lower tier club APS Zakynthos last season, has signed an undisclosed deal with the club owned by compatriot Emmanuel Oloja Akpakwu".

Posted: Sun Aug 11, 2019 8:37 pm
by Sir V

"The 53-year-old, who managed Greek lower tier club APS Zakynthos last season, has signed an undisclosed deal with the club owned by compatriot Emmanuel Oloja Akpakwu".
Eguavoen annual salary will not be more than 70K in pounds.

Posted: Sun Aug 11, 2019 10:32 pm
by ANC
Sir V wrote:

Eguavoen annual salary will not be more than 70K in pounds.

Thats a high ceiling. Likely far less than that.

Good luck to him, anyways.

Posted: Mon Aug 12, 2019 9:02 am
by oloye
Bigpokey24 wrote:https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/49190745
As i said we have better LCS compared to Rohr..we should have hired Egu
Former Nigeria coach Austin Eguavoen has been named the technical director at Slovenian second division side NK Drava Dakinda.

The 53-year-old, who managed Greek lower tier club APS Zakynthos last season, has signed an undisclosed deal with the club owned by compatriot Emmanuel Oloja Akpakwu.

A former Nigeria defender and a member of the golden generation, he played for his country at the 1988 and 1992 Africa Cup of Nations, and when they won the tournament in 1994.

He also represented his country at the 1994 World Cup in the United states.

As a manager he had two stints as Super Eagles coach and led them to a third-place finish at the 2006 Nations Cup in Egypt. He also managed his country's under-20 and under-23 sides.
Abeg all those guys with dark glasses in the background are they mafia enforcers?

Posted: Mon Aug 12, 2019 11:16 am
by cchinukw

The stone that NFF rejected will rise to the top. :clap: :clap:

Posted: Mon Aug 12, 2019 11:18 am
by cchinukw
chief nfachairman wrote:

1990 Bordeaux
1991–1992 Bordeaux
1996 Bordeaux
1999–2000 Créteil
2002–2005 Nice
2005–2006 Young Boys
2007–2008 Ajaccio
2008–2009 Étoile Sahel[3]
2009 Nantes
2010–2012 Gabon
2012–2014 Niger
2015 Burkina Faso
2016– Nigeria
Yet could not deliver a better result at 2019 AFCON with more talented players.