Charles Okonkwo

I was drinking with Rangers legend and striker Charles Okonkwo and some old CIC friends in Chingford on Sunday. I knew he played for Nigeria but wasn't aware he ended up with 33 caps from the mid 80s to the 90s. He said it would have been double in this day and age with more international games played.

He was full of gist of about his time at Rangers and we yabbed him mercilessly for going to Nike Grammar School. He said they used to see CIC as for "ajebutters" and children of rich men.

I was shocked to find out that his teammate for Nigeria and Rangers, who also played for Abiola Babes, Louis "Commander" Igwilo, is now a "dibia" (native doctor) in his village of Oghe, Enugu State. Charles said Commander was known to be involved in juju as a player.

He now lives in Hemel Hempstead and said his son plays for Stevenage FC. I presume their youth team.

Charles and the late Sam Okwaraji.
Re: Charles Okonkwo

cic old boy wrote:I was drinking with Rangers legend and striker Charles Okonkwo and some old CIC friends in Chingford on Sunday. I knew he played for Nigeria but wasn't aware he ended up with 33 caps from the mid 80s to the 90s. He said it would have been double in this day and age with more international games played.

He was full of gist of about his time at Rangers and we yabbed him mercilessly for going to Nike Grammar School. He said they used to see CIC as for "ajebutters" and children of rich men.

I was shocked to find out that his teammate for Nigeria and Rangers, who also played for Abiola Babes, Louis "Commander" Igwilo, is now a "dibia" (native doctor) in his village of Oghe, Enugu State. Charles said Commander was known to be involved in juju as a player.

He now lives in Hemel Hempstead and said his son plays for Stevenage FC. I presume their youth team.

Charles and the l charate Sam Okwaraji.
Charles Okonkwo never played 33 full international matches for Nigeria except he's counting friendlies against club sides and training matches. He was never a regular in the national team and was not in any tournament squad.

cic old boy wrote:I was drinking with Rangers legend and striker Charles Okonkwo and some old CIC friends in Chingford on Sunday. I knew he played for Nigeria but wasn't aware he ended up with 33 caps from the mid 80s to the 90s. He said it would have been double in this day and age with more international games played.

Keep boasting about drinking, nah your liver you dey punish...smh ..your mates are doing big thangs, you are on the internet glorifying shayos....smh..misplaced priorities

ukwala

Post by ukwala »

Alooma! :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs:

cic old boy wrote:I was drinking with Rangers legend and striker Charles Okonkwo and some old CIC friends in Chingford on Sunday.

Consistent theme! One constant in all your posts .....Hmmmm!

cic old boy wrote:I was drinking with Rangers legend and striker Charles Okonkwo and some old CIC friends in Chingford on Sunday.

:laugh: :laugh: :laugh: the guy is a drunk.... never ever take him seriously, his eyes are like those of a drunkard

And lying. :lol:
Last edited by Lolly on Tue Aug 20, 2019 6:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

Lolly wrote: And lying. :lol:
After serving as a Buhari Media Centre propagandist for so long, you no longer know reality from fiction.

The people to worry about are those that don't admit to drinking, but hide a whiskey (JW Black Label) flask in their pocket. :taunt:

Charles Okonkwo never played 33 full international matches for Nigeria except he's counting friendlies against club sides and training matches. He was never a regular in the national team and was not in any tournament squad.
I doubt it too but Muda Lawal had almost 90 caps in 10 years during a period when we played less internationals. So Charles might be right.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

The people to worry about are those that don't admit to drinking, but hide a whiskey (JW Black Label) flask in their pocket. :taunt:
so you do have a drinking problem?

Lolly wrote:

I doubt it too but Muda Lawal had almost 90 caps in 10 years during a period when we played less internationals. So Charles might be right.

Muda was the first African player to play in 5 successive AFCONs, so his tally is probably true.

amazing how many people don't realize 'drinking' is a problem

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."

Bigpokey24 wrote: so you do have a drinking problem?
I have a problem with retards.

Bigpokey24 wrote: so you do have a drinking problem?
I have a problem with retards.
real talk cut down on it, I know someone who had issues with this ..i am not saying don't drink, but your eyes shows you do drink a lot.... don't let the bottle control your life

Friendlies counts my bro.

Bigpokey24 wrote: real talk cut down on it, I know someone who had issues with this ..i am not saying don't drink, but your eyes shows you do drink a lot.... don't let the bottle control your life
Fat Gay Piggy, stop looking into my eyes. I don't do guys!!

Bigpokey24 wrote: real talk cut down on it, I know someone who had issues with this ..i am not saying don't drink, but your eyes shows you do drink a lot.... don't let the bottle control your life
Fat Gay Piggy, stop looking into my eyes. I don't do guys!!
me neither i, love black women.... a guy i worked with died from liver failure due to drinking.... stay away from staring down at the bottle

Sir V wrote:

Not the ones against clubsides bro.

CIC old Wino! Lol

amazing how many people don't realize 'drinking' is a problem
:rotf: :rotf: Are you suggesting CIC old Whino is in denial?

Can we please update the names Registry? Grand Master Slash, 1naija , has just released a blockbuster on this thread.

CIC old Wino. :thumbs: :thumbs:

Sir V wrote:

Sir V,

Charles Okonkwo never played 10 internationals (friendlies and competitive games) for Nigeria let alone 33 internationals. Or maybe he is counting games in which he dressed but was not used. This reminds me when Rufai, in a magazine, claimed that he played well over 80 internationals for Nigeria. Those guys are merely guessing and have no records to back up those claims. Records of all these games are available for those who really seek to check on these things. As Dammy mentioned, he may be counting exhibition games against clubsides. As you are aware, those exhibitions do not count.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics