NPFL Top Scorer Sanusi Passes U17 MRI Test but ........

Re: NPFL Top Scorer Sanusi Passes U17 MRI Test but ........

Good question, Maceo4.
Don't have access to the NPFL records and can't verify.
Otitokoro wrote:Exactly what I found when reseaching on the lad.
He had been widely reported in the media as being a 19 year old. He was even given an NPFL award this year and was refered to as 19.
Manu needs to drop him like a hot potato - this is similar to what led to the disqualification of Guinea's U17 team, when they fielded 2 players who had previously been listed as 17+
Ugbowo wrote:The camp has opened but no training the last 2 days. Apparently Sanusi is there but there is apprehension because of past media reports that show he is 19. They are not going to let it slip. I think Manu will drop him.
But what age did they register him as in the NPFL?

If it has been reported that he is 19 then Aigbogun should invite him to the U20 squad for the All African games. His team needs good strikers.

olu wrote:If it has been reported that he is 19 then Aigbogun should invite him to the U20 squad for the All African games. His team needs good strikers.
Too late...
They are already in Morocco.

Thanks for clarifying. He should have been invited to the U20 team instead. Not saying it is impossible, but the chances of the highest goalscorer in the NPFL being truly U17 are slim.
olu wrote:If it has been reported that he is 19 then Aigbogun should invite him to the U20 squad for the All African games. His team needs good strikers.
Too late...

Don't know why they had to show his passport sha :shock:

Sunset wrote: Don't know why they had to show his passport sha :shock:
I hear you....but if dem falsely accuse you of rape, come describe prick wey no resemble you own, you fit comot JT show people o :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:

But why don't clubs simply have their players' info displayed proudly on their websites?

This is interesting.
Going through some of the evidence provided by Sam Adepoju via his tweet, there may be a case of the boy actually being eligible.
Seems he was indeed a youth player for Nasarawa last year and was signed as a first teamer this year. He doesn't seem to have any previous documents contradicting his age and his passport appears legit.
Will keep my fingers crossed.

This is how you do things, you provide official documents to prove your point not what some journo (esp. Nigerian) wrote, as if that now makes it fact. If he has multiple declared/conflicting DOB's on official documents then I get your point, but when his official documents have been consistent you can't blame the boy for the inaccuracies some journo writes b/c some of our journo's would make Stephen Glass look like a saint.

I hear you....but if dem falsely accuse you of rape, come describe prick wey no resemble you own, you fit comot JT show people o :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:

But why don't clubs simply have their players' info displayed proudly on their websites?

You dey crase fa

maceo4 wrote:This is how you do things, you provide official documents to prove your point not what some journo (esp. Nigerian) wrote, as if that now makes it fact. If he has multiple declared/conflicting DOB's on official documents then I get your point, but when his official documents have been consistent you can't blame the boy for the inaccuracies some journo writes b/c some of our journo's would make Stephen Glass look like a saint.
Makes perfect sense but the problem here is very few people bother to follow these kind of stories to their logical conclusion.
They stick with the original story and even with all this, most will in years to come label him an 'age cheat' and every year, his age will grow by two or three years. :lol:

Finally, they will cite him as another example of how old men are 'beating' the MRI scan test.

Sorry to rain on the kumbaya parade here, but:

- You'll do know that anyone of us on this here forum can get a similar document declaring us 16yrs old within 48hrs; right?

So please lets stop with the horse$hit!!!!

If we want to use him, lets move on with it, but pls spare me this crap!!!

Sometimes I wonder what special thing makes us think we are deceiving anyone...

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

Russia strikes me as a tough first move to Europe for a young player. Wouldn't be my first choice if I had options.

Too late...
Apparently not too late, going by the report below..

Nigeria U23 coach Imama Amapakabo has invited 35 players to camp ahead of September’s Africa U-23 Cup of Nations third round qualifier against Sudan.

Topping the list are Akwa United’s Ndifreke Effiong, Abia Warriors’ Sunday Adetunji and Musa Suleiman of Katsina United.

Others are Joshua Agboola (Katsina United), Umar Abba (Wikki Tourists), Cletus Umotem (Rivers United), Muritala Tiye Yusuf (Shooting Stars), Michael Eranumu (Insurance FC) and Ibe Tobechukwu (Abia Warriors).

Invited players are expected to arrive at the Serob Legacy Hotel, Abuja on Thursday.

The Dream Team had scaled Libya hurdle in the second round, with Sudan dismissing Kenya over two legs.

Winner over two legs will qualify them for the third Africa U-23 Cup of Nations billed for Egypt in November. The competition determines Africa’s representatives at the Japan Olympics 2020 men’s football event.

Nigeria emerged as champions at the 2017 edition staged in Senegal, and went further winning a bronze medal at Rio Olympics.

FULL LIST

Adamu Abubakar (Wikki Tourists); Galadima Mohammed (Nasarawa United); Amos Obasoge (Insurance FC); John Lazarus (Lobi Stars); Etboy Akpan (Akwa United); Haruna Garba (Jordano FC); Abiodun Joseph (Sunshine Stars); Ebube Duru (Lobi Stars); Ojo Adebayo (Water FC); Joshua Akpedje (MFM FC); Ndah B (Remo Stars); Anumudu Udochukwu (Lobi Stars); Stephen Manyo (Enyimba FC); Family Ahmed (Adamawa United); Fatai Gbadamosi (Shooting Stars); Olatunji Oluwadamilare (Enyimba FC); Ndala Ibrahim (Nasarawa United); Seth Mayi (Remo Stars); William Ukeme (Wikki Tourists); Ibrahim Sanusi (Nasarawa United); Ndifreke Effiong (Akwa United); Sunday Adetunji (Abia Warriors); Musa Ronaldo Suleiman (Katsina United); Chibundu Amah (Sunshine Stars); Joshua Agboola (Katsina United); Umar Abba (Wikki Tourists); Cletus Umotem (Rivers United); Muritala Tiye Yusuf (Shooting Stars); Michael Eranumu (Insurance FC); Ibe Tobechukwu (Abia Warriors); Stephen Wisdom Ikechi (Wilbros FC); ThankGod Simon (MFM FC); Tofa Alhassan (Green Barrot); Adegboyega Semiu Dapo (Stationery Stores); Azeez Oseni (36 Lions)
https://www.yahoo.com/news/afcon-u23-ni ... 05116.html

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

Too late...

Nigeria U23 coach Imama Amapakabo has invited 35 players to camp ahead of September’s Africa U-23 Cup of Nations third round qualifier against Sudan.

Topping the list are Akwa United’s Ndifreke Effiong, Abia Warriors’ Sunday Adetunji and Musa Suleiman of Katsina United.

Others are Joshua Agboola (Katsina United), Umar Abba (Wikki Tourists), Cletus Umotem (Rivers United), Muritala Tiye Yusuf (Shooting Stars), Michael Eranumu (Insurance FC) and Ibe Tobechukwu (Abia Warriors).

Invited players are expected to arrive at the Serob Legacy Hotel, Abuja on Thursday.

The Dream Team had scaled Libya hurdle in the second round, with Sudan dismissing Kenya over two legs.

Winner over two legs will qualify them for the third Africa U-23 Cup of Nations billed for Egypt in November. The competition determines Africa’s representatives at the Japan Olympics 2020 men’s football event.

Nigeria emerged as champions at the 2017 edition staged in Senegal, and went further winning a bronze medal at Rio Olympics.

FULL LIST

Adamu Abubakar (Wikki Tourists); Galadima Mohammed (Nasarawa United); Amos Obasoge (Insurance FC); John Lazarus (Lobi Stars); Etboy Akpan (Akwa United); Haruna Garba (Jordano FC); Abiodun Joseph (Sunshine Stars); Ebube Duru (Lobi Stars); Ojo Adebayo (Water FC); Joshua Akpedje (MFM FC); Ndah B (Remo Stars); Anumudu Udochukwu (Lobi Stars); Stephen Manyo (Enyimba FC); Family Ahmed (Adamawa United); Fatai Gbadamosi (Shooting Stars); Olatunji Oluwadamilare (Enyimba FC); Ndala Ibrahim (Nasarawa United); Seth Mayi (Remo Stars); William Ukeme (Wikki Tourists); Ibrahim Sanusi (Nasarawa United); Ndifreke Effiong (Akwa United); Sunday Adetunji (Abia Warriors); Musa Ronaldo Suleiman (Katsina United); Chibundu Amah (Sunshine Stars); Joshua Agboola (Katsina United); Umar Abba (Wikki Tourists); Cletus Umotem (Rivers United); Muritala Tiye Yusuf (Shooting Stars); Michael Eranumu (Insurance FC); Ibe Tobechukwu (Abia Warriors); Stephen Wisdom Ikechi (Wilbros FC); ThankGod Simon (MFM FC); Tofa Alhassan (Green Barrot); Adegboyega Semiu Dapo (Stationery Stores); Azeez Oseni (36 Lions)
I think you're getting our U23's mixed up with the U20's

Too late...

FULL LIST

Two DIFFERENT teams....

The U20 are presently in Morocco for the AAG, where they’ve already played their first game...
Meanwhile, that is the list of home-based prospects for the U23 qualifiers against Sudan next month.

Too late...

FULL LIST

Two DIFFERENT teams....

The U20 are presently in Morocco for the AAG, where they’ve already played their first game...
Meanwhile, that is the list of home-based prospects for the U23 qualifiers against Sudan next month.
A 16-yr old invited to U-23 team; a starter in the NPFL and a top scorer to boot...

ok ooooo...

txj wrote:A 16-yr old invited to U-23 team; a starter in the NPFL and a top scorer to boot...

ok ooooo...
Aren't you same person who mantras on that "if he's good enough, he's old enough"?! :blink:

txj wrote:A 16-yr old invited to U-23 team; a starter in the NPFL and a top scorer to boot...

ok ooooo...
Aren't you same person who mantras on that "if he's good enough, he's old enough"?! :blink:
You can never win with these guys...

ok ooooo...

ok ooooo...

The question is not whether he is old enough for U-23 team, but whether he truly belongs to the U17 team...

Something does not smell right here...

I was informed this morning that Manu has "dropped" Sanusi and he's now with the U23s.

Something strange also happened today....Seyi Akinwunmi shut down the ongoing "screening" exercise for the Eaglets. Not sure if he wants to stop the money making charade or if he has his own selfish interest. We shall see.

Not sure why he's being dropped.

All his records for the past 2 years with the NFF has shown a consistent birthday. That was the initial discussion in the thread.

Those who don't believe a 17 year old can score 10 goal in a league should explain why Lukaku at 16 was the highest goalscorer in the Belgian league. If we are to believe the Nigerian league is very poor (because of a host of reasons) then it makes sense to me that exceptional talents will stand out early regardless of age.

It seems he was dropped because the NFF has an official policy to exclude NPL players from the U17 team.