There is no Improvement

What was the tactical difference between the world cup team, the nations cup team and the team, today?

Are you guys just hoping that we will luck our way to trophies? or are you hoping that one day one day, you will fall asleep and dream and see an improvement in your dream??

How can there be no improvement in more than 3 years and you guys are quiet, hoping that one day the team will improve tatically? That actually a serious question because I dont understand where you guys are getting your confidence from. Is 3 years not enough for you to look and see that tactically, we are stagnant? I know some CE members who support Rohr have openly said that they do not expect us to win trophies because our players are average. For those of us who are winners and who know that our players are very talented and who demand trophies, are we just going to keep quiet and be looking as we turn into Belgium? Rui Costa's Portugal and Spain of old?

They agreed that he is tactically inept, so they sent him for refresher course after he was shown to be an oaf at the nations cup. Did you guys see anything refreshing in his tactics today????
Re: There is no f**king Improvement

You need to realize that Nigeria players aren’t “world beaters” today, we played a team that’s ranked higher than us, at their Home turf and got a draw (a fair result) instead you’re denigrating your coach. The high time Nigerians get it in their skull that we’re ranked 33rd in the world, 3rd in Africa the better for us. We don’t even have any superstars or any player at WORLDCLASS clubs and you expect your team to be beating anyone at their home turf. For me, Rohr has done a significant job with these average players and there’s always room for improvement. However, it’s up to Nigerians to stop setting DELUSIONAL expectations for their team and getting offended when their team don’t meet those expectations.

1) Argentina vs Nigeria - player v player, (they’re better) club wise (They’re better) Fifa ranking (they’re better) but because your coach lost to them, His at fault (keep being delusional)

2) Croatia vs Nigeria - player v player (they’re better) Club wise (They’re better) FIFA ranking (They’re better) but because you lost to Croatia, it’s your coach fault. Ngwa continue.

As a team, you should always believe, aspire, and hope that you can defeat any team on any given day. But, Losing to a superior team shouldn’t be enough reasons why your coach should be denigrated. The loss to Madagascar is the one that’s unacceptable and could be understood but that game was irrelevant because we had already Qualified

john12 wrote:1) Argentina vs Nigeria - player v player, (they’re better) club wise (They’re better) Fifa ranking (they’re better) but because your coach lost to them, His at fault (keep being delusional)

2) Croatia vs Nigeria - player v player (they’re better) Club wise (They’re better) FIFA ranking (They’re better) but because you lost to Croatia, it’s your coach fault. Ngwa continue.

As a team, you should always believe, aspire, and hope that you can defeat any team on any given day. But, Losing to a superior team shouldn’t be enough reasons why your coach should be denigrated. The loss to Madagascar is the one that’s unacceptable and could be understood but that game was irrelevant because we had already Qualified
Madagascar is waiting for you :)

I agree with dd to an extent, the defensive solidity of the team used to be Rohr's hallmark but we seem to be going backwards in that regard.
Re: There is no Improvement

9 goals in 5 matches the defense has let in. We don't have a clue on how to control the game...this is ****'s tactics...pack the defense with 9 players and play one long ball to Osimhen.. just look at how Ukraine carved the defense open

Azerbaijan held Croatia to a draw..let that sink in

Zelex

Post by Zelex »

I thought the backline in the 1st half was all over the place. Struggled to cope with any off the ball movement. Despite the 2 goals conceded in the 2nd half, the defence were a more cohesive unit but still much work to do.

I'm not sure we saw anything tactically different that we haven't seen from Rohr and I don't think we will. What we will have to hope is that existing players hopefully improve and better quality players appear in the near future who will allow Rohr to execute his tactics better. I don't really expect much change from Rohr himself in terms of approach, it will be more of the same.
Zelex-CE World Cup 2010 prediction Winner
http://forum.cybereagles.com/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=177767

Rohr has overstayed his welcome. A word is enough for the wise.

How does one explain drawing a match that should have been tied up with at least 4 goals in the first half?

Zelex wrote:I thought the backline in the 1st half was all over the place. Struggled to cope with any off the ball movement. Despite the 2 goals conceded in the 2nd half, the defence were a more cohesive unit but still much work to do.

I'm not sure we saw anything tactically different that we haven't seen from Rohr and I don't think we will. What we will have to hope is that existing players hopefully improve and better quality players appear in the near future who will allow Rohr to execute his tactics better. I don't really expect much change from Rohr himself in terms of approach, it will be more of the same.
Bro, let me leave you a quote from a business coach:
No one ever became successful due to hope!
TUFIAKWA! WTFFFFF!!???? What is happening to us??!! we used to be winners! We used to demand trophies! Even when we were useless, we were in denial! Now, we are hoping! Bro! Hoping doesnt work! let me say that again, hoping has never and will never ever work! You cant hope your way to success when other teams are actually drawing up strategy! Kaiii!!!! my GOD! :oops:

Zelex wrote:I thought the backline in the 1st half was all over the place. Struggled to cope with any off the ball movement. Despite the 2 goals conceded in the 2nd half, the defence were a more cohesive unit but still much work to do.

Also, did they not spend our money to send him to refresher course? What is the point if the man will not change?

cchinukw wrote:Rohr has overstayed his welcome. A word is enough for the wise.

How does one explain drawing a match that should have been tied up with at least 4 goals in the first half?
Unfortunately, Nigerians need to be buried deep inside the pit before they know that there is a hole on the floor.

There is greater flexibility and variety in the attacking game, but like many things from this manager, not nearly enough. That front three needs a much more fungible attacking pattern of play...

But the overall tactical organization of the team, when not in possession remains haphazard, to be kind...

The squad development and progression is very impressive; but any good news here is negated by the fact that much, much more can be done with this assemblage...

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

If you crooks like make una complain from now until 2022 ROhR ain’t inviting your players. The days of unmerited players bribing coaches for selection is over for now

john12 wrote:If you crooks like make una complain from now until 2022 ROhR ain’t inviting your players. The days of unmerited players bribing coaches for selection is over for now
Dude, please...

Take your sycophancy to R&R; I'm sure Lolly will welcome you with open arms...

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

john12 wrote:If you crooks like make una complain from now until 2022 ROhR ain’t inviting your players. The days of unmerited players bribing coaches for selection is over for now
Dude, please...

So you can be the only ITK here to mesmerize danfo with gibberish unchallenged?
blueangel

Post by blueangel »

Lets look at Ukraine,

Were they better organised ?

Their defense was very porous.

If our players were not selfish in the Ukraine 18 yard box, or the point blank header was scored, Ukraine fans for burn that stadium down with the 5-0 in the first half dem for collect from our Super Eagles.

It appears we were sitting back and letting them come to us.

Ukraine definitely pass the ball brilliantly when attacking but we definitely were not out coached.

The biggest problem as usual is timely substitution by Rohr.
Also why him no play all those players on the bench like Ukraine did ?

Well until Rohr's contract ends, there's little or nothing you and I can do except he gets sacked(which is unlikely). Much to his credit, he has discovered a crop - almost a generation of young and very talented players who are in their prime to hit that plateau of a golden generation... And I agree with you that having Rohr as coach, is the lowest glass ceiling for us right now if we hope to win trophies and compete among the best( it's not too unrealistic to set such standards for ourselves)... but he's got only one year left on his contract I believe, so we might as well just hang in there till he's gone for good... and the next available "world class" coach/manager comes along.

blueangel wrote:Lets look at Ukraine,

If our players were not selfish in the Ukraine 18 yard box, or the point blank header was scored, Ukraine fans for burn that stadium down with the 5-0 in the first half dem for collect from our Super Eagles.

Ukraine definitely pass the ball brilliantly when attacking but we definitely were not out coached.

On fair balance of the game, the result would have been Nigeria 5 vs Ukraine 2 cause we created far better chances but for the selfishness of our forwards, especially Chukwueze.
kali

Post by kali »

There is improvement:

1) More direct attacking dribbling into the box rather than the passing we saw of the old eagles

2) Better combination in the attack which has 3 bonafide ballers in Iwobi, Kalu and Chukwueze

3) A box-to-box midfielder who joins the attack and doesnt stop at the edge of the box like Ndidi or Etebo or slows down the pace like Mikel.

4) A central forward who is fast enough to join the attack of the 3 men behind him.

Future is bright for the Eagles who are now looking super again. The entire backline should be overhauled. They were caught napping on several occasions by Ukraine.

Dude, please...

Lolly will welcome him with lollipop :rotf: :rotf: :oops: :oops:

Ukraine were better organized than us, 100% and had better control. You could tell that it was a very well coached side and I am shocked because I even forgot that their coach was Shevchenko, until I saw him yesterday. To think he has only been coaching for 3 years and he made our old donkey look like a buffoon!

Yes, our first goal was brilliant skill from our players. However, most of our chances came from counter-attack when Ukraine had to push forward to get goals, since they were playing at home.

danfo driver wrote:Ukraine were better organized than us, 100% and had better control. You could tell that it was a very well coached side and I am shocked because I even forgot that their coach was Shevchenko, until I saw him yesterday. To think he has only been coaching for 3 years and he made our old donkey look like a buffoon!

Yes, our first goal was brilliant skill from our players. However, most of our chances came from counter-attack when Ukraine had to push forward to get goals, since they were playing at home.

so on fair balance of play, if both teams had taken their missed chances... what do you think the ideal scoreline would be? forget your dislike for Rohr for a second and be honest.

Also consider the fact that we had a pretty much novice squad of younglings with no real leadership or experience, I'm sure that Ukraine team was far more experienced than we were, and definitely had the home advantage as well!