Dennerby dumps Super Falcons

Next
Dennerby dumps Super Falcons

Post by Next »

Super Falcons Coach, Thomas Dennerby has left the country unceremoniously over claims that some influential members of the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) were interfering in his work.

https://www.vanguardngr.com/2019/09/den ... r-falcons/
Super Falcons Coach, Thomas Dennerby has left the country unceremoniously over claims that some influential members of the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) were interfering in his work.

A source close to the NFF said the Swede, who led Nigeria to yet another African Women Nations Cup triumph last year and the round of 16 at the France 2019 Women World Cup, left the country immediately after Nigeria’s Tokyo 2020 Olympics qualifier against Algeria at the Agege Stadium on September 3. “Dennerby complained that some NFF officials were making his job difficult for some selfish reasons.

“These officials ensured that some players, who complained that they were being owed allowances and winning bonuses were shut out of the national team. These officials wield enormous power in the women teams. “He got angry that these people had taken their activities to his team selection and decided the best thing to do was to go away. But we are trying to talk to him and address his concerns in the interest of the nation,” the source said. Before he left, Dennerby was preparing the Super Falcons for a Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games qualifier against Cote d’Ivoire for which the federation recently invited 30 overseas and home-based players to camp. The players, according to the NFF, are expected to arrive in camp today.
TERRORISM is the WAR of the POOR while WAR is the TERRORISM of the RICH!

The Best Quotes For Me So Far: "I was born here but brought up as an African. When you reach adulthood you either feel African or you don't, and it's not worth playing if you don't have that feeling." Efan Ekoku
Re: Dennerby dumps Super Falcons

Next wrote:Super Falcons Coach, Thomas Dennerby has left the country unceremoniously over claims that some influential members of the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) were interfering in his work.

https://www.vanguardngr.com/2019/09/den ... r-falcons/

A source close to the NFF said the Swede, who led Nigeria to yet another African Women Nations Cup triumph last year and the round of 16 at the France 2019 Women World Cup, left the country immediately after Nigeria’s Tokyo 2020 Olympics qualifier against Algeria at the Agege Stadium on September 3. “Dennerby complained that some NFF officials were making his job difficult for some selfish reasons.

“These officials ensured that some players, who complained that they were being owed allowances and winning bonuses were shut out of the national team. These officials wield enormous power in the women teams. “He got angry that these people had taken their activities to his team selection and decided the best thing to do was to go away. But we are trying to talk to him and address his concerns in the interest of the nation,” the source said. Before he left, Dennerby was preparing the Super Falcons for a Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games qualifier against Cote d’Ivoire for which the federation recently invited 30 overseas and home-based players to camp. The players, according to the NFF, are expected to arrive in camp today.
Typical Nigerian big men, their selfish interest before that of the nation. Just like we did in 2002 WC, where our best players were left behind because some big man was upset.

Dnerby, don't let the door hit you

Addition by subtraction

Fantastically corrupt people. :lol:

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

Lolly wrote:Fantastically corrupt people. :lol:
It’s abuse of power rather than financial corruption...
Sadly, it’s virtually cultural in Nigeria that if “underlings” protest for their rights, it’s seen as an “insult” to Oga! :oops:

Oguleftie

Post by Oguleftie »

I agree to everything said thus far.
But let me add another dimension to it.

Dennerby taught (before coming to naija) that he will have good players so he can coach; unfortunately that is not the case & he must have to train/develop average players to good players which he cannot do and has never done, plus the alternative was to search for players outside the normal circle which he will be unable to do especially as a foreigner.
His time period in Sweden were with good to very good players where he only had to coach not train & develop.

Therefore dumping the Falcons will also be a way to breathe a sign of relief as well as an escape.

And where did you pull this theory of yours out from? Your posterior?
Nigeria DOES have good enough players. The issue is Nigerians in power have hidden agendas when it comes to selecting the best candidates for the job (Nepotism, Tribalism, Favoritism, etc). 'Bigmanism' also seems to have played a role in this case, as Gotti pointed out. They tried superimposing their will on the guy, maybe because he looks like he can easily be pushed over.

The guy looked like he enjoyed working with the girls, so I am not sure I agree with you on your 'sigh of relief' comment.
Oguleftie wrote:I agree to everything said thus far.

Dennerby taught (before coming to naija) that he will have good players so he can coach; unfortunately that is not the case & he must have to train/develop average players to good players which he cannot do and has never done, plus the alternative was to search for players outside the normal circle which he will be unable to do especially as a foreigner.
His time period in Sweden were with good to very good players where he only had to coach not train & develop.

Therefore dumping the Falcons will also be a way to breathe a sign of relief as well as an escape.

May God forgive you for speaking evil of the dead.
Oguleftie wrote:
Otitokoro wrote:And where did you pull this theory of yours out from? Your posterior?
Nigeria DOES have good enough players. The issue is Nigerians in power have hidden agendas when it comes to selecting the best candidates for the job (Nepotism, Tribalism, Favoritism, etc). 'Bigmanism' also seems to have played a role in this case, as Gotti pointed out. They tried superimposing their will on the guy, maybe because he looks like he can easily be pushed over.

The guy looked like he enjoyed working with the girls, so I am not sure I agree with you on your 'sigh of relief' comment.
Oguleftie wrote:I agree to everything said thus far.

SUSPENSION
SUSPENSION
must happen now in few seconds .....counting down
Let’s see if mods are cowards like I hear all the time

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."

jette1 wrote:SUSPENSION
SUSPENSION
must happen now in few seconds .....counting down
Let’s see if mods are cowards like I hear all the time
Whatever it was, it must have been deleted. Can't take action without evidence.

The guy was a poor coach. He should have been outright fired.

But we are trying to talk to him and address his concerns in the interest of the nation,” the source said.

Nigerians seem to have a penchant for begging foreign coaches (Lagerbeck, Rohr to mention a few (with Togo it was their WC2006 German coach)). By contrast, a Nigerian coach who indicates he might resign is treated with contempt. Looking back at France 2019, it's hard to see what improvements the gentleman brought to the Falcons, notwithstanding the Fox commentator who saw his hiring as a sign or progress. I say, stay with a Nigerian woman (or man) as coach - the performance can't be much worse. I want to tell the unnamed spokesman who says this humiliating begging is being done for the national interest to speak for his timid self.

Lolly wrote:Fantastically corrupt people. :lol:
It’s abuse of power rather than financial corruption...
Sadly, it’s virtually cultural in Nigeria that if “underlings” protest for their rights, it’s seen as an “insult” to Oga! :oops:
:clap: :agree: :clap: :agree: :clap: :clap: :clap:

The highlighted sums up why progress in everything we do is very slow.
Even some 'ogas' herein are noted for using the same mentality to threaten banning forum members.