LIST FOR CHAN QUALIFIER

Imama Amapakabo’s list of 20 home-based players for Sunday’s qualifier in Lomé against Togo...
The squad is primarily made up of the home-based U23 players, plus a handful of senior players.

The same squad is likely to prosecute the WAFU Cup of Nations beginning the following Saturday (September 28) in Senegal.

Players from Enugu Rangers (the BEST ball-playing club in Nigeria) were ostensibly excluded from consideration because of the club’s current involvement in the ongoing CAF Confederation Cup (with a crucial second-leg game coming up on September 29). Curiously however it did not seem to prevent the inclusion of Enyimba players (albeit not the top players at Enyimba).

Akwa United had 6 players selected, followed by Enyimba with 4 players, and Lobi Stars had 3 players. Even ‘common’ 3SC had an invitee, so obviously he won’t remain at the club for much longer.

FULL LIST

Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Heartland); Adamu Abubakar (Wikki Tourists); Theophilus Afelokhai (Enyimba); Olu Olatunji (Enyimba); Stephen Manyo (Enyimba); Reuben Bala (Enyimba); John Lazarus (Lobi Stars); Ebube Duru (Lobi Stars); Sikiru Alimi (Lobi Stars); Olisa Ndah (Remo Stars); Seth Mayi (Remo Stars); Fatai Gbadamosi (3SC); Etboy Akpan (Akwa United); Mfon Udoh (Akwa United); Ndifreke Effiong (Akwa United); Denis Okon (Akwa United); Samuel Matthias (Akwa United); William Ukeme (Wikki Tourists); Tosin Omoyele (Plateau United); and Chisom Orji (Collin Edwin Academy).

Re: LIST FOR CHAN QUALIFIER

Nice squad. Watch out for Olisa Ndah. Very good Centreback who has been outstanding for the U23s.

I see that Sanusi Ibrahim didn't make the cut. That's a bit of a surprise.

Gotti wrote:Imama Amapakabo’s list of 20 home-based players for Sunday’s qualifier in Lomé against Togo...
The squad is primarily made up of the home-based U23 players, plus a handful of senior players.

The same squad is likely to prosecute the WAFU Cup of Nations beginning the following Saturday (September 28) in Senegal.

Players from Enugu Rangers (the BEST ball-playing club in Nigeria) were ostensibly excluded from consideration because of the club’s current involvement in the ongoing CAF Confederation Cup (with a crucial second-leg game coming up on September 29). Curiously however it did not seem to prevent the inclusion of Enyimba players (albeit not the top players at Enyimba).

Akwa United had 6 players selected, followed by Enyimba with 4 players, and Lobi Stars had 3 players. Even ‘common’ 3SC had an invitee, so obviously he won’t remain at the club for much longer.

FULL LIST

Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Heartland); Adamu Abubakar (Wikki Tourists); Theophilus Afelokhai (Enyimba); Olu Olatunji (Enyimba); Stephen Manyo (Enyimba); Reuben Bala (Enyimba); John Lazarus (Lobi Stars); Ebube Duru (Lobi Stars); Sikiru Alimi (Lobi Stars); Olisa Ndah (Remo Stars); Seth Mayi (Remo Stars); Fatai Gbadamosi (3SC); Etboy Akpan (Akwa United); Mfon Udoh (Akwa United); Ndifreke Effiong (Akwa United); Denis Okon (Akwa United); Samuel Matthias (Akwa United); William Ukeme (Wikki Tourists); Tosin Omoyele (Plateau United); and Chisom Orji (Collin Edwin Academy).
I protest!

So Salisu Yusuf is now the U23 coach? They are saying his contract will not allow them to sack him.

What a load of rubbish?

I guess they can't put him on paid leave until the end of his contract. I highly doubt the NFF will agree to a contract that prevents them from removing some one that was found guilty of collecting bribe or even placing the person on paid leave or even demoting the person to an assistant coach or back back back room staffer.

Gotti wrote:Imama Amapakabo’s list of 20 home-based players for Sunday’s qualifier in Lomé against Togo...

FULL LIST

Good list. Should get the job done!

Meanwhile, Gotti, you must be stuck in the 70's with whatever description you gave Rainjazz up there. Even then, I heard it was 'police ball' all the way.

I didn't see all the good players from last season in the Confed Cup. No Bobby Clement, No Uchebo, No Aguda. Unless they were injured or rested, it will be tough for them on the continent.

Are you sure Imama is still not holding a grudge against the club that fired him after he won the title for them?

truetalk wrote:

FULL LIST

Good list. Should get the job done!

Meanwhile, Gotti, you must be stuck in the 70's with whatever description you gave Rainjazz up there. Even then, I heard it was 'police ball' all the way.

I didn't see all the good players from last season in the Confed Cup. No Bobby Clement, No Uchebo, No Aguda. Unless they were injured or rested, it will be tough for them on the continent.

Are you sure Imama is still not holding a grudge against the club that fired him after he won the title for them?

You have to understand that this team is part CHAN and part U23 for logistical reasons as well as continuing to prepare the Home Based U23s for the African Tournament which will decide who qualifies for the Olympics. I suspect that next Months WAFU Nations Cup will largely be prosecuted with U23s as well.

No Sharks ..I mean Rivers United players? I smell something fishy.
ukwala

Post by ukwala »

This list highlights the high rate of exodus of players from the local league and why it is difficult to see a home-based player in the SE. Before they settle into any form of rhythm, they are off. The following players starred in the last CHAN finals just over a year ago but today they are foreign-based; Ikouwem Utin, Stephen Eze, Ifeanyi Ifeanyi, Anthony Okpotu, Sunday Faleye and Gabriel Okechukwu. Really tough on the local league and tough on the CHAN team as they have to rebuild every year.

ohenhen1 wrote:So Salisu Yusuf is now the U23 coach? They are saying his contract will not allow them to sack him.

What a load of rubbish?

I guess they can't put him on paid leave until the end of his contract. I highly doubt the NFF will agree to a contract that prevents them from removing some one that was found guilty of collecting bribe or even placing the person on paid leave or even demoting the person to an assistant coach or back back back room staffer.
For where! Imama is both CHAN and U23 coach. Try to keep up.

truetalk wrote:Good list. Should get the job done!

Bobby Clement and Aguda are off to sample Middle East money...
While I have no idea where Uchebo is (he mostly underperformed anyway).

We have Pascal Seka returning though, and have been reinforced with many new players including new strikers Dauda Madaki, Ibrahim Olawoyin, Chinonso Ezeikwe and Kehinde Adedipe.

Nigerian clubs on the continent this season have suffered from the fact that the NPFL season have yet to commence and thus are short of competitive games, but we should be very competitive this season.

Polly

Post by Polly »

ukwala wrote:This list highlights the high rate of exodus of players from the local league and why it is difficult to see a home-based player in the SE. Before they settle into any form of rhythm, they are off. The following players starred in the last CHAN finals just over a year ago but today they are foreign-based; Ikouwem Utin, Stephen Eze, Ifeanyi Ifeanyi, Anthony Okpotu, Sunday Faleye and Gabriel Okechukwu. Really tough on the local league and tough on the CHAN team as they have to rebuild every year.
Abeg na which club sign Gabriel Okechukwu? I really admire his potential.

ukwala wrote:This list highlights the high rate of exodus of players from the local league and why it is difficult to see a home-based player in the SE. Before they settle into any form of rhythm, they are off. The following players starred in the last CHAN finals just over a year ago but today they are foreign-based; Ikouwem Utin, Stephen Eze, Ifeanyi Ifeanyi, Anthony Okpotu, Sunday Faleye and Gabriel Okechukwu. Really tough on the local league and tough on the CHAN team as they have to rebuild every year.
Don't know about starring at CHAN, maybe besides Eze and Faleye of those mentioned weren't too impressive imo especially with the likes of Atuloma, Dayo, Ali who did a lot more.
With teams like Enyimba, Rangers and Kano Pillars often competing for the league and on the continent, that gives our coaches quite the pool of experienced players to pick from along with our U23's and U20's. We've already gotten a glimpse of what Sunusi Ibrahim
ukwala

Post by ukwala »

Polly wrote:
Abeg na which club sign Gabriel Okechukwu? I really admire his potential.
Wydad Casablanca of Morocco.
ukwala

Post by ukwala »

Sunset wrote:
Don't know about starring at CHAN, maybe besides Eze and Faleye of those mentioned weren't too impressive imo especially with the likes of Atuloma, Dayo, Ali who did a lot more.
With teams like Enyimba, Rangers and Kano Pillars often competing for the league and on the continent, that gives our coaches quite the pool of experienced players to pick from along with our U23's and U20's. We've already gotten a glimpse of what Sunusi Ibrahim
Fair enough, just that I think if previous teams' good players were still available, the team would be even stronger and perhaps be able to provide a more credible supply/competition source for the SE. The CHAN team currently operates like the age-grade teams where you use new players in successive competitions and the better players disappear to low visibility leagues and eventually drop out of national consciousness.
Zelex

Post by Zelex »

Currently Togo 3-1 Nigeria.
Zelex-CE World Cup 2010 prediction Winner
http://forum.cybereagles.com/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=177767
Zelex

Post by Zelex »

Togo 4-1 Nigeria. FT

Poor... :oops:

Need a 3-0 win in the return leg which is hopefully is doable.
Zelex-CE World Cup 2010 prediction Winner
http://forum.cybereagles.com/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=177767

No Kayode?

Zelex wrote:Togo 4-1 Nigeria. FT

Poor... :oops:

Need a 3-0 win in the return leg which is hopefully is doable.
Conceded 3 goals in the final 15 minutes or so... :oops:
Difficult but not insurmountable to overturn the deficit next weekend.

Unlike the U23 team (overturning away defeats against Libya and Sudan) this team can’t be bailed out by more professional and productive players that play outside Nigeria!

https://www.futaa.com/article/193963/ni ... of-nations
Nigeria arrive in Dakar for WAFU Cup of Nations
Futaa.com Thu Sep 26, 2019 Israel Iko

Nigeria will compete at the 2nd WAFU-FOX Cup of Nations starting in the Senegalese city of Thies on Saturday, 28th September and the home-based senior players have arrived in Dakar ahead of the tournament.

A team of 21 players and six officials flew by Air Cote d’Ivoire early on Thursday morning from Abuja to Abidjan, and then connected the Senegalese capital by the same airline.

The updated fixtures show that Nigeria, silver medallists at the inaugural edition staged in Cape Coast, Ghana two years ago, will tango with the Sparrow Hawks of Togo in their first match of the competition at the Stade Lat Dior Thies on Sunday.

It is an opportunity come quickly for the Eagles to avenge their 4-1 lashing by the Hawks in a 2020 African Nations Championship qualifying match in Lome last Sunday.

Victory over the Sparrows in the first elimination round will take the Eagles to the second phase, before the semi finals and the final. The tournament ends on 13th October.

All 16 participating teams will partake in the first elimination round, with host nation Senegal up against Guinea Bissau, Burkina Faso against Mauritania, Cote d’Ivoire against Cape Verde and Guinea against Benin Republic.

Sierra Leone, drafted in to replace Morocco that executed a late withdrawal, will be up against Liberia, while Mali takes on Niger Republic and Gambia will tackle Ghana.

21 EAGLES B FOR WAFU CUP
Goalkeepers:
Adamu Abubakar (Wikki Tourists); Galadima Mohammed (Nasarawa United); Theophilus Afelokhai (Enyimba FC)

Defenders: Olisa Ndah (Remo Stars); Stephen Manyo (Enyimba FC); Udochukwu Anumudu (Lobi Stars); Okon Nya (Akwa United); Ebube Duru (Lobi Stars); Etboy Akpan (Akwa United); John Lazarus (Lobi Stars);

Midfielders: Sikiru Alimi (Lobi Stars); Fatai Gbadamosi (Shooting Stars); Williams Ukeme (Wikki Tourists); Ndifreke Effiong (Akwa United); Chisom Orji (Collin Edwin Academy); Olatunji Oluwadamilare (Enyimba FC); Samuel Matthias (Akwa United)

Forwards: Sunusi Ibrahim (Nasarawa United); Seth Mayi (Remo Stars); Tosin Omoyele (Plateau United); Mfon Udoh (Akwa United)
Last edited by Gotti on Thu Sep 26, 2019 10:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.

No Olufemi Kayode?

The game will be on ESPN+ today 12:55

WAFU CUP OF NATIONS
12:55 PM
Nigeria vs. Togo (Phase 1)