Page 2 of 2

Re: Brazil names Neymar, Firmino etc vs Nigeria

Posted: Sat Sep 21, 2019 9:32 am
by Adisboy
maceo4 wrote:They'll probably use some of the stars for Senegal and try the rest vs Naija. But I like the fact that each segment of the team has at least one player listed, they really support their local league even though they have a battalion of players abroad they don't have to call local ones.
em they've won more world cups with local players, go check out the 2002 WC squad ....their League is one of the top leagues in world football....
Thats my point now, they can name a team full of only foreign based Brazilians at anytime if they wanted, but they always make sure they include home based, that is something we need to build towards to actually be a top team in world footie we can't forgo our local league for foreign left-overs...
That is the wrong point. The Brazilian league is of a very high level infact in the best 10 in the world. Neymar was already a global superstar in playing in Brazil, while Dani Alves has gone back to Santos. They chose the best players no matter where they play. There is no special consideration for the local league. Why would they chose a foreign based player when the local league player is better and of higher quality? So saying that they have some sort of quota considered for homebased,as some people suggest we should to in Nigeria, is not the case. It's based solely on quality. A country in a similar scenario to them is France.

Posted: Sat Sep 21, 2019 1:16 pm
by maceo4
Adisboy wrote:
maceo4 wrote:They'll probably use some of the stars for Senegal and try the rest vs Naija. But I like the fact that each segment of the team has at least one player listed, they really support their local league even though they have a battalion of players abroad they don't have to call local ones.
em they've won more world cups with local players, go check out the 2002 WC squad ....their League is one of the top leagues in world football....
Thats my point now, they can name a team full of only foreign based Brazilians at anytime if they wanted, but they always make sure they include home based, that is something we need to build towards to actually be a top team in world footie we can't forgo our local league for foreign left-overs...
That is the wrong point. The Brazilian league is of a very high level infact in the best 10 in the world. Neymar was already a global superstar in playing in Brazil, while Dani Alves has gone back to Santos. They chose the best players no matter where they play. There is no special consideration for the local league. Why would they chose a foreign based player when the local league player is better and of higher quality? So saying that they have some sort of quota considered for homebased,as some people suggest we should to in Nigeria, is not the case. It's based solely on quality. A country in a similar scenario to them is France.
That's just not accurate they are not just picking the best available players, they are actual picking with an aim to build for the future as well as support their local league. I wouldn't call it a quota system, but there is a lot of politics in the Brazilian NT selection. Look at their 2002 winning team or better yet the one that won the last Copa, the majority of the starters were the players from Europe, the local players are usually just there for the exposure with an effort to prepare the best of those for a move into Europe. Aside from Everton most of the local based players did not feature significantly. There is almost a view that if you are in Europe but wouldn't be a bonafide starter on the team then its better for your spot to rather be filled by a local young player. Take for example the case of Willian at the last Copa, he wasn't initially selected so by your logic he wasn't one of the best Brazilians available, but was called in last minute to replace injured Neymar. And guess what? He got way more PT than the so called 'better' local guys that were initially picked ahead of him.

There are a ton of good Brazilian players in Europe that could make at least the bench of their NT, but they would rather choose a local player to build for the future and support their league. This is why a lot of very good Brazilian players in Europe end up choosing to represent other national teams from Pepe, to Thiago Alacantara, to Diego Costa, to Jorginho etc because of the politics of Brazilian selection and the fact that they do prefer to support their local league.

Posted: Sat Sep 21, 2019 2:48 pm
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote::scared: :scared: :scared:
:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: This one was hoping that his massa will continue to play easy teams and keep his job.

Like I said, these horrid human beings who support that thing are not interested in Nigeria's improvement or our success. They are not interested in trophies. Their sole interest is that their massa has a job. simple as that.

Posted: Sun Sep 22, 2019 1:49 pm
by kalani JR
metalalloy wrote:Time don reach wey one African team suppose waz the full Brazilian NT. Either Senegal or Naija must come correct next month. :curse:
metalalloy,

Cameroon did that already at the Confederations Cup the year Marc Vivien Foe died.

OH yea i remember that with etoo scoring a ridiculous volley. Been a minute though
So if we HAVE to sacrifice a player who will you choose?

I'm just speaking hypothetically our words obviously won't have any bearing.

Sacrifice? i offer you... hypothetically of course.
I probably wouldn't mind, after all I am always proud to aid my country. My answer would typically be Godwin Okpara but it's slightly harder with current SEs.

Posted: Sun Sep 22, 2019 4:11 pm
by cchinukw
Someone really doesn't like Rohr. Me self dey pity am. :atc: