England, Nigeria and Canada join the chase!!

England, Nigeria and Canada are in a three-way tussle for the services of Fikayo Tomori, with the Chelsea centre-half's impressive displays putting him on Gareth Southgate's radar.

Tomori, who was born in Canada to Nigerian parents, but the family moved to Gravesend when he was a baby, had played for Canada's Under 20 team and for England's Under 20 and Under 21 teams.

But as with Tammy Abraham, Nigeria are pressing hard to recruit two of Chelsea's progress. Abraham has played for the England senior team but has yet to play in a competitive match and so can switch nationalities under FIFA rules,

Tomori is non-committal at present and said: 'I'm a citizen of all three [countries] so we'll see. I was born in Canada and lived there about seven or eight months old. My family is Nigerian, obviously I live in England. It's nice to have that. I can't play Under-21 football anymore so the last international break I didn't get called up to anyone. Next one maybe we'll see.'
His manager Frank Lampard has tipped him to be good enough to make the cut for England but insists he won't try to influence his decision.

Lampard said: 'It's his choice. I wouldn't tell him where to play internationally. But he's played for [England] Under-21s and if he continues with his form and keeps improving then of course I would expect there to be potential for England if Gareth chooses to select him.

'He shouldn't worry about it at the minute. He should just worry about how he's playing every game or how he trains every day and That will be a nice problem for him, hopefully, if he's eligible for three. He can chose which one he wants.'
https://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/footb ... omori.html

Re: England, Nigeria and Canada join the chase!!

Na wa for agents o..

There is no chase. He's already an England u21 player. Leave him alone to face his career with Englandi

We don't need these guys. They aren't good enough

He’s an England training prop!

Eaglezbeak wrote:He’s an England training prop!
But a sure starter for Canada :thumb:

:roll:

Develop our own players and stop using English academy to build our team.

I never seen someone pocket Mo Salah so easily. Great pace. Everyone currently knows us for our slow defenders so me I no mind o.

greg wrote:I never seen someone pocket Mo Salah so easily. Great pace. Everyone currently knows us for our slow defenders so me I no mind o.
No mind dem!
If dem like, make dem chase am comot if he decides to don the GWG. :lol: :lol: :lol:

Until he opens his mouth to say he is not interested he remains a must get player. In fact we should have capped him from his Derby days. That boy is solid, at least in comparison to what we currently have.

Zelex

Post by Zelex »

greg wrote:I never seen someone pocket Mo Salah so easily. Great pace. Everyone currently knows us for our slow defenders so me I no mind o.
No mind dem!
If dem like, make dem chase am comot if he decides to don the GWG. :lol: :lol: :lol:
I don't think anyone is against or wouldn't support Tomori playing for the SE. Just a proportion of people don't believe in the idea of national teams "chasing" after players, which I can personally understand.
Zelex-CE World Cup 2010 prediction Winner
http://forum.cybereagles.com/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=177767
Zelex

Post by Zelex »

oloye wrote:Until he opens his mouth to say he is not interested he remains a must get player. In fact we should have capped him from his Derby days. That boy is solid, at least in comparison to what we currently have.
I genuinely find it hard to believe that Tomori hasn't been approached by the NFF if Semi Ajayi was capped last year whilst also playing for Rotherham last year in the championship. Tomori is embedded in the English youth set up. Played in the cup winning u-20 WC team back in 2017 and was a member of the u-21 Euro champ team during the summer. I would be very surprised if he committed to playing for the SE this early in his career (at least I wouldn't yet, If I was in shoes). He would definitely be good addition to the SE.
Zelex-CE World Cup 2010 prediction Winner
http://forum.cybereagles.com/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=177767

If you have “never seen” someone pocket Salah so easily, you are either lying, watched very little or Salah or you are a fooking agent. Which ever it is, you shouldn’t be posting on CE.

Then you didn't watch the recently concluded ANC! He may be good, but "pocketing" Mo Salah in one game cannot the be the basis to declare him good for the SE.

oloye wrote:Until he opens his mouth to say he is not interested he remains a must get player. In fact we should have capped him from his Derby days. That boy is solid, at least in comparison to what we currently have.
I mentioned this when he was the best player at Derby County last season. https://sports.yahoo.com/fikayo-tomori- ... 12780.html

.. But hey no. He's not a shiny 'look at me' type player that scores 30 goals a season so we don't need him. Now that he's establishing himself in Chelsea's first team it's time to run around like headless chickens to convince him to switch :lol:

I mentioned this when he was the best player at Derby County last season. https://sports.yahoo.com/fikayo-tomori- ... 12780.html

.. But hey no. He's not a shiny 'look at me' type player that scores 30 goals a season so we don't need him. Now that he's establishing himself in Chelsea's first team it's time to run around like headless chickens to convince him to switch :lol:
People have been talking about Tomori before you got on board last season.

Being the "best player" for a kick and rush rubbish Derby is not enough to play for Nigeria.

AND I have said this repeatedly, if anyone truky wants to play for Nigeria, they will. This is ridiculous! If Tomori wants to play for Nigeria, he will. Whether we went for him last year in Div 2 or whether we go for him this year in the EPL. its irrelevant. If he loves England, it doesnt matter when we go for him, he will reject us. And if he loves Nigeria, it doesnt matter when we go for him, he will wait for us.

No mind dem!
I swear.....funny people.

Benedict Iroha wrote:Develop our own players and stop using English academy to build our team.

SUCH A SIMPLE SOLUTION, BUT...

...it's seemingly lost on those in charge.

Being the "best player" for a kick and rush rubbish Derby is not enough to play for Nigeria.

AND I have said this repeatedly, if anyone truky wants to play for Nigeria, they will. This is ridiculous! If Tomori wants to play for Nigeria, he will. Whether we went for him last year in Div 2 or whether we go for him this year in the EPL. its irrelevant. If he loves England, it doesnt matter when we go for him, he will reject us. And if he loves Nigeria, it doesnt matter when we go for him, he will wait for us.
Whether he plays for his country or not is non of your business. You should focus on what you can do for your country beyond enjoying other people's sacrifices on the Internet. He can show you his father's, grand and great father's properties on ancestral ground in Nigeria if you want with his name on it.