UEFA/CAF U17: SENEGAL 4 vs EAGLETS 2

https://www.futaa.com/article/193965/ue ... -half-show
UEFA/CAF U17 tourney: Golden Eaglets succumb to Senegal's strong second half show
Futaa.com Thu Sep 26, 2019 Israel Iko

After two initial wins at the UEFA/CAF U17 tournament in Turkey, Nigeria's Golden Eaglets surrendered a 2-1 advantage at the end of first half to superior second half performance from Senegal to lose 4-2 in their last group game.

Signs that it could turn out a bad day in the office for the five –time world champions manifested when forward Wisdom Ubani picked up an injury during the team’s warm up exercise, which subsequently ruled him out of the game.

But despite the absence of Ubani, the Nigerian boys went into the game dictating the pace and opened scoring in the 13th minute through red hot attacker, Olakunle Olusegun to make it his third goal in the tournament having scored in both previous games against host nation Turkey and Guatemala.

Senegal did not sit back to soak up the pressure, rather they launched attack after attack at their more illustrious oppponents in the world of U17 football and got rewarded for their efforts in the 29th minute courtesy of an own goal.

However, their celebration was cut short when they also suffered the same fate of an own goal in the 31st munute. The scoreline remained at 2-1 at the interval.

A more revitalised Senegal took the game to Nigeria in the second period, bombarding the defence of the Eaglets for the equalizer. They were rewarded with a penalty which was converted for an equaliser in the 51st minute.

It was indeed explosive West African youth football on display on a neutral ground in Turkey, but it was Senegal that went ahead to score two more goals to ensure 4-2 victory at the end of 90 minutes.

Re: UEFA/CAF U17: SENEGAL 4 vs EAGLETS 2

Gotti wrote:https://www.futaa.com/article/193965/ue ... -half-show
UEFA/CAF U17 tourney: Golden Eaglets succumb to Senegal's strong second half show
Futaa.com Thu Sep 26, 2019 Israel Iko

After two initial wins at the UEFA/CAF U17 tournament in Turkey, Nigeria's Golden Eaglets surrendered a 2-1 advantage at the end of first half to superior second half performance from Senegal to lose 4-2 in their last group game.

Signs that it could turn out a bad day in the office for the five –time world champions manifested when forward Wisdom Ubani picked up an injury during the team’s warm up exercise, which subsequently ruled him out of the game.

But despite the absence of Ubani, the Nigerian boys went into the game dictating the pace and opened scoring in the 13th minute through red hot attacker, Olakunle Olusegun to make it his third goal in the tournament having scored in both previous games against host nation Turkey and Guatemala.

Senegal did not sit back to soak up the pressure, rather they launched attack after attack at their more illustrious oppponents in the world of U17 football and got rewarded for their efforts in the 29th minute courtesy of an own goal.

However, their celebration was cut short when they also suffered the same fate of an own goal in the 31st munute. The scoreline remained at 2-1 at the interval.

A more revitalised Senegal took the game to Nigeria in the second period, bombarding the defence of the Eaglets for the equalizer. They were rewarded with a penalty which was converted for an equaliser in the 51st minute.

It was indeed explosive West African youth football on display on a neutral ground in Turkey, but it was Senegal that went ahead to score two more goals to ensure 4-2 victory at the end of 90 minutes.

U-17? (No comment)
A criminal trial is not a search for truth. Science is a search for truth. Alan Dershowitz
JACKAL

Post by JACKAL »

Ladies and gentlemen.... I think we have a Senegal problem !!! :blink: :bored:

It seems we have been losing every encounter to them in the last 4 years

Senegal has become our bogey team

JACKAL wrote:Ladies and gentlemen.... I think we have a Senegal problem !!! :blink: :bored:

It seems we have been losing every encounter to them in the last 4 years

Not yet, they haven't beaten us at a tournament game except for the last U20 world cup.

No Afcons for Senegal.

Our home based players are showing deficiencies in the psychological department.
Just in one week, the CHAN and U-17 teams frittered away leads and conceded multiple goals
after. Our coaches and support staff need to double-up on other aspects of the game besides talent
identification and selection.

...they need refresher course for oyinbo land. Time to shop and chop :biggrin:

joao wrote:Our home based players are showing deficiencies in the psychological department.
Just in one week, the CHAN and U-17 teams frittered away leads and conceded multiple goals
after. Our coaches and support staff need to double-up on other aspects of the game besides talent

Same sort of “psychological deficiencies” that players in the EPL, La Liga, Serie A, etc., show every time a team loses after taking a lead (eg, Spurs vs Leicester City last weekend, or Arsenal countless times)?

joao wrote:Our home based players are showing deficiencies in the psychological department.

Same sort of “psychological deficiencies” that players in the EPL, La Liga, Serie A, etc., show every time a team loses after taking a lead (eg, Spurs vs Leicester City last weekend, or Arsenal countless times)?
Is Rohr team also home based when they chop 2 under 1 minute from Ukrain :lol:

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."