Solomon-Otabor Handed Late Call-Up To Nigeria Squad Ahead...

Re: Solomon-Otabor Handed Late Call-Up To Nigeria Squad Ahea

Rohr was criticized when he invited Collins, Ajayi, and Aribo (to a lesser extent), but all 3 seem to be quality additions.

Some players literally play themselves out of contention after being fielded, while others seize the opportunity. We'll see which camp Otabor falls in.

Lolly wrote:
Otitokoro wrote:So, with Samuel Kalu out and looking at the following Winger/Striker options who have been performing well over the past several weeks, namely:
1. Babajide Akintola - Rosenborg (Norway)- currently playing in the Europa League
2. Bright Osayi-Samuel - QPR (English Championship)
3. Chidera Ejuke (Heerenveen, HOL) - (Dutch Eer divisie)
The best that Rohr, in his infinite wisdom can come up with is this fellow, Viv Solomon-Otabor (CSKA Sofia, BUL).

Considering his body of work vs. the aforementioned options, why is he more deserving of an invite? He hasn't lite up the Bulgarian league and my understanding is yet to score in 7 apprearances this season.
Its both funny and strange that he only just 'officially' decleared he was open to a Nigeria invite last week, stating the late Tommy Oliha was his uncle and then days later, recieves a seemingly undersereved invite.

Aribo is competing for a postition that has little depth

Otabar is in a position where plenty of players are ahead of him.
Very similar reasons why Aribo's call up was initially queried. And guess what happened? The selection was not a foolish one after all.

Aribo is competing for a postition that has little depth

Otabar is in a position where plenty of players are ahead of him.

olu wrote:Rohr was criticized when he invited Collins, Ajayi, and Aribo (to a lesser extent), but all 3 seem to be quality additions.

Some players literally play themselves out of contention after being fielded, while others seize the opportunity. We'll see which camp Otabor falls in.
This is BS and you know it, the difference is with the LB and CM's position we are/were very thin in those areas when Collins and Aribo were invited. I'm not even going to address Ajayi who couldn't even make the ANC squad over a non-playing Balogun. So people might have asked who they were but ultimately when they were invited we needed to check out more players in those positions as we were bare (in fact Collins is still our only viable left footed LB). This is not the case when it comes to winger where we have lots more credible options as has been posted by others in the know and they are being overlooked for someone in a low quality league without the pedigree to be suiting up for a NT. Its not just about inviting new players, but our need and the players status has to justify the invitation. Its pretty clear this is an undeserving call especially with the likes of Ejuke, Nwakaeme, Onyekuru all having much higher pedigree than this cat. But of course we will see how he does, but how do you think the likes of Ejuke and co feel after putting up better performances in better leagues at the same position?

Zelex wrote:It's definitely an unexpected call-up. I remember a few seasons back when he was invited to the u-23s, he seemed to show some promise whilst at Birmingham. His career has regressed since (not necessarily a direct reflection of his ability) however the last I heard of him, he was struggling to make an impact in the English 3rd division. I had no idea till a report last week that he had moved to Bulgaria. It seems the NFF have been impressed with how the likes of Aribo & Semi Ajayi have contributed to the SE, both who were most likely scouted whilst also playing in the 3rd division. The only difference is that Otabor was quite average whilst playing at that level IMO. It's possible he has transitioned this season playing in Bulgaria. Good luck to him.
That is how new level, 3rd division. Scout all 3rd divisions in Europe. Forget about the HB players....

Are you sure you know how to read?

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

olu wrote:Rohr was criticized when he invited Collins, Ajayi, and Aribo (to a lesser extent), but all 3 seem to be quality additions.

This is BS and you know it, the difference is with the LB and CM's position we are/were very thin in those areas when Collins and Aribo were invited. I'm not even going to address Ajayi who couldn't even make the ANC squad over a non-playing Balogun. So people might have asked who they were but ultimately when they were invited we needed to check out more players in those positions as we were bare (in fact Collins is still our only viable left footed LB). This is not the case when it comes to winger where we have lots more credible options as has been posted by others in the know and they are being overlooked for someone in a low quality league without the pedigree to be suiting up for a NT. Its not just about inviting new players, but our need and the players status has to justify the invitation. Its pretty clear this is an undeserving call especially with the likes of Ejuke, Nwakaeme, Onyekuru all having much higher pedigree than this cat. But of course we will see how he does, but how do you think the likes of Ejuke and co feel after putting up better performances in better leagues at the same position?

The position is irrelevant. The context is the same...

Apart from Onyekuru, who has issues to sort out at Monaco, the other players you mention are largely on same level as Solomon...

In the end its about giving players opportunity. Whoever best takes it, gets the slot; period!

How do you know the Bulgarian team/league is low quality; have you ever watched them play?

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

Apart from Onyekuru, who has issues to sort out at Monaco, the other players you mention are largely on same level as Solomon...

In the end its about giving players opportunity. Whoever best takes it, gets the slot; period!

How do you know the Bulgarian team/league is low quality; have you ever watched them play?
Now you are tripping, how can position not matter when we were willing to take a 19 year old GK who had only played a few games in the 3rd division to the world cup simply because we had no other options in that particular position. If anybody suggested taking a 3rd division player in almost any other position they would have been lynched on this forum. So what exactly do you mean by the position is irrelevant? If we have more viable options in a particular position doing better in better leagues how fair is it for them to be overlooked for some obscure player? Any Local coach does this and you would be hanging them for taking bribes...

Position is irrelevant if the standards being applied are the same.

The Turkish and Dutch teams in this specific instance, are no better or worse than CSKA Sofia. Plus the added factor of his playing in the Europa League.

And the key issue- that there is no substantial differentiating factor between the players, which brings us back to my original point- giving access to players and taking the opportunity...

Caveat: Owngoal has had some credibility issues.
However, if this report has any modicum of truth to it, this is even more damning for Rohr and shows he is compromised!
Also, the DW Sports Management accusation is interesting

SOURCE
Eight Goals In Six Years : Viv Solomon-Otabor Controversial Call Up Exposes Rohr’s Shortcomings
October 7, 201901

The decision to hand a late call up to CSKA Sofia of Bulgaria winger Viv Solomon-Otabor has no doubt exposed the coach of the Super Eagles of Nigeria Gernot Rohr as a coach who compromises when making his call ups.

Since turning professional in 2013, Solomon-Otabor who has played mainly as a forward player has only scored six career goals, a poor goal return which played a role in Portsmouth deciding to let him leave for free in the summer.

In six years he has played 111 games with the most coming during his time at League One side Blackpool where he also scored his highest ever goal in a season with five to his name.

Aside that season he has only scored once for the teams he has played for since his debut for non league side Oxford United from where he moved to Birmingham City and made 22 appearances in his first season.

He subsequently fell out of favour the next season and since then he has had loan spells at Bolton Wanderers, Blackpool and Portsmouth. His deal expired in the summer and Birmingham City opt against giving him improved terms hence his move to Bulgaria.

In Bulgaria he has only played 90 minutes once and that was in the 2-2 draw against Levski Sofia and that came on the 1st of September. Since then he has been restricted to just an hour of football and against PFC Beroe Stara Zagora he was an unused substitute just two weeks ago.

The fact that a bit part player made the Super Eagles list shows talks of unfairness in the call ups by the coach actually has merit and furthermore prove right to an extent the allegation that the senior national team of Nigeria has been hijacked by a certain French agent who manages eight players in the Super Eagles and recently added Solomon-Otabor to his stable.

Otitokoro wrote:Caveat: Owngoal has had some credibility issues.
However, if this report has any modicum of truth to it, this is even more damning for Rohr and shows he is compromised!
Also, the DW Sports Management accusation is interesting

SOURCE
Eight Goals In Six Years : Viv Solomon-Otabor Controversial Call Up Exposes Rohr’s Shortcomings
October 7, 201901

The decision to hand a late call up to CSKA Sofia of Bulgaria winger Viv Solomon-Otabor has no doubt exposed the coach of the Super Eagles of Nigeria Gernot Rohr as a coach who compromises when making his call ups.

Since turning professional in 2013, Solomon-Otabor who has played mainly as a forward player has only scored six career goals, a poor goal return which played a role in Portsmouth deciding to let him leave for free in the summer.

In six years he has played 111 games with the most coming during his time at League One side Blackpool where he also scored his highest ever goal in a season with five to his name.

Aside that season he has only scored once for the teams he has played for since his debut for non league side Oxford United from where he moved to Birmingham City and made 22 appearances in his first season.

He subsequently fell out of favour the next season and since then he has had loan spells at Bolton Wanderers, Blackpool and Portsmouth. His deal expired in the summer and Birmingham City opt against giving him improved terms hence his move to Bulgaria.

In Bulgaria he has only played 90 minutes once and that was in the 2-2 draw against Levski Sofia and that came on the 1st of September. Since then he has been restricted to just an hour of football and against PFC Beroe Stara Zagora he was an unused substitute just two weeks ago.

The fact that a bit part player made the Super Eagles list shows talks of unfairness in the call ups by the coach actually has merit and furthermore prove right to an extent the allegation that the senior national team of Nigeria has been hijacked by a certain French agent who manages eight players in the Super Eagles and recently added Solomon-Otabor to his stable.

You're trying too hard but not getting anywhere. Whats you point? that he's trying to sell him, market him or collect bribe?

when the HATE dosen't work, they will result to LIES. keep raising doing you rohr

Sir V wrote:Solomon papa , Victor "Barnes" na my friend. I am happy for the family.
Uncle, dem drop? :D

While, to be brutally honest, I do not think this dude is SE quality...
Philosophically, I have nothing against the coach inviting whatever players he wishes to.

Nonetheless, please let no one attempt to insult our collective intelligence (or even their own, by fooling themselves) that if this call-up was made by an indigenous coach that allegations of bribery and corruption, complete with advance lectures in Dropolgy, would not have been the order of the day, pretty much by those twisting themselves into human pretzels to rationalize this call-up.

GOOD LUCK to the Lad! He's been handed a rare opportunity to play himself into or out of the spotlight!

Gotti wrote:While, to be brutally honest, I do not think this dude is SE quality...
Philosophically, I have nothing against the coach inviting whatever players he wishes to.

Nonetheless, please let no one attempt to insult our collective intelligence (or even their own, by fooling themselves) that if this call-up was made by an indigenous coach that allegations of bribery and corruption, complete with advance lectures in Dropolgy, would not have been the order of the day, pretty much by those twisting themselves into human pretzels to rationalize this call-up.

GOOD LUCK to the Lad! He's been handed a rare opportunity to play himself into or out of the spotlight!
https://owngoalnigeria.com/2019/10/07/e ... rtcomings/

Eight goals in six years? Played only one full 90 minute game since arriving Bulgaria? DW Sports Management again?

https://owngoalnigeria.com/2019/10/07/n ... -for-kalu/

Obong wrote:
Gotti wrote:While, to be brutally honest, I do not think this dude is SE quality...

Eight goals in six years? Played only one full 90 minute game since arriving Bulgaria? DW Sports Management again?

According to txj this doesn't matter, any tom d#$% and harry DESERVES a chance to play for SE esp. against chumps Brazil...*shakes head* these guys can't even hide their bias, this would never fly with an LC! How many Francis Kumbur jokes did we make...

Obong wrote:

Obong, I hope you remember, when Simy Nwankwo was called just before the WC in Russia. Some complained about his goal scoring record. Simy went to the WC and was discarded, soon afterwards. When an certain late coach did the same, we were made to believe something dropped :) The more things change, the more they look the same.

Like I said and will always say: According to Pinnick and Rohr the SE is not for HB players. The first criteria is playing abroad in any league. Once you are HB, and you are still in the league for two years you are not good enough.

Stephen Odey needs to join DW Sports Management again, because he has a better goal scoring record.

Obong wrote:

Obong, I hope you remember, when Simy Nwankwo was called just before the WC in Russia. Some complained about his goal scoring record. Simy went to the WC and was discarded, soon afterwards. When an certain late coach did the same, we were made to believe something dropped :) The more things change, the more they look the same.

Like I said and will always say: According to Pinnick and Rohr the SE is not for HB players. The first criteria is playing abroad in any league. Once you are HB, and you are still in the league for two years you are not good enough.

Stephen Odey needs to join DW Sports Management again, because he has a better goal scoring record.
But goalkeepers are an exception?

Pinnick needs to understand the damage he is doing to our HB players and local league if there is truly this policy in place.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

Lolly wrote:
Obong wrote:

Pinnick needs to understand the damage he is doing to our HB players and local league if there is truly this policy in place.
There's no such policy. Its fabio and his Pinnick derangement syndrome...

Obong wrote:

According to txj this doesn't matter, any tom d#$% and harry DESERVES a chance to play for SE esp. against chumps Brazil...*shakes head* these guys can't even hide their bias, this would never fly with an LC! How many Francis Kumbur jokes did we make...
Solomon's case is no different from Aribo's or any other sundry average and above average Nigerians playing in the Europa league.

As long as there's a standard and we know who are first team players are, I'm fine with casting the net wide...

This is much ado about nothing....

Lolly wrote:

GK, how is it an exception? Uzoho was promoted because Rohr prefers tall GKs. Ezenwa didn´t stand a chance.

The policy is in place to excluding HB players, this was confirmed by the SE spokesman.

txj wrote:There's no such policy. Its fabio and his Pinnick derangement syndrome...
I am speaking after the facts :taunt:

Ibitoye confirmed it on channels TV. According to their research any good HB players is out of the league after two years and if you are still in the league after two years are not good enough.

Rather than, give me labels. Why don´t you disprove my derangement syndrome with facts!

Since Rohr became SE coach, name 7 HB who have made the training squad or tournament team. That should not be too hard!

Obong wrote:

Solomon's case is no different from Aribo's or any other sundry average and above average Nigerians playing in the Europa league.

As long as there's a standard and we know who are first team players are, I'm fine with casting the net wide...

Explain how this is anything like Aribo? You can’t just spew fallacies just to protect Rohr. This guy has played only one 90 minute game all season. Aribo has played 1,193 minutes already this season this guy 418 total and a whopping 13 of those in the Europa league you keep mentioning. He has one assist all season as a winger zero goals, Joe already has 4 goals 2 assists from CM.

So I ask again how is this anything like Aribo? And why do you keep mentioning Europa where he’s only played 13 minutes? So 13 minutes in Europa now equates to a SE invite to you? Ejuke has 688 minutes in Dutch league and 4 goals, but 13 minutes in Europa trumps that? The numbers are not on your side for this Kumbur invite abeg...

txj wrote:There's no such policy. Its fabio and his Pinnick derangement syndrome...
I am speaking after the facts :taunt:

Ibitoye confirmed it on channels TV. According to their research any good HB players is out of the league after two years and if you are still in the league after two years are not good enough.

Rather than, give me labels. Why don´t you disprove my derangement syndrome with facts!

Since Rohr became SE coach, name 7 HB who have made the training squad or tournament team. That should not be too hard!

The SE has been dominated by Euro-based players since Bonfere Jo was coach. Even Keshi's team ended up largely Euro-based as the HB players moved abroad.

The best Nigerian players are abroad. That is a fact.

It used to be that you could find decent goalkeepers from the Nigerian league. Now what we have are clowns like Ezenwa, and you expect a SE coach to focus on HB players?

You have to be outta your mind!!!

Its not the job of a SE coach to develop HB players....

Obong wrote:

Explain how this is anything like Aribo? You can’t just spew fallacies just to protect Rohr. This guy has played only one 90 minute game all season. Aribo has played 1,193 minutes already this season this guy 418 total and a whopping 13 of those in the Europa league you keep mentioning. He has one assist all season as a winger zero goals, Joe already has 4 goals 2 assists from CM.

So I ask again how is this anything like Aribo? And why do you keep mentioning Europa where he’s only played 13 minutes? So 13 minutes in Europa now equates to a SE invite to you? Ejuke has 688 minutes in Dutch league and 4 goals, but 13 minutes in Europa trumps that? The numbers are not on your side for this Kumbur invite abeg...
Solomon, based on current state of the SE is probably behind 5-6 other wide players, even before he's kicked a ball, and if the reports are true, was upgraded from standby status.

After 12 weeks of the Bulgarian league he's played in 7 games.

At the time of his invite, he's as much an unknown quantity as Aribo and the leagues they all play in are roughly on same level.

I'll like the net cast as wide as possible, including to Ejuke.. But the point here is, these guys are all on the same level.

As long as we have a standard and are willing to give players a chance, I'm good with it. The rest is much ado about nothing...