Falcons out of the Olympics....

Re: Falcons out of the Olympics....

Benedict Iroha wrote:It's not like they will medal anyway.
True.
elerineye

Post by elerineye »

Exactly! Unlike the sprinters we send every time.......oh wait :oops:
...o boy... :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
...work out your own salvation with fear and trembling. - Phil. 2: 12

...as for me and my house, we will serve the LORD. - Josh. 24: 15

"You need to grow up and respect the fact that people can disagree with you without you getting personal about it. People have a right to express their opinion and you have no right to try and suppress the rights of others because you do not like or disagree with it." - Waffiman

Shocking that they did not know whether or not the away goals rule applied. You would think the match officials would have familiarised themselves with things like the rules before the game started!
fabio wrote: Tue Oct 08, 2019 8:53 am Drama, controversy as Falcons fail to qualify for Tokyo 2020 Olympics
The Nigeria women national team, Super Falcons’ hope of moving to the next round of the 2020 Tokyo Olympic Games African qualifying series was dashed yesterday by Cote D’Ivoire, who held the team to a 1- 1 draw at the Agege Township Stadium, Lagos.
The Cote d’Ivoire team, who held the Super Falcons to a 0-0 draw in the first leg of the tie, opened scoring 10 minutes into the game through a nice free kick taken at the edge of Nigeria’s 18-yard box.

The match officials, who were not sure if the away goals rule applied in the encounter, attempted to order a penalty shoot out.

For over 30 minutes, the Nigerian and Cote d’Ivoire players and officials were on the pitch waiting for the final decision of the centre referee to either signal extra time or follow the away goal rules.

The match commissioner had to make numerous calls before the match was awarded to Cote d’Ivoire, who started jubilating, while the Falcons walked out of the pitch disappointed.

Gotti wrote: Thu Oct 10, 2019 12:16 am
Exactly! Unlike the sprinters we send every time.......oh wait :oops:
:D :D

Agege township.. is this where Agege bread was first baked?
Kuku Ngbendu Wa Za Banga

Notice there is no mention of white vs black coach on this thread...

wiseone wrote: Fri Jul 23, 2021 3:07 pm Shocking that they did not know whether or not the away goals rule applied. You would think the match officials would have familiarised themselves with things like the rules before the game started!
fabio wrote: Tue Oct 08, 2019 8:53 am Drama, controversy as Falcons fail to qualify for Tokyo 2020 Olympics
The Nigeria women national team, Super Falcons’ hope of moving to the next round of the 2020 Tokyo Olympic Games African qualifying series was dashed yesterday by Cote D’Ivoire, who held the team to a 1- 1 draw at the Agege Township Stadium, Lagos.
The Cote d’Ivoire team, who held the Super Falcons to a 0-0 draw in the first leg of the tie, opened scoring 10 minutes into the game through a nice free kick taken at the edge of Nigeria’s 18-yard box.

The match officials, who were not sure if the away goals rule applied in the encounter, attempted to order a penalty shoot out.

For over 30 minutes, the Nigerian and Cote d’Ivoire players and officials were on the pitch waiting for the final decision of the centre referee to either signal extra time or follow the away goal rules.

The match commissioner had to make numerous calls before the match was awarded to Cote d’Ivoire, who started jubilating, while the Falcons walked out of the pitch disappointed.