TonyTheTigerKiller wrote:
Naturally talented players, but disappointed with the technical quality of both the players and the team...Need to modernize our approach to development of young players.
What you really mean by “modernize” is import a bunch of oyibo coaches to take over the handling of Nigerian youth teams. What else is new
It means exactly what I said- modernize our training of young players. Its not rocket science; it just requires everyone concerned from the NFF to coaches and academies to raise their game....
The technical quality of the players is not good...
You keep bandying the word “modernize” about without explaining what it means in this context. Tell me what Nigerian coaches are not doing that’s hampering the development of our youth teams... and then tell me what youth team foreign coaches are doing or have that Nigerian coaches, in your estimation, don’t seem to be getting a grasp of; that is besides the facilities at the disposal of oyibo coaches
You should research training methodologies for youth players without waiting for me. Its all over the internet.
But even without this, just put the Nigeria/Hungary game side by side with the Brazil/AUST game and the difference is stark....
Don't focus on the talent of the players (we know they are talented), but pay attention to technical traits they exhibit; for eg: how they receive the ball, including first touch, body shape, etc.
Plus the first instinct of nearly every Nigerian player is to run. Now its not a bad thing to have instinctive players, but you need to teach players how/when to apply this...
From the team perspective, look at the spacing and the consistency of the spacing; what types of runs they make, with and without the ball, etc...
And BTW, I have actually watched a few training sessions of a number of Nigerian academies in the past.
Perhaps things have changed- Ugbowo can correct me. But I'm not seeing it in the players....