Dangote to renovate Abuja national stadium

The minister of sports, Sunday Dare, has announced that Africa's richest man, Aliko Dangote, has agreed to renovate the Moshood Abiola national stadium Abuja as part of his organisation's Corporate Social Responsibility(CSR). Renovation work is expected to start in 2 weeks time.
This brings the question of why do we appoint incompetent people into important public offices? Solomon Dalung was sports minister for 4 years and all he did was wear a stupid red beret all over the place. He couldn't even regrass the pitch in the stadium for the SE's send off game for the 2018 WC, hence the match was moved to Port Harcourt.
At our level of national development we can't afford to waste time by appointment nincompoops like Dalung into public office.
Re: Dangote to renovate Abuja national stadium

Waste of money, attendance at that stadium is low.

Should spend the money on the stadium in Lagos or build a new one.

Do you renovate the stadium every 5 years or something? You should just build another stadium in Lagos where it would be likely used for other events and hence likely generate revenue for continued maintenance. Abuja that I saw was a ghost town, it had no life like Lagos, unless things have changed in the last few years. Small Colleges in the US are able to maintain decent playing stadiums, why can't Nigeria?

ANC wrote:Do you renovate the stadium every 5 years or something? You should just build another stadium in Lagos where it would be likely used for other events and hence likely generate revenue for continued maintenance. Abuja that I saw was a ghost town, it had no life like Lagos, unless things have changed in the last few years. Small Colleges in the US are able to maintain decent playing stadiums, why can't Nigeria?
You are on point, I have not even visited Abuja and I am a Nigerian. But the politicians dey Abuja, they are known for white elephant projects that only have political benefits, no real economic benefit.

ANC wrote:Do you renovate the stadium every 5 years or something? You should just build another stadium in Lagos where it would be likely used for other events and hence likely generate revenue for continued maintenance. Abuja that I saw was a ghost town, it had no life like Lagos, unless things have changed in the last few years. Small Colleges in the US are able to maintain decent playing stadiums, why can't Nigeria?
You are on point, I have not even visited Abuja and I am a Nigerian. But the politicians dey Abuja, they are known for white elephant projects that only have political benefits, no real economic benefit.
Look at this ohene, do you even go to Nigeria?

He goes on social media. :lol: :lol: :lol:

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

I am going to Lagos for Christmas 2 weeks. Lagos is my home. Could also take a trip to Calabar for the festival. Wetin concern me with dry Abuja and the crooks that call themselves. Law breakers:

ohenhen1 wrote:I am going to Lagos for Christmas 2 weeks. Lagos is my home. Could also take a trip to Calabar for the festival. Wetin concern me with dry Abuja and the crooks that call themselves. Law breakers:
you've not been to Nigeria, talkless of even visiting and no one buys the crap you will be in gidi come Christmas . I am very sure

ohenhen1 wrote:I am going to Lagos for Christmas 2 weeks. Lagos is my home. Could also take a trip to Calabar for the festival. Wetin concern me with dry Abuja and the crooks that call themselves. Law breakers:
you've not been to Nigeria, talkless of even visiting and no one buys the crap you will be in gidi come Christmas . I am very sure
Why should I care what you believe or not?

you tried to pull a fast one, you've never been to naija

A 60k brand new Stadium in Surulere would have been better. Super Eagles need to get back to Lagos the real home of the Eagles. We need our Wembley back.

They should have demolish both Stadium in Surulere.

Build something like this...Iraqi stadium

Benedict Iroha wrote:A 60k brand new Stadium in Surulere would have been better. Super Eagles need to get back to Lagos the real home of the Eagles. We need our Wembley back.

I agree, I wrote to Ambode suggesting a 75K seater stadium. Some one responded saying they will consider my suggestion. The next thing that happened was that they renovated Onikan and put in natural grass for Teslim Balogun stadium. Also announced the renovation for the stadium in Ajegunle. The Onikan stadium is 5K. Teslim Balogun is about 25K. The FG was suppose to concession the National stadium in Lagos to the Lagos state government. Nothing has happened.

Benedict Iroha wrote:A 60k brand new Stadium in Surulere would have been better. Super Eagles need to get back to Lagos the real home of the Eagles. We need our Wembley back.

I agree, I wrote to Ambode suggesting a 75K seater stadium. Some one responded saying they will consider my suggestion. The next thing that happened was that they renovated Onikan and put in natural grass for Teslim Balogun stadium. Also announced the renovation for the stadium in Ajegunle. The Onikan stadium is 5K. Teslim Balogun is about 25K. The FG was suppose to concession the National stadium in Lagos to the Lagos state government. Nothing has happened.
They just finished renovating the Onikan Stadium. :boo:

ohenhen1 wrote:Waste of money, attendance at that stadium is low.

:agree: :agree: :agree: Besides, who is going to care for the Stadium after the renovation?

Selling the Abuja stadium renovation to Dangote as part of his corporate social responsibility is the type of brilliant idea we need in leadership.

Onikan stadium renovated also a good development. Per getting a shiny new stadium, seems nobody has figured out the benefit. SE playing there is not enough to motivate an individual nor consortium to build it and the government can't afford it. Investors are abound locally and internationally. Someone just has to sell it. Lagos is primed for a large capacity stadium.

Having a "national stadium" should not be a priority for Nigeria. People are talking of whether it should be in Lagos or Abuja etc. It should not be in either place! Nigeria cannot afford to build and maintain a massive 60,000 seater national stadium that will host a grand total of about 3 games every year (52 weeks). Building a stadium that will be empty for 95% of the time is a waste of money. It is feasible only if there is a local club team that can use the stadium when the NT is not playing there. Neither Lagos nor Abuja has a popular club team that can sell out a 60,000 seater stadium.

That means the best thing for now is to just let the NT use and rotate round good stadiums that are used by Nigerian club teams.

If they build the 75 k stadium and lease it to private management it can be properly maintained and it can be used for both sporting and non sporting activities. We can have conferences, concerts, Football games and etc. They must make it a fun family atmosphere to attract people. Can even have tours: Most be a modern stadium with Wi-Fi and etc. if done properly it will create jobs and increase tax revenue to help pay back the loan for the project. It should cost about 600 million dollars.

The issue is that this is a palliative solution. After this, then what, when it falls apart again? Wait for another handout?

It was really stupid naming the stadium after Abiola. What's the point of doing that and then the stadium looks dilapidated?

They should've offered naming rights to one of the companies (telecoms, banks, oil and gas, aviation, etc), and used part of the revenue for maintenance. Then in return they get the NFA to guarantee that an agreed percentage of national team (world cup qualifiers, AFCON qualifiers, WWC, U-23, U-20, U-17) and even some important local matches are played there every year.

Airtel stadium, or MTN Stadium, or Access bank stadium, Emirates, or Total stadium makes a whole lot more sense than MKO Abiola stadium. There's already one of those in Abeokuta.

You want to honor Abiola, build a museum, that showcases his life, and the general struggle for democracy, have it include others like Kudirat, Dele Giva, Ken Sari Wiwa etc. Not some stupid stadium name that does nothing for his legacy.

Benedict Iroha wrote:

They just finished renovating the Onikan Stadium. :boo:

Renovating the Onikan stadium was another dumb idea. The place is way too small for a standard sized stadium.

They should've instead built a multipurpose complex there like the O2 Arena, TD Garden, Staples Center, MSG, etc that could've been used for basketball games in the hope of attracting NBA Africa, and even indoor concerts. Both Rwanda and Senegal have beaten us to the punch by building theirs. In addition to South Africa of course.

I don't know who advises these clowns. Yes I know they wanted to make money from the contract but they could've still made a killing while building something more sensible.

theYemster wrote:Renovating the Onikan stadium was another dumb idea. The place is way too small for a standard sized stadium.

They should've instead built a multipurpose complex there like the O2 Arena, TD Garden, Staples Center, MSG, etc that could've been used for basketball games in the hope of attracting NBA Africa, and even indoor concerts. Both Rwanda and Senegal have beaten us to the punch by building theirs. In addition to South Africa of course.

I don't know who advises these clowns. Yes I know they wanted to make money from the contract but they could've still made a killing while building something more sensible.
Making too much sense as usual.
I could never quite figure out what the hell they thought they were doing building a 5000 capacity football arena?

Unless maybe something has been lost in translation.
Or maybe they got their measurements wrong.... :lol:

Yup, naming rights fee and leasing fee is how you help fund maintenance costs. You can even have the private company that leases the stadium do all of the maintenance. The lease fee can cover security costs. Government can get a share of revenue and collect taxes.

The issue is that this is a palliative solution. After this, then what, when it falls apart again? Wait for another handout?

It was really stupid naming the stadium after Abiola. What's the point of doing that and then the stadium looks dilapidated?

They should've offered naming rights to one of the companies (telecoms, banks, oil and gas, aviation, etc), and used part of the revenue for maintenance. Then in return they get the NFA to guarantee that an agreed percentage of national team (world cup qualifiers, AFCON qualifiers, WWC, U-23, U-20, U-17) and even some important local matches are played there every year.

Airtel stadium, or MTN Stadium, or Access bank stadium, Emirates, or Total stadium makes a whole lot more sense than MKO Abiola stadium. There's already one of those in Abeokuta.

You want to honor Abiola, build a museum, that showcases his life, and the general struggle for democracy, have it include others like Kudirat, Dele Giva, Ken Sari Wiwa etc. Not some stupid stadium name that does nothing for his legacy.
Kpom! Our leaders are out of tune with contemporary practices.

To be honest that lagos is a disgrace. Look at the surrounding of the stadium. Haba!