Page 1 of 3

NFF to enter contract negotiations with Rohr in January

Posted: Fri Nov 08, 2019 2:07 pm
by Next

http://aoifootball.com/2019/11/07/nff-t ... n-january/
Super Eagles Head Coach, Gernot Rohr will be offered a chance to extend his stay with the team after revelations emanating from the NFF indicate that both parties will enter contract negotiations in January 2020, AOIFootball.com can authoritatively confirm.

The Franco-German, who is under contract till the summer of next year, has been in the spotlight for a couple of weeks following media speculations that the NFF will ditch him by June next year when his contract expires.

However, further investigations by AOIFootball.com reveal that the NFF and Rohr will enter negotiations from January next year as the Franco-German will by then have six month left on his current deal.

“Under the contact it says the parties can negotiate extension 6 months before it expires so we are due to start negotiations from January 1, 2020 and have uptil June 30 to agree extension or otherwise.

“We have two important matches next week and that should be the major focus,” a top source in the NFF revealed to AOIFootball.com.

The 66-year-old began his reign as Super Eagles coach in August 2016, taking over from Sunday Oliseh and has since led the country to the 2018 World Cup in Russia, as well as clinching Bronze at the 2019 AFCON in Egypt.

Re: NFF to enter contract negotiations with Rohr in January

Posted: Fri Nov 08, 2019 2:15 pm
by kalani JR

Posted: Fri Nov 08, 2019 2:24 pm
by ohenhen1
Pinnick must go.

Posted: Fri Nov 08, 2019 2:52 pm
by Cito
Good development. But make sure you are paying him and on time.

Posted: Fri Nov 08, 2019 5:32 pm
by charlie
Just pay the man and let's lock him down for the next Worls Cup campaign. The man has done a hell of a job and we haven't had this level of stability since the Westerhof years.

I honestly believe our young core is ready to surpass all previous achievements at the next WC

Posted: Fri Nov 08, 2019 5:42 pm
Hatefest in 1.......2.......

Wonderfulness of delicious proportions on grand scale. :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs:

Posted: Fri Nov 08, 2019 7:14 pm
by Enugu II
The reality is that this is media talk. What is happening behind the scenes is that some NFF folks want to cut loose based on recent comments that Rohr has made in the media. Some NFF guys reportedly feel that he has been ungrateful with those comments after they had protected his job following public outcry for his firing after the WC. This situation is behind the non-talk about renewal. The reality is that Rohr has to continue to have the SE produce good results because more than likely a renewal will be delayed as the NFF seek a way to let him go. If he keeps winning, however, it will be tough for NFF to achieve that objective except if a controversy is manufactured. Please note that I have not cited a source, deliberately. This can be considered a rumor mixed with my opinion about a possible future outcome.

Posted: Fri Nov 08, 2019 8:27 pm
by Eaglezbeak
So the NFF are going to negotiate during a qualifying campaign, the contract should have been up for renewal after the last major tournament (with a right to instant dismissal if he failed to qualify in the first place),why do they always do things at the wrong time?

Posted: Fri Nov 08, 2019 8:46 pm
by ohenhen1
Enugu II wrote:The reality is that this is media talk. What is happening behind the scenes is that some NFF folks want to cut loose based on recent comments that Rohr has made in the media. Some NFF guys reportedly feel that he has been ungrateful with those comments after they had protected his job following public outcry for his firing after the WC. This situation is behind the non-talk about renewal. The reality is that Rohr has to continue to have the SE produce good results because more than likely a renewal will be delayed as the NFF seek a way to let him go. If he keeps winning, however, it will be tough for NFF to achieve that objective except if a controversy is manufactured. Please note that I have not cited a source, deliberately. This can be considered a rumor mixed with my opinion about a possible future outcome.

Makes no sense to keep him. He is an old fashion coach that will soon retire. Time to move on and think long term.

Posted: Fri Nov 08, 2019 8:55 pm
by Cellular
They should pay the man.

Posted: Fri Nov 08, 2019 11:32 pm
by Odas
ohenhen1 wrote:Pinnick must go.
Why, Oga Ohenhen1?

Posted: Fri Nov 08, 2019 11:34 pm
by Odas
Cito wrote:Good development. But make sure you are paying him and on time.
... that's what I thought as well. Coach Rohr has done very well for us and must be retained, unless he wants to be left alone by Nigeria

Posted: Sat Nov 09, 2019 3:30 pm
by Enugu II
Cito wrote:Good development. But make sure you are paying him and on time.
... that's what I thought as well. Coach Rohr has done very well for us and must be retained, unless he wants to be left alone by Nigeria
While it makes sense to renew his contract especially if he is having a great run in the AFCONQ and WCQ, it seems clear the NFF has sharpened knives against him with all kinds of issues including alleged contract talks with Congo (think Keshi). For him to survive those knives he has to build coalitions with the political types or a renewal will be a mirage.

Posted: Sat Nov 09, 2019 4:12 pm
by joao
Enugu II wrote:The reality is that this is media talk. What is happening behind the scenes is that some NFF folks want to cut loose based on recent comments that Rohr has made in the media. Some NFF guys reportedly feel that he has been ungrateful with those comments after they had protected his job following public outcry for his firing after the WC.
This situation is behind the non-talk about renewal.

The reality is that Rohr has to continue to have the SE produce good results because more than likely a renewal will be delayed as the NFF seek a way to let him go. If he keeps winning, however, it will be tough for NFF to achieve that objective except if a controversy is manufactured. Please note that I have not cited a source, deliberately. This can be considered a rumor mixed with my opinion about a possible future outcome.
The highlighted is why most of what transpires relative to public interests are shrouded in secrecy, so that some selfish interests can have a say.
If issues regarding his whole contract were made public, there will be no room for speculations about whether he has met his contract goals and
whether he deserves to stay.
We keep switching from wanting a coach with an independent agenda to perform, and another that can be manipulated by selfish interests.
It's been said that 'a bird in hand is worth twenty in the bush'. Certainly Rohr can find another employer, but can the NFF find a decent coach
that can tolerate constant and unnecessary meddling on how the job should be done, not to talk about delayed payment of salary?

Posted: Wed Nov 13, 2019 6:08 pm
You people still want to give this **** a new contract...smh

Posted: Wed Nov 13, 2019 6:33 pm
by DAgrin
Bigpokey24 wrote:You people still want to give this **** a new contract...smh
Premature Ejaculation.
Your hatred against our coach is getting obsessive. That is not good for your health on the long-term.
I don't say we play spectacular football under Rohr and he neither a tactical mastermind nor an innovative coach.
But what he delivers is reliability. He honestly selects his best team and his team takes every opponent serious what ensures us qualifying for major tournaments and that is already quite an achievement.
Supporters forget way to fast where we are coming from.

UPDATED:Rohr hints of possible contract extension with Naija

Posted: Thu Nov 14, 2019 11:31 am
by Next
I hope this will not give some guyz a heavy Cardiac arrest!!!?? :D

http://aoifootball.com/2019/11/13/rohr- ... h-nigeria/
Super Eagles Head Coach, Gernot Rohr has revealed a very strong chance of him staying beyond next summer after admitting that he needs to start grooming a team that will challenge for the 2021 AFCON, AOIFootball.com reports.

The Franco-German, whose contract expires in June 2020, revealed that he isn’t bothered about the current situation but remains focused on getting the job done on the field of play.

“I have to work, the contract is not a problem. I think by the end of the year, I will discuss it with the FA. No distraction for me, but it’s time to have a new project to win the next AFCON.

“I start now with the AFCON qualifiers and don’t know if I will finish it but it’s not really a problem but our project must be made for at least 3 years because what we want to do is to also go to the next World Cup and also have a good philosophy too,” Rohr added.

The 66-year-old took over as coach in 2015 and has since guided Nigeria to a place at the 2018 World Cup, as well as a bronze medal the last AFCON in Egypt.

Re: Rohr hints of possible contract extension with Nigeria

Posted: Thu Nov 14, 2019 12:45 pm
by wanaj0
Is there any other job offer for him?

Posted: Thu Nov 14, 2019 12:57 pm
by Lolly
wanaj0 wrote:Is there any other job offer for him?
Maybe he is being patient and selective like Mourinho, another very good manager. :sneaky:

Posted: Thu Nov 14, 2019 1:05 pm
wanaj0 wrote:Is there any other job offer for him?
No. He has a job and his contract is getting renewed. Why would anybody waste their time trying to offer a man with a job another job he doesn’t want? It’s like calling Klop to offer him a job. :laugh: :thumbs:

Posted: Thu Nov 14, 2019 1:16 pm
by walesvilla
i will definately keep Rohr- yes the needs to improve - but stability in the squad is A1- i can now name our 1st strong 11 with decent subs. - once he get gets the goalkeeping dept sorted out - team will be solid for 2021

Posted: Thu Nov 14, 2019 1:36 pm
walesvilla wrote:i will definately keep Rohr- yes the needs to improve - but stability in the squad is A1- i can now name our 1st strong 11 with decent subs. - once he get gets the goalkeeping dept sorted out - team will be solid for 2021
So in all your years of watching the SE today is the day you are able to name the first eleven :rotf: you Rohrbots are just too funny..I guess you weren't born back in 94,2013 etc.. you've been on this forum for 15 years, .kai natives...so it took your master **** 4 years for you to be able to name the first 11 after 2 tournaments and multiple friendlies plus qualifiers...kai some people are lazy thinkers sha...I said some people

Posted: Thu Nov 14, 2019 5:15 pm
by Mr Shows
Rohr's team has been evolving and at the same time getting better. We have sacrificed a bit in terms of creativity and attacking play but on the other hand gained a lot in terms of organisation and discipline in our game. Also, team selection is now based on form and players seeing regular action. So fans can more or less accurately pick who is going to get called up.

The team is gradually taking shape, we are not there yet but progress has been made. He needs a good coach understudying his methods and growing with the team, so we have a succession plan in place.