Page 1 of 2

Rohr on good football and 3-5-2 formation

Posted: Wed Nov 20, 2019 11:34 am
by proclaimjesus02
https://sportinglife.ng/lesothos-win-ou ... hr-admits/

“But we now know that the confidence they (Eagles) have because they play good football and when they play good football, you can have the goals and the goals are coming very nice; constructive goals and Osimhen is on the right way to be a good scorer and also not to forget players like Odion Ighalo."

“He (Osimhen) changed the second half. It is interesting to see a 3-5-2 with Osimhen and Chukwueze as the twin strikers. So, the second half was better and this match is very important for the future.”

“I think Osimhen is on the way to becoming a very important player for us as he scored more goals and he gave also his second goal to his friend, Chukwueze.

So he (Osimhen) is working very well in France and I see him often playing and speaking with his coach. We know he still has lots of work to do to progress because he is young and he can do more."

Re: Rohr on good football and 3-5-2 formation

Posted: Wed Nov 20, 2019 2:31 pm
by deanotito
I guess this explains why Musa replaced Chukwueze and not Moses Simon. Rohr was looking for another striker to partner Osimhen in a 3-5-2.

Posted: Wed Nov 20, 2019 2:32 pm
by deanotito
I guess this explains why Musa replaced Chukwueze and not Moses Simon. Rohr was looking for another striker to partner Osimhen in a 3-5-2.

Posted: Wed Nov 20, 2019 6:33 pm
by ANC
The man really likes Odion Ighalo. Not sure why his name had to be brought up.

Posted: Wed Nov 20, 2019 6:51 pm
by 100%Naija
ANC wrote:The man really likes Odion Ighalo. Not sure why his name had to be brought up.
Ighalo saved his job. I am very happy that he hasnt forgotten the hard work Ighalo put in to make things work for the SE.

:clap:

Posted: Mon Nov 25, 2019 7:38 pm
by kali
When kali kept saying 3-5-2 Rohr never listen.

viewtopic.php?f=1&t=295626&hilit=formation

He was too busy trying out 4-2-3-1

Posted: Mon Nov 25, 2019 8:03 pm
by Enugu II
deanotito wrote:I guess this explains why Musa replaced Chukwueze and not Moses Simon. Rohr was looking for another striker to partner Osimhen in a 3-5-2.
Deanotito,

If you followed the game closely, the team made a switch to 3-5-2 in the second half with Chukwueze advanced.

Posted: Mon Nov 25, 2019 9:29 pm
by niyi
Hmm. I want a 3-5-2 with Osimhen and Iheanacho

Posted: Mon Nov 25, 2019 9:49 pm
by Damunk
niyi wrote:Hmm. I want a 3-5-2 with Osimhen and Iheanacho
Why him?
Why not Isaac Success?
Or Awoniyi?
Or Sadiq?
Or Onyekuru?

Just curious.

Posted: Mon Nov 25, 2019 9:59 pm
by Cito
Why him?
Why not Isaac Success?
Or Awoniyi?
Or Sadiq?
Or Onyekuru?

Just curious.
There are so many players that should be ahead of Iheanacho at the moment its crazy to even mention his name. :mrgreen:

Posted: Mon Nov 25, 2019 10:07 pm
by Dammy
If we had a choice of either Victor Moses or Odion Ighalo being recalled to the SE, which one would CEs prefer?

Posted: Mon Nov 25, 2019 11:20 pm
by Tobi17
Dammy wrote:If we had a choice of either Victor Moses or Odion Ighalo being recalled to the SE, which one would CEs prefer?
Nah both are done, but if I had to choose.. Then it's definitely Ighalo(to provide depth and mentorship to Osimhen) , Victor Moses unfortunately plays in a position where he has long been rendered dispensable.

Posted: Mon Nov 25, 2019 11:38 pm
by john12
Definitely Victor moses that boy knows how to punish African defenses

Posted: Mon Nov 25, 2019 11:44 pm
by olumide
Why him?
Why not Isaac Success?
Or Awoniyi?
Or Sadiq?
Or Onyekuru?

Just curious.
There are so many players that should be ahead of Iheanacho at the moment its crazy to even mention his name. :mrgreen:
I think a confident, fit version of Iheanacho would be a perfect foil to Osimhen, but he has to earn the call-up first. It's there for him. The players you listed are all underachieving or MIA as well and the likes of Onuachu, etc. are just functional players at the top level, nothing more really.

Posted: Mon Nov 25, 2019 11:49 pm
by Tobi17
olumide wrote:
Why him?
Why not Isaac Success?
Or Awoniyi?
Or Sadiq?
Or Onyekuru?

Just curious.
I think a confident, fit version of Iheanacho would be a perfect foil to Osimhen, but he has to earn the call-up first. It's there for him. The players you listed are all underachieving or MIA as well and the likes of Onuachu, etc. are just functional players at the top level, nothing more really.
Kpom, Ihenacho has more talent and a higher ceiling than those players, Sadiq is the only one that seems ready to deputize Osimhen from that list.

Posted: Tue Nov 26, 2019 7:54 am
by Damunk
olumide wrote:
Why him?
Why not Isaac Success?
Or Awoniyi?
Or Sadiq?
Or Onyekuru?

Just curious.
Kpom, Ihenacho has more talent and a higher ceiling than those players, Sadiq is the only one that seems ready to deputize Osimhen from that list.
I think the one word missing there is 'upgraded'.
The young Nacho we all saw and fell in love with at the U17 level has not upgraded to the full adult version.
He was the 'perfect provider' back then and in addition scored more than his fair share of goals himself.
That is the Nacho I agree would be the perfect partner for Osimhen who himself is an upgrade on the 2015 U17 goal machine we saw.
If only Nacho could do same.

I can't pretend to know what the problem is, but he needs to find it fast because time is running out.

Posted: Tue Nov 26, 2019 10:22 am
by Dammy
olumide wrote:
Why him?
Why not Isaac Success?
Or Awoniyi?
Or Sadiq?
Or Onyekuru?

Just curious.
I think the one word missing there is 'upgraded'.
The young Nacho we all saw and fell in love with at the U17 level has not upgraded to the full adult version.
He was the 'perfect provider' back then and in addition scored more than his fair share of goals himself.
That is the Nacho I agree would be the perfect partner for Osimhen who himself is an upgrade on the 2015 U17 goal machine we saw.
If only Nacho could do same.

I can't pretend to know what the problem is, but he needs to find it fast because time is running out.
The best news for me is Nacho coming back to form. He has tools that no other Nigerian striker currently has.
Having him as back-up to Osimhen would be good news for Nigeria.

Posted: Tue Nov 26, 2019 10:25 am
by Dammy
john12 wrote:Definitely Victor moses that boy knows how to punish African defenses
Is the Chukwueze, Kalu and Osimhen combo an upgrade on the Moses, Ighalo and Musa combo?

Posted: Tue Nov 26, 2019 2:13 pm
by ANC
john12 wrote:Definitely Victor moses that boy knows how to punish African defenses
Is the Chukwueze, Kalu and Osimhen combo an upgrade on the Moses, Ighalo and Musa combo?

yes yes yes

Posted: Tue Nov 26, 2019 2:14 pm
by ANC
Dammy wrote:If we had a choice of either Victor Moses or Odion Ighalo being recalled to the SE, which one would CEs prefer?

Victor Moses as a wingback.

Posted: Tue Nov 26, 2019 4:22 pm
by chief nfachairman
olumide wrote:
Why him?
Why not Isaac Success?
Or Awoniyi?
Or Sadiq?
Or Onyekuru?

Just curious.
Onuachu scored this weekend.

Oh, and has been playing in the champions League this season.

Posted: Tue Nov 26, 2019 5:12 pm
by olumide
chief nfachairman wrote:
olumide wrote:
Why him?
Why not Isaac Success?
Or Awoniyi?
Or Sadiq?
Or Onyekuru?

Just curious.

Good, I am happy for him, but a 25 year old scoring a few goals against Mouscron and Oostende is not overly impressive to me, nor is losing matches in the CL. He has some attributes that can be useful for SE and to a lot of smaller clubs, so he has the potential to stick around for a good while, but I'm not particularly interested in him as a top player.

Posted: Tue Nov 26, 2019 7:32 pm
by chief nfachairman
olumide wrote:
chief nfachairman wrote:
olumide wrote:
Why him?
Why not Isaac Success?
Or Awoniyi?
Or Sadiq?
Or Onyekuru?

Just curious.

Good, I am happy for him, but a 25 year old scoring a few goals against Mouscron and Oostende is not overly impressive to me, nor is losing matches in the CL. He has some attributes that can be useful for SE and to a lot of smaller clubs, so he has the potential to stick around for a good while, but I'm not particularly interested in him as a top player.
Anyway, it's better to be functional in the top level like Onuachu, than "disfunctional" in the same top level