Edward Ansah

Posted: Wed Nov 20, 2019 8:52 pm
by ANC
Is he the best goalkeeper ever to play in Nigeria? I was told he was so good, that Nigeria offered him citizenship. Bigpokey is this true?

Re: Edward Ansah

Posted: Wed Nov 20, 2019 9:01 pm
by peppersoup
ANC wrote:Is he the best goalkeeper ever to play in Nigeria? I was told he was so good, that Nigeria offered him citizenship. Bigpokey is still true?

One of the best. Played for Leventis, then Iwanyanwu. I think he was invited in 86 but didnt come to camp. Ghana later invited him and he kept against Nigerian in 94

Posted: Wed Nov 20, 2019 9:39 pm
Mods..... wake up and sagalo this thread to 3rd world football. Ansa is not a Nigerian, he was denied citizenship and remains a Breda just like ANC.

Posted: Wed Nov 20, 2019 9:55 pm
by ANC
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote:Mods..... wake up and sagalo this thread to 3rd world football. Ansa is not a Nigerian, he was denied citizenship and remains a Breda just like ANC.

He played in Nigeria's top football league, no?

Posted: Wed Nov 20, 2019 10:26 pm
ANC wrote:Is he the best goalkeeper ever to play in Nigeria? I was told he was so good, that Nigeria offered him citizenship. Bigpokey is still true?
yes, he played for Iwanyanwu back in the day and was one of the best goalies in the league..many thought he was Nigerian..Then one day my neighbor, RIP , came to my crib and asked my dad if he could take me to the stadium to watch the AFCON qualifiers, Nigeria vs ghana 1991...My first ever football game watching the SE... so we got to the stadium, and behold we saw Ansah in goal for ghana...he was abused and abused by the fans.... the game ended 0-0 ... one Nigerian player missed a PK, don't know if it was Keshi or Etim Esin...ghana parked the bus big time....Abedi didn't play in that game

Posted: Wed Nov 20, 2019 10:50 pm
by ANC
yes, he played for Iwanyanwu back in the day and was one of the best goalies in the league..many thought he was Nigerian..Then one day my neighbor, RIP , came to my crib and asked my dad if he could take me to the stadium to watch the AFCON qualifiers, Nigeria vs ghana 1991...My first ever football game watching the SE... so we got to the stadium, and behold we saw Ansah in goal for ghana...he was abused and abused by the fans.... the game ended 0-0 ... one Nigerian player missed a PK, don't know if it was Keshi or Etim Esin...ghana parked the bus big time....Abedi didn't play in that game

Was this were and how your hate-love affair with Ghana started ? :taunt:

Posted: Wed Nov 20, 2019 10:53 pm
by Robbynice
peppersoup wrote:

One of the best. Played for Leventis, then Iwanyanwu. I think he was invited in 86 but didnt come to camp. Ghana later invited him and he kept against Nigerian in 94
In that game he even stopped a PK. I think Siasia took the PK but the game ended 0-0. Edward Ansah na goalkeeper mehn...chei!

Posted: Wed Nov 20, 2019 11:22 pm
by quickie
I was at this game...goalless AFCON qualifier.....I vaguely remember the missed penalty was taken by Ekpo. not 100% sure o so make bully boys nor attack me.....
...why I remember, this was a sequence of 3 back to back Eagles games I saw with my homeboy in space of few months and we missed a pen in each game and I remember they were Ekpo, Eguavoen and Keshi. Think this was the Ekpo one. My homeboy and I decided not to go to home Eagles games together for a while to try and break the jink.

not sure again but I think this was also the game Lamptey played and was kicked around the park like a rag doll much to the delight of the surulere full house

Q

Posted: Wed Nov 20, 2019 11:50 pm
by walesvilla
From memory with leventis utd. Edward Ansah was the Answer. If not better than Rufai in mid 80s

Posted: Wed Nov 20, 2019 11:53 pm
by Senator WIRES
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote:Mods..... wake up and sagalo this thread to 3rd world football. Ansa is not a Nigerian, he was denied citizenship and remains a Breda just like ANC.
Actually he was holding a Nigerian passport, he was never denied Nigerian citizenship, it was some powerful people in the NFA and some players (Best Ogedegbe) that denied him playing for Nigeria, he was invited into the the national team.
Players like Kennedy Dappah, Orlando John, were capped by Nigeria despite all being know as refugees from Ghana!! all these my uncle Shege told me :lol:

Posted: Thu Nov 21, 2019 12:02 am
by ANC
Senator WIRES wrote:
Actually he was holding a Nigerian passport, he was never denied Nigerian citizenship, it was some powerful people in the NFA and some players (Best Ogedegbe) that denied him playing for Nigeria, he was invited into the the national team.
Players like Kennedy Dappah, Orlando John, were capped by Nigeria despite all being know as refugees from Ghana!! all these my uncle Shege told me :lol:

So no be today, ...Nigeria has been poaching players from around the world since time immemorial.

Posted: Thu Nov 21, 2019 12:27 am
by Nkume
I remember him from his Iwuanyanwu National days. He was my favorite then.

Posted: Thu Nov 21, 2019 2:08 am
by folem
quickie wrote:
I was at this game...goalless AFCON qualifier.....I vaguely remember the missed penalty was taken by Ekpo. not 100% sure o so make bully boys nor attack me.....
...why I remember, this was a sequence of 3 back to back Eagles games I saw with my homeboy in space of few months and we missed a pen in each game and I remember they were Ekpo, Eguavoen and Keshi. Think this was the Ekpo one. My homeboy and I decided not to go to home Eagles games together for a while to try and break the jink.

not sure again but I think this was also the game Lamptey played and was kicked around the park like a rag doll much to the delight of the surulere full house

Q
It was Ekpo that missed PK.
I once played for Eagles with oversized boots – Ekpo

Going down memory lane, he recalled his playing days with the Super Eagles and how he lost a spot kick for the team against the Black Stars of Ghana in an African Nations Cup qualifier in 1991.

His words: “I had so many great moments in my career, and the most striking one being what happened at the National Stadium in Lagos in a 1992 African Nations Cup qualifier against the Black Stars of Ghana in 1991.

“There was a penalty kick awarded in favour of Nigeria and Stephen Keshi, who was assigned by the chief coach to take all penalty kicks, declined to take it and none of my Eagles’ teammates was also ready to do it.

“I stepped forward, took the kick and the ball went over the bar. I was nailed by Nigerians for missing that spot kick. I remembered the late Muda Lawal who was at the stadium told the then Nigeria Football Association (NFA) that I would make amends.

“I remembered that the boots I wore wasn’t my real size. It was given to me by Keshi who brought them from Belgium. The NFA didn’t allow me wear the one I bought personally from Holland on ground that it wasn’t Adidas. So all the passes I made that day were not the best as the boots were slightly oversize.

“True to Muda Lawal’s predictions, I rose to the occasion in the Super Eagles’ next game which was also a Nations Cup qualifier and scored an important goal.

“After the game, I became the toast of Nigerian soccer fans across the world. It was so memorable.

Posted: Thu Nov 21, 2019 2:13 am

Posted: Thu Nov 21, 2019 5:01 am
by Gotti
Senator WIRES wrote:
Add Leotis Boateng...
Even Ali Baba reportedly played for Nigeria in the SAME match that his brother Mohammed played for Ghana (EII verify).

Posted: Thu Nov 21, 2019 6:42 am
by Sir V
Senator WIRES wrote:
Kennedy Dappah did not play for Nigeria. NFA had to choose between Kennedy Dappah and Leotis Boateng, to replace Odiye, but they had to go for Odiye.

Posted: Thu Nov 21, 2019 1:05 pm
by Goldleaf
Edward Ansah was a fantastic goal keeper. He was keeper throughout the glory days of Leventis United. Boyish looking and elastic, his saves were first class!

Posted: Thu Nov 21, 2019 4:08 pm
by lukemana
peppersoup wrote:

He was actually Ghana's keeper in Senegal 92 when the Bredas beat us 2-1 (courtesy of Abedi Ayew Pele and Prince Opokou Poulley - Heeadmaster Mutiu Adepoju scored our goal). Not sure about '94

Cheers!!!

Posted: Thu Nov 21, 2019 4:17 pm
by lukemana
ANC wrote:
Senator WIRES wrote:
So no be today, ...Nigeria has been poaching players from around the world since time immemorial.
It is vice versa brother. Papa Arko who used to play for the black starts in the early 80s was the son of Papa Ikorodu. He was Nigerian but played for Ghana. I remember the Ivorian newspaper talking about him in 1983.

Cheers!!!

Posted: Sun Nov 24, 2019 9:13 am
by Aswani
Edward Ansah was almost as good at Leventis as Rufai when he was at Stores. Almost but not quite.

Posted: Sun Nov 24, 2019 7:19 pm
by ANC
Rufai was not particularly an exceptional keeper in 94 WC

Posted: Sun Nov 24, 2019 7:45 pm
by walesvilla
ANC wrote:Rufai was not particularly an exceptional keeper in 94 WC
Of course he was on way out but still decent. As compared to what we have now in goal. Considering the fact that Rufai had been keeping since 1980-81