Page 2 of 2
Re: APOY nominees
Posted: Tue Nov 26, 2019 3:55 pm
by Enugu II
Ayo Akinfe wrote:john12 wrote:you do realize that aube was the joint top scorer last season at EPL, in addition to it, he also won player of the month award twice last season. for me, it is
1) Mane
2) Mahrez
3) Salah/aubemeyang
ndidi should be good enough for top 20
I take the view that the African Cup of nations should play a key role in handing out these awards. It is not just about performing well in Europe, so for me Sallah and Aubameyang are out because of the dismal performances of Egypt and Gabon in the last Nations Cup.
Mane should and will win it but in the long run CAF has to revise the terms for this award. It irks that Aubameyang is even under consideration.
Posted: Tue Nov 26, 2019 4:40 pm
mahrez won AFCON, EPL, FA cup and EFL.....however CAF chose to add a striker who plays for assanal ...smh..wetin assnal don do for football since Instagram become viral?
Posted: Wed Nov 27, 2019 10:19 am
by kalani JR
Bigpokey24 wrote:mahrez won AFCON, EPL, FA cup and EFL.....however CAF chose to add a striker who plays for assanal ...smh..wetin assnal don do for football since Instagram become viral?
Wasn't he the English golden boot winner?
Posted: Mon Dec 09, 2019 9:36 am
Ighalo among the final 10
Posted: Thu Oct 17, 2024 1:04 pm
by wiseone
Posted: Thu Oct 17, 2024 2:23 pm
by bret- hart
wiseone wrote: ↑Thu Oct 17, 2024 1:04 pm
looks fake.
Posted: Thu Oct 17, 2024 2:37 pm
by 1naija
I agree. No Gaza strip player, so it must be fake.
bret- hart wrote: ↑Thu Oct 17, 2024 2:23 pm
looks fake.
Posted: Thu Oct 17, 2024 6:16 pm
by King Futcha
1naija wrote: ↑Thu Oct 17, 2024 2:37 pm
I agree. No Gaza strip player, so it must be fake.
bret- hart wrote: ↑Thu Oct 17, 2024 2:23 pm
looks fake.
agent zero has no shame.
Posted: Thu Oct 17, 2024 6:34 pm
Hmmm, Diaz won the CL and Laliga. It’s a tough call but I think Lookman could win it.
Posted: Thu Oct 17, 2024 7:20 pm
by airwolex
Low key Kongi, you have become a double agent. Smh
Posted: Thu Oct 17, 2024 7:30 pm
by Tobi17
airwolex wrote: ↑Thu Oct 17, 2024 7:20 pm
EMIR na my guy but something snapped inside of him, his takes on here have been strangely anti-Nigerian lately, not sure why but I hope he comes around.
Posted: Thu Oct 17, 2024 7:42 pm
by trae_z
This rumour is everywhere but I see no official announcement from any of CAF's media handles.
So fake it is.
Posted: Thu Oct 17, 2024 7:58 pm
Tobi17 wrote: ↑Thu Oct 17, 2024 7:30 pm
EMIR na my guy but something snapped inside of him, his takes on here have been strangely anti-Nigerian lately, not sure why but I hope he comes around.
You Locos won't even allow open debate without suggesting one is anti Nigerian. There's a reason Diaz is shortlisted for Apoy. He won Laliga and champions league,. Though I'm not too familiar with him, he must have played a role big enough for him to be considered. Imho, Lookman should win but it's only because I watched him more than the others which ages me biased.
Posted: Thu Oct 17, 2024 8:04 pm
by Enugu II
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Thu Oct 17, 2024 7:58 pm
You Locos won't even allow open debate without suggesting one is anti Nigerian. There's a reason Diaz is shortlisted for Apoy. He won Laliga and champions league,. Though I'm not too familiar with him, he must have played a role big enough for him to be considered. Imho, Lookman should win but it's only because I watched him more than the others which ages me biased.
It is not about locos but about principles. This is the AFOY and performance in African competition should be the BIG DEAL. On that, Lookman should win hands down.
If CAF gives it to someone else then let CAF continue to undermine and undervalue its own competitions.
Posted: Thu Oct 17, 2024 9:11 pm
Enugu II wrote: ↑Thu Oct 17, 2024 8:04 pm
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Thu Oct 17, 2024 7:58 pm
It is not about locos but about principles. This is the AFOY and performance in African competition should be the BIG DEAL. On that, Lookman should win hands down.
If CAF gives it to someone else then let CAF continue to undermine and undervalue its own competitions.
Diaz is a Moroccan international though he recently switched to Morocco, his entire performance will be considered.
Posted: Thu Oct 17, 2024 9:59 pm
by bret- hart
This does not look like the real shortlist. Normally CAF will list like 20 players then later they trim it down to the top 3 nominees for the ceremony. This looks fake. Also Diaz should not be in the top 3 ahead of the likes of Salah and Guressy. That another clue that this is fake.
Posted: Fri Oct 18, 2024 1:01 am
by Enugu II
bret- hart wrote: ↑Thu Oct 17, 2024 9:59 pm
This does not look like the real shortlist. Normally CAF will list like 20 players then later they trim it down to the top 3 nominees for the ceremony. This looks fake. Also Diaz should not be in the top 3 ahead of the likes of Salah and Guressy. That another clue that this is fake.
Bret-hart
You have a compelling point, indeed.