We need a real coach

This just isn't good enough! We need ro win 3 away games and 3 home games to qualify for the WC. We need a coach that actually works as a coach not an administrator parading as a coach.

The task ahead is too big for Eguavoen, he has never done it and can't do it. Yes, The team is playing more attractive football but there's no structure, the game plan lacks detail and game management is suspect.
We need a coach that can plan and manage every detail of the game and get results.
onovo
Re: We need a real coach

Post by onovo »

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Fri Oct 11, 2024 6:42 pm This just isn't good enough! We need ro win 3 away games and 3 home games to qualify for the WC. We need a coach that actually works as a coach not an administrator parading as a coach.

The task ahead is too big for Eguavoen, he has never done it and can't do it. Yes, The team is playing more attractive football but there's no structure, the game plan lacks detail and game management is suspect.
We need a coach that can plan and manage every detail of the game and get results.
We can as well appoint you as the coach. Hopefully you qualify us for the world cup.

onovo wrote: Fri Oct 11, 2024 7:05 pm
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Fri Oct 11, 2024 6:42 pm This just isn't good enough! We need ro win 3 away games and 3 home games to qualify for the WC. We need a coach that actually works as a coach not an administrator parading as a coach.

We can as well appoint you as the coach. Hopefully you qualify us for the world cup.
Great idea! I will delegate my duties to a real coach.

Clowns-R-us!

what a daft thread. Go and pay the coach nah.. just spamming this forum and driving everyone off

Kai! Utter foolishness of a post. :roll:

Trust me EMIR, the present coaching or even Eguavoen is by far the least of our worries right now. I seriously feel this team needs a world class sports psychologist, if you like hire Pep Guardiola...he's not the one that will come onto the pitch and teach Chukwueze when to make a simple pass or shoot at a gaping goal-post at his mercy...or Boniface timing his runs better etc, this core issues are personnel-related, no new world class coach will wave the magic wand and suddenly make these guys make better decisions.

Tobi17 wrote: Fri Oct 11, 2024 7:23 pm Trust me EMIR, the present coaching or even Eguavoen is by far the least of our worries right now. I seriously feel this team needs a world class sports psychologist, if you like hire Pep Guardiola...he's not the one that will come onto the pitch and teach Chukwueze when to make a simple pass or shoot at a gaping goal-post at his mercy...or Boniface timing his runs better etc, this core issues are personnel-related, no new world class coach will wave the magic wand and suddenly make these guys make better decisions.
Why is it that the players have been good enough for every team they’ve play for so far but need a world class psychologist when they get to SE? That’s a dead giveaway that it’s the team that needs a shrink.

Delete this nonsense thread.
Was it Eguavoen that told them to miss all the chances we got? Under Eguavoen we've played one of the best football in a while.
Stop this nonsense thread you always see up after every game to condemn the coach. It's already boring.

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Fri Oct 11, 2024 7:31 pm
Tobi17 wrote: Fri Oct 11, 2024 7:23 pm Trust me EMIR, the present coaching or even Eguavoen is by far the least of our worries right now. I seriously feel this team needs a world class sports psychologist, if you like hire Pep Guardiola...he's not the one that will come onto the pitch and teach Chukwueze when to make a simple pass or shoot at a gaping goal-post at his mercy...or Boniface timing his runs better etc, this core issues are personnel-related, no new world class coach will wave the magic wand and suddenly make these guys make better decisions.
Why is it that the players have been good enough for every team they’ve play for so far but need a world class psychologist when they get to SE? That’s a dead giveaway that it’s the team that needs a shrink.
Now that's the question you should be asking, cause we've seen this same conundrum under different coaches in the past decade with largely the same crop of players! so I doubt a new coach will change that endemic problem...something just doesn't seem right with the our players turn to mental midgets the moment they don the GWG.

This isn't a Eguaveon problem or any new coach for that matter

God help us in these qualifiers, because we can't help ourselves...
Its going to be squeaking in the bum all the way, esp the WCQ...

The team football is so poor one doesn't know where to start...

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

txj wrote: Fri Oct 11, 2024 7:44 pm God help us in these qualifiers, because we can't help ourselves...

Has there been a SE team in recent years that hasn't been poor? Even if we manage to qualify to the mundial, we will mostly likely go there to make up numbers and display our fancy kits like a fashion parade as usual...you sound like a stranger to your own national team.

I'll appreciate the small wins at the moment and hope for the best of what the future brings it I were you... except you want an outright overhaul of the whole team, then we have a whole new conversation for another time.

Tobi17 wrote: Fri Oct 11, 2024 7:54 pm
txj wrote: Fri Oct 11, 2024 7:44 pm God help us in these qualifiers, because we can't help ourselves...

Has there been a SE team in recent years that hasn't been poor? Even if we manage to qualify to the mundial, we will mostly likely go there to make up numbers and display our fancy kits like a fashion parade as usual...you sound like a stranger to your own national team.

I'll appreciate the small wins at the moment and hope for the best of what the future brings it I were you... except you want an outright overhaul of the whole team, then we have a whole new conversation for another time.
These are folks with agendas, damn the consequences. For those that want their foreign coach, how much are they contributing to that foolish act? Fools!!!

People here just watch the game for entertainment purpose but don't really understand how the game should be played or how to build a team. We huffed and puffed against Rwanda and Libya but only managed 1 goal in 180 mins of open play. The game today was disjointed , lacked detail and game management was poor.

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Fri Oct 11, 2024 8:02 pm

People here just watch the game for entertainment purpose but don't really understand how the game should be played or how to build a team. We huffed and puffed against Rwanda and Libya but only managed 1 goal in 180 mins of open play. The game today was disjointed , lacked detail and game management was poor.
At the end we won after a legit goal and PK for us were denied; with several gilt edged chances wasted (that's not Egus fault)...maybe you should give credit to the Libyans for defending doggedly with such determination, and if we win again away to Libya, then we've sealed our AFCON qualification without a single loss (which is a new record these days for an underperforming SE).

Eguavoen can then decide to say "my job here is done" and return to his desk job that pays him more...maybe you will finally have your oyinbo magic-wand wielding coach that will come in and qualify us to the world cup with near flawless football. Relax Emir, you will soon get your prime Barca football soon (hopefully).
Last edited by Tobi17 on Fri Oct 11, 2024 8:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.

There is one thing consistent with all these poor performances.

It certainly isn't the coach.

It's not the players either.

What is the common denominator ?

vancity eagle wrote: Fri Oct 11, 2024 8:11 pm There is one thing consistent with all these poor performances.

Exactly the questions we should be asking! Only a clown will blame this issues on an interim coach whom in all honesty is only doing us a favor out of sheer patriotism by taking on this job, ask yourself why none of the foreign coaches that were interviewed for the job ended up taking it...the common denominator is THE NFF.

Eguavoen is NOT the issue here, he has actually done a fantastic job if you look at how relative antecedents of qualifiers under previous coaches, his team hasn't conceded a single goal yet, that's a new record probably deserving of some tactical inputs on his part.

Tobi17 wrote: Fri Oct 11, 2024 8:16 pm
vancity eagle wrote: Fri Oct 11, 2024 8:11 pm There is one thing consistent with all these poor performances.

Exactly the questions we should be asking! Only a clown will blame this issues on an interim coach whom in all honesty is only doing us a favor out of sheer patriotism by taking on this job, ask yourself why none of the foreign coaches that were interviewed for the job ended up taking it...the common denominator is THE NFF.

Eguavoen is NOT the issue here, he has actually done a fantastic job if you look at how relative antecedents of qualifiers under previous coaches, his team hasn't conceded a single goal yet, that's a new record probably deserving of some tactical inputs on his part.

You cannot be serious!!!

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

txj wrote: Fri Oct 11, 2024 8:23 pm

You cannot be serious!!!
But there's the lie txj?

Eguavoen would have chosen to not accept the interim job, man gets paid well enough in his technical director job by FIFA...no coach seems to want to take the job under the NFF including the foreign ones...why are you guys willfully blind to the deeper issues affecting the national team?

Tobi17 wrote: Fri Oct 11, 2024 8:27 pm
txj wrote: Fri Oct 11, 2024 8:23 pm

You cannot be serious!!!
But there's the lie txj?

Eguavoen would have chosen to not accept the interim job, man gets paid well enough in his technical director job by FIFA...no coach seems to want to take the job under the NFF including the foreign ones...why are you guys willfully blind to the deeper issues affecting the national team?

But HE CHOSE THE JOB!!!!

What part of his decision do you not understand?

If you accept a job, you become responsible for it.

And you are obligated to perform...

we have 3 draws and 1 loss.. it can never get worse. We've had 3 games, three clean sheets, maximum points at home. if we did that in the WCQs we won't have been in this mess . We are practically playing the same teams in both qualifiers, 2 more WCQs vs Rwanda and one more vs Benin. I will take my chances with EGU at this stage. We should have had Maximum points, however CAF and it's referees are all in some crazy conspiracies to mess with the SE

Bigpokey24 wrote: Fri Oct 11, 2024 8:54 pm

we have 3 draws and 1 loss.. it can never get worse. We've had 3 games, three clean sheets, maximum points at home. if we did that in the WCQs we won't have been in this mess . We are practically playing the same teams in both qualifiers, 2 more WCQs vs Rwanda and one more vs Benin. I will take my chances with EGU at this stage. We should have had Maximum points, however CAF and it's referees are all in some crazy conspiracies to mess with the SE
KPOM

Bigpokey24 wrote: Fri Oct 11, 2024 8:54 pm

The fact that Eguavoen threw away the last WC ticket and gave us the worst Afcon result we've had in decades is no longer in your memory. Now he's the savior after huffing and puffing to beat Benin,Rwanda and Libya. This is the lack of hindsight and foresight that's kept us poor for generations. The man that couldn't do it last time isnthe best man This time mentality. Going along to get along.