SUPER EAGLES' UPCOMING GAMES: Italy & Germany......

With plethora of qualifiers next year, it will be tough to fix these games but not impossible. This supports the post Dammy made not too long ago.....
Nigeria: NFF Lines Up Italy, Germany Friendlies for Super Eagles
https://allafrica.com/stories/201912170049.html

17 DECEMBER 2019
This Day (Lagos)
By Femi Solaja with Agency Report

With the high profile friendly match against Brazil two months ago still fresh in the mind, there are strong indications that the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF), is looking forward to keeping the momentum by organising top friendly matches for the Super Eagles next year.

According to http://www.bsn.com.ng, former World Champions, Italy and Germany top the list national teams the Glasshouse wants to play friendly matches with the Super Eagles next year.

The NFF will not be looking the way of countries below Nigeria in FIFA's ranking.

The matches will come up during the FIFA's official windows. The FIFA's official or friendly windows are March 23-31, August 31-8 September, October 5-13 and November. 9-17.

NFF General Secretary, Mohammed Sanusi spoke exclusively to Opera News: "We want to maximise the FIFA's windows by playing quality matches. It is not about playing matches but about quality opposition to strengthen the Super Eagles".

The Nigerian national team will play qualifiers in the Africa Cup of Nations and World Cup next year.

Sanusi said that the Eagles needed tough European opposition to keep them in shape.

"It is fairly a long time since we played Italy and we will want to take them on again. We also need a friendly match against Germany", he enthused.

"We are not interested in teams below us in FIFA's ranking.

"There is one thing the friendly against Brazil did, it helps to boost and give Eagles the necessary confidence", he explained.

Nigeria fell one nil to Senegal, held Ukraine to 2-2 draw before drawing Brazil one all in Singapore in their last friendly match.

Before the World Cup finals in Brazil in 2014, Nigeria played 2-2 all in a build up match towards the finals.

While Nigeria lost 1-0 to Germany in April 1998 in Cologne.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
Re: SUPER EAGLES' UPCOMING GAMES: Italy & Germany......

Excellent.

But wait....!!!!!

we should pull out against Italy..their racism get as e be

kali

Post by kali »

A game against the Netherlands would be good as would a game against France.

You should play teams that you are actually likely to win, Ironically many of these teams are ranked higher than Italy and Germany.

ANC wrote:You should play teams that you are actually likely to win, Ironically many of these teams are ranked higher than Italy and Germany.
But that will cause Nigerians to say they are playing nobodies, so at least if they beat Sierra Leon 2-0 and draw 2-2 with Germany Nigerians will see progress, why run from the best when you’ll have to meet them if you want to win something?

Bigpokey24 wrote:we should pull out against Italy..their racism get as e be
Remember Roma supported the Super Eagles in the last world cup, so I hope we play Italy at the Stadio Olympico. Dont be too quick to bundle everyone into the same camp. Besides, beating Italy in Italy (not avoiding them) will be the best way to silence racists.

Both excellent excellent friendlies though. We are now consistently on the invite list of AAA teams.

Bigpokey24 wrote:we should pull out against Italy..their racism get as e be
Poland,Ukraine and Egypt are also known to have a large amount racists but we played them in recent times so why not play Italy?
Racism is everywhere,Africans have a lot of haters even in Africa as you can see I mentioned Egypt!

This just sounds like a wishlist...

Enugu II wrote:With plethora of qualifiers next year, it will be tough to fix these games but not impossible. This supports the post Dammy made not too long ago.....

"There is one thing the friendly against Brazil did, it helps to boost and give Eagles the necessary confidence", he explained.
Don´t know whether to laugh or cry at this highlighted comments....

Enugu II wrote:With plethora of qualifiers next year, it will be tough to fix these games but not impossible. This supports the post Dammy made not too long ago.....

Chief...what's funny about the statement?
Or what's sad about it?
Oya, humour us. :taunt:

Damunk wrote:Chief...what's funny about the statement?
Or what's sad about it?
Didn´t know the friendly against Brazil was to help boost and give necessary confidence lacking in the team :winking:

maceo4 wrote:This just sounds like a wish list...
Great discernment.
Many here are quick to dismiss many teams as minnows, but when they kick our butt
in real competition, that's when reality sinks in.
Hope these ITKs remember Madagascar!!!

joao wrote:
Great discernment.
Many here are quick to dismiss many teams as minnows, but when they kick our butt
Oga Mace dey talk A this one dey talk Z, wetin come correlate your point with wetin Mace dey try yarn now? Kai!

Damunk wrote:Chief...what's funny about the statement?
Or what's sad about it?
Didn´t know the friendly against Brazil was to help boost and give necessary confidence lacking in the team :winking:
See play on words.
Context my brother. Context.
It was all about the outcome of the game - a result which you found difficult to appreciate. So you hung with the 'possession' and 'shots-on-target' wailers.

Of course, if Brazil had trounced them 5-0 (or even less), it would have done nothing for their confidence.
Chief, this is logic 101 nah...c'mon!
Chai! :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

joao wrote:
Great discernment.
Oga Mace dey talk A this one dey talk Z, wetin come correlate your point with wetin Mace dey try yarn now? Kai!
Bomboy, abeg no fear, talk wetin dey you mind.
I know say Engrish no be your first language, but I don 'correlate' maceo yarn finish
with my first line. Then I come add another yarn about ITKs like you wey think say football
na arithmetic.
Abeg, come again o!

What do you think? I suggest you cry. Go ahead do so

joao wrote:
Great discernment.
What is it with you, Bigpokey24 and the Madagascar game? A game played with nothing to lose and so cared less? Come on!

joao wrote:
Great discernment.
What is it with you, Bigpokey24 and the Madagascar game? A game played with nothing to lose and so cared less? Come on!
Oga Odas, I'm just pointing out how some herein underrated Madagascar before the match
and the disappointment they expressed after we got a whipping. Many on this site still do not believe that
there is a sort of parity in the game, and the idea of 'masters of the game' is slowly dying off with so-called
'minnows' announcing their arrival to compete. Only lazy or casual observers of the game will dispute this.
Our continuing superiority complex, even in Africa, needs be discarded for a better team approach to getting
more competitive rather than the hyping of talents.
Cheers!!!

joao wrote:
joao wrote:
Great discernment.
Oga Odas, I'm just pointing out how some herein underrated Madagascar before the match
and the disappointment they expressed after we got a whipping. Many on this site still do not believe that
there is a sort of parity in the game, and the idea of 'masters of the game' is slowly dying off with so-called
'minnows' announcing their arrival to compete. Only lazy or casual observers of the game will dispute this.
Our continuing superiority complex, even in Africa, needs be discarded for a better team approach to getting
Cheers!!!
Are you now justifying losing to Mada#$%^&ingascar?

When the same Rohr tells anyone that wants to listen that we shouldn't be expecting to beat teams we have no business beating.

So what business does Mada#$%^&ingascar have beating the Eagles?
The pedigree of their players?
The pedigree of their local league?
The teams they play for?
Their FIFA ranking?
The resources they devote to their team?

Reasons Rohr readily give when he loses to 'better' teams.

joao wrote:
joao wrote:
Great discernment.
Cheers!!!
Are you now justifying losing to Mada#$%^&ingascar?
I never justified the loss. Just making the case, that winning is never assured in any competition.
A competition is never a coronation, else interest in matches will be diminished.
When the same Rohr tells anyone that wants to listen that we shouldn't be expecting to beat teams we have no business beating.
Without pretending to be a psychologist, maybe that was his way of luring his opponents into a relaxed mode. :roll: :lol:
Would you prefer he boasts about trashing the opposition?
So what business does Mada#$%^&ingascar have beating the Eagles?
The pedigree of their players?
The pedigree of their local league?
The teams they play for?
Their FIFA ranking?
The resources they devote to their team?

Reasons Rohr readily give when he loses to 'better' teams.
On paper and antecedent, prior to ACON 2019, Madagascar would be thought to be no match for the SE.
It is arrogance, over-hyping of players and capabilities that results in surprise and anger when defeats like
what we saw happen occurs.
Sports competitions, like the market, cannot and should not be seen as simple predictable endeavors, else
there will be no need for anyone to bother showing interest. Competition breeds progress, as anyone has a
chance if they prepare and play with focus.
Cheers!!!

What do you think? I suggest you cry. Go ahead do so
:atc: :atc: :atc: too, instead na :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: