There Are No Star Players In The Nigerian National Team -Roh

emjay
There Are No Star Players In The Nigerian National Team -Roh

Post by emjay »

Super Eagles Of Nigeria head coach Gernot Rohr in an interview with Popular Radio Station Brila FM disclosed that his current side have no big Players in comparison with the National team of Old.

The 66 years old German Gaffer who guided Nigeria to the Bronze Medal in Afcon 2019 earlier this Year In Egypt Told OAPs of Brila FM that..

" When you see out Players, which one of them is playing in Big teams? We don't have Anymore compared to the Big Players we had before"

He further compared the current super eagles team to the legendary team consisting of Jay Jay Okocha, kanu and Enyeama stating that ..

"where are the Okochas, Kanus and Enyeamas? We don't have."

"We have young Players, we have good team with Good spirit but we don't have the stars which we had before"

"I hope we can go back to that time because now we have young with Future but our strength is the team and I hope with our strength we can go far."

https://www.footynaija.com.ng/2019/12/f ... riker.html

Gernot Rohr Last week revealed the only reason he can invite a player from the NPFL, into the National team.

https://www.footynaija.com.ng/2019/12/r ... could.html

Football fans, Do you Agree with Rohr on this?
Re: There Are No Star Players In The Nigerian National Team

Once Eze and Ejaria agree to play for us we will have stars and big players once again. :thumb:
Last edited by EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA on Fri Dec 20, 2019 3:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Ndidi is a border line star today.
If he was playing for any other top team other than Leicester he would be called a star.
Osimhen and Chukwueze are future stars assuming they continue their natural progression.
Iwobi, Moses Simon, Nacho, Aribo, Uzoho,...all have potential to evolve into stars as well.

Stars are not created overnight. They are nutured and groomed until one day they accomplish great things, then they shine.
2022 is going to be a big year for the Super Eagles.

Our stars of yesteryears were not born as stars. They evolved into global stars. Finidi, JJ, Kanu, Enyeama, Taribo
I expect a few of our young stars to similarly evolve over time: Ndidi, Chukwueze, Osimhen, Iwobi, Uzoho and Awaziem.
heavyd

Post by heavyd »

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote:Once Eze and Ejaria agree to play for us we will have stars and big players one again. :thumb:
Sometimes... on very few occassions you actually speak some sense :taunt:
YNWA

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote:Once Eze and Ejaria agree to play for us we will have stars and big players one again. :thumb:
If they were stars already England wouldn’t give them up with ease would they?If true Ejaria should soon gain permission by FIFA but let’s see what happens if Eze joins Spurs!

Using Rohr’s logic, when did we EVER have big players? When did OKOCHA play for a big team? Kanu did but for less than half his career. Our highest profile players were Kanu, Finidi and Ikpeba, to some extent...But even they didn’t do it for long or for most of their national team career.

Though I agree that talent is important in NT success, sometimes NT play can be a leading indicator of future club success. If the question is whether we have talent, I would say the answer is an unequivocal Yes. Rohr has at his disposal, more talent than his immediate predecessors

why is this news?

If they were stars already England wouldn’t give them up with ease would they?If true Ejaria should soon gain permission by FIFA but let’s see what happens if Eze joins Spurs!
KPOM. Nothing else to add.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

deanotito wrote:Using Rohr’s logic, when did we EVER have big players? When did OKOCHA play for a big team? Kanu did but for less than half his career. Our highest profile players were Kanu, Finidi and Ikpeba, to some extent...But even they didn’t do it for long or for most of their national team career.

Though I agree that talent is important in NT success, sometimes NT play can be a leading indicator of future club success. If the question is whether we have talent, I would say the answer is an unequivocal Yes. Rohr has at his disposal, more talent than his immediate predecessors
PSG is a big team.

b@st@ard!

This man continues to behave like the way the Nazis behaved, when they were talking down on the jews to mentally break them. :oops:

If being a big player and playing for big teams equals success.

The SE has defied logic.

Tunisia´94 was won with the core of the team not playing in Big teams.

South Africa' 13 even defied more Rohr logic with 2/3 of not playing in Big teams.

This coach has nothing to offer, other than excuses!

danfo driver wrote:b@st@ard!

This man continues to behave like the way the Nazis behaved, when they were talking down on the jews to mentally break them. :oops:
Wow! Are u really ignorant? Nazis, jews ? Is this about football anymore? This is unprecedented ignorance even on CE. Check what’s in your heart fool. It ain’t that serious, it’s about football in these parts.

... All the coach is saying is that team work, rather than individual brilliance is the bane of his team and in this structure, no player is considered more important than the other.

That aside, talking about Star Status, JJ, Kanu, Taribo, Amokachi , Yekini in their prime will stroll into the current squad and have the current crop of players tying their shoe laces..

Mr Shows wrote:... All the coach is saying is that team work, rather than individual brilliance is the bane of his team and in this structure, no player is considered more important than the other.
Thanks a lot, please 'TOLD dem' as Zeby would say.

What Rohr is naive about is the power of juju. Our current players are good on their own strength and skills, but can anyone say with a straight face that the goals Kanu was scoring from obscure angles at Arsenal did not have principalities behind it? BTW, can we really say JJ was a super star? Then that Ugandan woman on YouTube is a super star too, because she can do the exact things okocha used to do ....juggle the ball.

The only real super stars we've had are Yobo, kanu (with questions) Finidi, Amunike (before injury did him in). Mikel was a star also.

Mr Shows wrote:... All the coach is saying is that team work, rather than individual brilliance is the bane of his team and in this structure, no player is considered more important than the other.

That aside, talking about Star Status, JJ, Kanu, Taribo, Amokachi , Yekini in their prime will stroll into the current squad and have the current crop of players tying their shoe laces..
You mean basis, right?
Typo.

1naija wrote:What Rohr is naive about is the power of juju. Our current players are good on their own strength and skills, but can anyone say with a straight face that the goals Kanu was scoring from obscure angles at Arsenal did not have principalities behind it? BTW, can we really say JJ was a super star? Then that Ugandan woman on YouTube is a super star too, because she can do the exact things okocha used to do ....juggle the ball.

The only real super stars we've had are Yobo, kanu (with questions) Finidi, Amunike (before injury did him in). Mikel was a star also.
Ok

PLEASE STOP THIS NAZI JEWS COMPARISON.I T IS IN VERY VERY BAD TASTE AT BEST.

ANC wrote:

PLEASE STOP THIS NAZI JEWS COMPARISON.I T IS IN VERY VERY BAD TASTE AT BEST.
Did the Nazis try to talk down the jews in order to break them, mentally, or not? Are you afraid of history? I am sorry, it happened and there is simply nothing you can do.

Only an simple minded man tries to hide from history, as he is certain to repeat his mistakes.

You mean basis, right?
Typo.
Correction noted. Thanks Chief :thumb:
kali

Post by kali »

He is right:

Amunike - Barcelona
Oliseh - Ajax, Borussia Dortmund, Juventus
Kanu - Ajax, Inter, Arsenal
Okocha - PSG
Ikpeba - Monaco
Finidi - Ajax

Now how many Nigerian SE players play for top 3 of EPL, Serie A, La Liga, German League:

1) Liverpool - 0
2) Leicester - 1 (Ndidi)
3) Man City - 0

4) Barcelona - 0
5) Real Madrid - 0
6) Atletico Madrid - 0

7) Juventus - 0
8) Inter Milan - 0
9) Lazio - 0

10) Bayern Munich - 0
11) Leipzeig - 0
12) Dortmund - 0

13) PSG - 0
14) Marseille - 0

Damunk wrote:Our stars of yesteryears were not born as stars. They evolved into global stars. Finidi, JJ, Kanu, Enyeama, Taribo
I expect a few of our young stars to similarly evolve over time: Ndidi, Chukwueze, Osimhen, Iwobi, Uzoho and Awaziem.
Da-punk has spoken :laugh: