Page 1 of 2

NFF, nigerian journalist didn't vote oshoala

Posted: Thu Jan 09, 2020 3:31 pm
by john12

Re: NFF, nigerian journalist didn't vote oshoala

Posted: Thu Jan 09, 2020 3:32 pm
by john12
when samuel etoo said this, I thought he was just talking but look at a show of shame. your own journalist, federation failed to vote for you. even perpetual that's congratulatulating you didn't vote for you. they voted for strangers

Posted: Thu Jan 09, 2020 4:04 pm
by 1naija
john12 wrote:when samuel etoo said this, I thought he was just talking but look at a show of shame. your own journalist, federation failed to vote for you. even perpetual that's congratulatulating you didn't vote for you. they voted for strangers
So you didn't want them to vote their conscience? What if they didn't think she was the best player? If everyone voted for players from his or her country, would Oshola have won? It's the daily trust reporter that is evil.

Posted: Mon Jan 13, 2020 1:10 pm
by Damunk
john12 wrote:when samuel etoo said this, I thought he was just talking but look at a show of shame. your own journalist, federation failed to vote for you. even perpetual that's congratulatulating you didn't vote for you. they voted for strangers
So you didn't want them to vote their conscience? What if they didn't think she was the best player? If everyone voted for players from his or her country, would Oshola have won? It's the daily trust reporter that is evil.
Someone brought this up wih me at work today and I told him exactly the same thing.
Didn't even realise there was a thread on the matter here on CE.

Even if there were ulterior motives for Nigerians not voting her (as he alluded), the point is that everyone has to be free to vote for whoever they want.
Must I vote for her even if I feel there is someone better or more deserving?

Posted: Mon Jan 13, 2020 3:37 pm
by Purity
It depends..

Posted: Mon Jan 13, 2020 7:18 pm
by heavyd
Osasu is a ffiend of mine and he has been collecting so much heat for this. Oshoala has even blocked him on twitter. :???:

I think it was very immature from Oshoala. Every one is entitled to their opinion and Osasu and others only voted for the person they felt was the best.

Posted: Mon Jan 13, 2020 8:17 pm
by fabio
heavyd wrote:Osasu is a ffiend of mine and he has been collecting so much heat for this. Oshoala has even blocked him on twitter. :???:

I think it was very immature from Oshoala. Every one is entitled to their opinion and Osasu and others only voted for the person they felt was the best.
She blocked him, excellent!!!!

Posted: Mon Jan 13, 2020 11:07 pm
by 1naija
heavyd wrote:Osasu is a ffiend of mine and he has been collecting so much heat for this. Oshoala has even blocked him on twitter. :???:

That's her prerogative. But when they block her or don't invite her for crucial tournaments based on personal feelings and not her performance, she should equally accept it.

Posted: Tue Jan 14, 2020 12:08 am
by Dammy

She blocked him, excellent!!!!
:clap: :clap:

Posted: Tue Jan 14, 2020 1:15 am
by Oguleftie
1. The Falcons goalkeeper heroics was the reason they qualified for the world cup, and got to and won the African Women Cup.
So it should be the goalkeeper not Oshoala who should be vying for the women's title.

2. The other two non-naija players were better than Oshoala at both the world cup and the African cup tournaments, therefore those other two players deserve the women's title not Oshoala.

Posted: Tue Jan 14, 2020 6:31 am
by john12
I am actually offended and disgusted by what some of what you guys are posting in regards to this case. Dr. you disappointed me on this. lets be clear, even if oshosha was the least winnable player on that list, the mere fact that her country men were supposed to vote should guarantee her those votes. if you're working as a journalist, agent for NFF, and is affiliated with SE, it is an "unspoken rule" that you must vote for your countryman when competing against outsiders. Anything contrary, you're a "Sell out" and could even be relieved of your role. it's very distasteful to oshoola! In certain part of the world, what these people did is enough for her to tender her retirement. There's a famous saying on this site which states "Negros always think they should play fair" that just summarize this article

Posted: Tue Jan 14, 2020 6:59 am
by 1naija
john12 wrote:I am actually offended and disgusted by what some of what you guys are posting in regards to this case. Dr. you disappointed me on this. lets be clear, even if oshosha was the least winnable player on that list, the mere fact that her country men were supposed to vote should guarantee her those votes. if you're working as a journalist, agent for NFF, and is affiliated with SE, it is an "unspoken rule" that you must vote for your countryman when competing against outsiders. Anything contrary, you're a "Sell out" and could even be relieved of your role. it's very distasteful to oshoola! In certain part of the world, what these people did is enough for her to tender her retirement. There's a famous saying on this site which states "Negros always think they should play fair" that just summarize this article

There were 2 other Nigerian players on the list besides Oshoala. Most people think chiamaka was more deserving Nigerian player this year than her. Are you saying if they voted for the other Nigerians instead, that they did something wrong? Daily trust were being mischievous or they would have listed who they actually voted for. For her to have won, other countries officials voted for her. Are you equally upset that those officials didnt vote for their country player?

Posted: Tue Jan 14, 2020 7:53 am
john12 wrote:I am actually offended and disgusted by what some of what you guys are posting in regards to this case. Dr. you disappointed me on this. lets be clear, even if oshosha was the least winnable player on that list, the mere fact that her country men were supposed to vote should guarantee her those votes. if you're working as a journalist, agent for NFF, and is affiliated with SE, it is an "unspoken rule" that you must vote for your countryman when competing against outsiders. Anything contrary, you're a "Sell out" and could even be relieved of your role. it's very distasteful to oshoola! In certain part of the world, what these people did is enough for her to tender her retirement. There's a famous saying on this site which states "Negros always think they should play fair" that just summarize this article

There were 2 other Nigerian players on the list besides Oshoala. Most people think chiamaka was more deserving Nigerian player this year than her. Are you saying if they voted for the other Nigerians instead, that they did something wrong? Daily trust were being mischievous or they would have listed who they actually voted for. For her to have won, other countries officials voted for her. Are you equally upset that those officials didnt vote for their country player?
their country women weren't listed....so it matters not....

Posted: Tue Jan 14, 2020 10:18 am
by Dammy
It seems there's a vendetta against her, for all 5 of them not to vote for her.

Posted: Tue Jan 14, 2020 10:44 am
by Senator WIRES
Dammy wrote:It seems there's a vendetta against her, for all 5 of them not to vote for her.
:laugh: She didn't give them chop money :lol:

Posted: Tue Jan 14, 2020 11:09 am
by Akure4Life

She is entitled to blovk whoever she wants. twitter is a personal space

Posted: Tue Jan 14, 2020 1:31 pm
by heavyd
Akure4Life wrote:

Very true. :laugh:

Other Nigerians didnt vote her as Number 1 too o...
Not sure if she blocked them too...

Posted: Wed Jan 15, 2020 12:23 am
by niyi
heavyd wrote:
Akure4Life wrote:

Very true. :laugh:

Other Nigerians didnt vote her as Number 1 too o...
Not sure if she blocked them too...
She blocked him way before the votes came out. He's apparently a well-known twitter troll.

Posted: Wed Jan 15, 2020 4:09 pm
by lacidi
Oshoala blocked Osasu 2 years ago. So na bad belle dey worry Osasu. Also how did Perpetua vote Oshoala as the 5th best? No matter how you twist it, there is no way Oshoala was number 5 in Africa women footie.

Posted: Wed Jan 15, 2020 4:47 pm
by 1naija
Just like I thought, Daily Trust were being mischievous.

Every Nigerian that voted did give her some points, except Ahmed Usuf who either did not vote for anyone or did not get his votes registered.

Here is how they voted.

https://images.cafonline.com/image/uplo ... rbkhr7.pdf

Posted: Thu Jan 16, 2020 9:22 pm
by Oguleftie
lacidi wrote:Oshoala blocked Osasu 2 years ago. So na bad belle dey worry Osasu. Also how did Perpetua vote Oshoala as the 5th best? No matter how you twist it, there is no way Oshoala was number 5 in Africa women footie.
Yes, she is that far behind.
Wake up to current women football.

Posted: Thu Jan 16, 2020 10:40 pm
by felarey
The issue for the Naija voters is that she won the award without their votes.

Posted: Thu Jan 16, 2020 11:40 pm
by Adisboy
Oguleftie wrote:1. The Falcons goalkeeper heroics was the reason they qualified for the world cup, and got to and won the African Women Cup.
So it should be the goalkeeper not Oshoala who should be vying for the women's title.

2. The other two non-naija players were better than Oshoala at both the world cup and the African cup tournaments, therefore those other two players deserve the women's title not Oshoala.
Fa fa foul!! You can no longer judge with the AWCON as it took place in 2018 not 2019 which is year under consideration. So your 1st point is pure BS. This year Kgatlana has been very poor. As for the Camerounian, if it was just about the World Cup i will say yes but we are talking about a calender year where Asisat is the 2nd highest scorer currently in La liga and in the year in questing scored close to 20 goals for Barcelona including their 1st ever goal in the Champions League Final . Bro give it a rest, Asisat is moce than deserving in 2019.