ARIBO: Too Weak for African Football --- Taribo West

GET HIM OUT Rangers news: Nigeria legend Taribo West says Joe Aribo is too weak to play for his country
Mark Walker
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/ ... ribo-weak/
21 May 2020, 11:25Updated: 21 May 2020, 11:27

NIGERIAN legend Taribo West has launched an attack on Rangers midfielder Joe Aribo after claiming he's too weak to play for the Super Eagles.

Ibrox ace Aribo opted to play for Nigeria last year and has been widely praised in Africa for his performances in international football.
Aribo has scored two goals in just four appearances for Nigeria including a goal against Brazil in a friendly last year, as well as a goal against Ukraine.
But he's not convinced former Inter Milan, AC Milan and Derby County defender West, who doesn't think he's cut out to play for his country.

He believes Getafe star Oghenekaro Etebo should play ahead of Aribo instead.

West said: "I've watched Joe Aribo play for Nigeria, but in my view, it's clear he is yet to come to terms with it.
In my view, Taribo is correct but this problem is not a permanent one and can be overcome. We saw it with Iwobi in the early days but Iwobi has become comfortable with the physicality. Remarkably my own report on Aribo's recent game for the Super Eagles https://eaglecity.blogspot.com/2019/11/ ... etter.htmlreflects the same sentiment.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
Re: ARIBO: Too Weak for African Football --- Taribo West

It's too premature for West to make such a statement. He's had just one bad game. Yes he struggled against Lesotho, but that's not because Lesotho was an overly physical team. He may have just had a bad day at the office. He was very good in the other 2 games against quality opposition.

He is strong enough for World football.

Scottish football is very physical. Aribo struggled against Lesotho because of the bad plastic pitch.

Look who is talking but then again his reference point is on Stone Age football; Taribo would get red card every match if he played in today’s modern football. His Stone Age type tackling would not work in modern football of today.

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."

Dammy wrote:Scottish football is very physical. Aribo struggled against Lesotho because of the bad plastic pitch.
Kpom. Lesotho isn't even a physical team.

I even rewatched 20 minute highlights from our Benin match, and Aribo made a few good plays. This is all much ado about nothing.

I like both Etebo and Aribo, both have their strengths, and I would perhaps consider starting either based on our opponents. It is good to have these options.

we need to move from the thought that the cockney Eagles are ajebutters who will fear all physically rigorous ball. A lot of them come in prepared and informed about the differences.

kalani JR wrote:we need to move from the thought that the cockney Eagles are ajebutters who will fear all physically rigorous ball. A lot of them come in prepared and informed about the differences.
Doubt anybody thought Shittu was ajebutter lol, the guy does look frail but hasn’t shown to not be up to the task as far as physicality is concerned.

Iwobi, Ekong, Balogun etc all adjusted. Aribo will be fine.

The thought crossed my mind, but so far he's held his own.

kalani JR wrote:we need to move from the thought that the cockney Eagles are ajebutters who will fear all physically rigorous ball. A lot of them come in prepared and informed about the differences.
Doubt anybody thought Shittu was ajebutter lol, the guy does look frail but hasn’t shown to not be up to the task as far as physicality is concerned.
Don't mention that lard azz.

olu wrote:It's too premature for West to make such a statement. He's had just one bad game. Yes he struggled against Lesotho, but that's not because Lesotho was an overly physical team. He may have just had a bad day at the office. He was very good in the other 2 games against quality opposition.
Yeah, agreed. There’s more time for him to establish himself...and if you click West’s full comments via the link, he did say Aribo needs more time

My own issue with Aribo is that he tends to disappear in games

GET HIM OUT Rangers news: Nigeria legend Taribo West says Joe Aribo is too weak to play for his country
Mark Walker
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/ ... ribo-weak/
21 May 2020, 11:25Updated: 21 May 2020, 11:27

NIGERIAN legend Taribo West has launched an attack on Rangers midfielder Joe Aribo after claiming he's too weak to play for the Super Eagles.

Ibrox ace Aribo opted to play for Nigeria last year and has been widely praised in Africa for his performances in international football.
Aribo has scored two goals in just four appearances for Nigeria including a goal against Brazil in a friendly last year, as well as a goal against Ukraine.
But he's not convinced former Inter Milan, AC Milan and Derby County defender West, who doesn't think he's cut out to play for his country.

He believes Getafe star Oghenekaro Etebo should play ahead of Aribo instead.

West said: "I've watched Joe Aribo play for Nigeria, but in my view, it's clear he is yet to come to terms with it.
In my view, Taribo is correct but this problem is not a permanent one and can be overcome. We saw it with Iwobi in the early days but Iwobi has become comfortable with the physicality. Remarkably my own report on Aribo's recent game for the Super Eagles https://eaglecity.blogspot.com/2019/11/ ... etter.htmlreflects the same sentiment.
Prof EII:

Please check your PM

jette1 wrote:Look who is talking but then again his reference point is on Stone Age football; Taribo would get red card every match if he played in today’s modern football. His Stone Age type tackling would not work in modern football of today.
Taribo played for AC Milan and Inter Milan. Joe Aribo played for div 3 Charlton and useless Scottish league.

You are a number brother, so I am not surprised by you comment. :oops:

I think something similar was said about Ndidi. Look at Ndidi now? Too early to say, besides Aribo can easily adapt to African refereeing not necessarily the physicality per say and ofcourse he can also adapt to the physicality, just needs to bulk up a little and he'll be fine. It's more what the African referee allows to let go. Some of the offences they let go could quite easily collect a double Red Card in Europe, if that did indeed exist :laugh: .

You guys are basically giving credence to pace and power analysis.

kalani JR wrote:You guys are basically giving credence to pace and power analysis.
No mind dem! If na oyibo talk am ,dey go dey shout racism!
ahidjo2

Post by ahidjo2 »

Anybody listening to Taribo will think that he won the world cup for Nigeria when he played with his strength. I'm not sure Taribo watched Aribo against Brazil. Yes, that's the type of team that should be used to measure the strength of a player and not these poor African teams. Should Aribo improve on his work rate? Yes but all these talks about physicality hold no water. Players like Aribo did not grow up in a gra gra environment.
BigMuze

Post by BigMuze »

Were Algeria or Madagascar physically stronger than we were before beating us in AFCON. Doesn't make sense. Being an ex-international is no licence to express baseless sentimental opinions.
"Everyone, and particularly every true beliver, should decide which is more important to them. But as for me, I choose eternity over lifetime".

kalani JR wrote:You guys are basically giving credence to pace and power analysis.
Kalani JR.,

Actually, there is a huge and crucial difference between the two.(1) What is criticized is one is written as an enduring characteristic i.e. unchanging. In addition, it is attached to a particular racial group. (2) What is discussed here is not an enduring characteristic but a learned behavior, which can change overtime.

The above is a crucial difference between what is criticized as radicalized and what is being criticized as a learned behavior.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

jette1 wrote:Look who is talking but then again his reference point is on Stone Age football; Taribo would get red card every match if he played in today’s modern football. His Stone Age type tackling would not work in modern football of today.
Taribo played for AC Milan and Inter Milan. Joe Aribo played for div 3 Charlton and useless Scottish league.

You are a number brother, so I am not surprised by you comment. :oops:
:lol: Jette1 is a numbered pickin! i have been noticing his silly comments for quite some time now :cry:

Kalani JR.,

Actually, there is a huge and crucial difference between the two.(1) What is criticized is one is written as an enduring characteristic i.e. unchanging. In addition, it is attached to a particular racial group. (2) What is discussed here is not an enduring characteristic but a learned behavior, which can change overtime.

The above is a crucial difference between what is criticized as radicalized and what is being criticized as a learned behavior.
Prof., Aribo is strong enough.

The first shock as also with EPL, Scottish League and African Football is the level of fouls the referee will let you get away with.

Once a professional comes to terms with the no-calls he will adapt.

He will go into challenges prepared, he will not dwell on the ball...

Kalani JR.,

Prof., Aribo is strong enough.

The first shock as also with EPL, Scottish League and African Football is the level of fouls the referee will let you get away with.

Once a professional comes to terms with the no-calls he will adapt.

He will go into challenges prepared, he will not dwell on the ball...
Cell,

I agree completely. He has the physical tools to eventually adapt to the non-calls and the physical aspects. If Iwobi can, I have little doubt that Aribo will.