RUMORS: The reported search for Rohr's Replacement

Rumors are spreading on what the Federation is planning after Gernot Rohr's current term expires in June. Bear in mind that SE is unlikely to play until late June or July. Meanwhile, there are no reported meetings to renew Rohr's contract inspite of Pinnick's claim a few weeks ago that a renewal is in the works.

The media have begun to publish rumors of coaches brought up in conversation with Federation officials. Here are some names being mentioned:

1. Yusuf Salisu (doing reasonably well with Enugu Rangers)
2. Emmanuel Amuneke
3. Finidi George
4. Julian Nagelsmann
5. Antoine Kamboure
6. Vahid Halilhodzic

In my view, George is a nonstarter except as one of the assistant coaches. Yusuf is a possibility as a Caretaker if transition is bungled and late. Halilhodzic will not occur except if heavy funds are possible. Just my hunches.
Last edited by Enugu II on Fri Mar 20, 2020 1:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
Re: RUMORS: The reported search for Rohr's Replacement

Any one of those coaches will the 2022 WC for us easily. Infact, most of them can win it by the end of this yr. :thumb:

Salisu name should be removed from that list.

Nigeria is cursed sha. Bad leaders, weak people

This is one of the best news ever :clap: :clap: :clap: we do not need ****

highbury wrote:Nigeria is cursed sha. Bad leaders, weak people
just like that UK you live in ... setting up mortuaries instead of preventive measure towards corona

Enugu II wrote:Rumors are spreading on what the Federation is planning after Gernot Rohr's current term expires in June. Bear in mind that SE is unlikely to play until late June or July. Meanwhile, there are no reported meetings to renew Rohr's contract inspite of Pinnick's claim a few weeks ago that a renewal is in the works.

The media have begun to publish rumors of coaches brought up in conversation with Federation officials. Here are some names being mentioned:

2. Emmanuel Amuneke
3. Finidi George
4. Julian Nagelsmann
5. Antoine Kamboure
6. Vahid Halilhodzic

In my view, George is a nonstarter except as one of the assistant coaches. Yusuf is a possibility as a Caretaker if transition is bungled and late. Halilhodzic will not occur except if heavy funds are possible. Just my hunches.
ehmmm Uncle, are you the source of the rumors?
ahidjo2

Post by ahidjo2 »

The enemies of Nigeria are at it again. Those evil men that always look for ways of destroying any progress made in that country. Why would any sensible or reasonable country want to get rid of a coach that has performed beyond expectations? Why? I hope this is a joke and fake.
delisyomie don

Post by delisyomie don »

if replace naija should forget about world cup,
thanks

...Rohr has suffocated them as per bribe, kickbacks, side deals, hence they want a new person.
With the list being tabled, they may be wanting a local coach they have screw anyway they want.
The mofos couldn't it to a white man.
After all this years a thief pocket gotta be dry. Bunch of idiots :curse:

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote:Any one of those coaches will the 2022 WC for us easily. Infact, most of them can win it by the end of this yr. :thumb:
...if current coach is sidelined/removed, this your post will be resurrected by the end of this yr.

Enugu II wrote:Rumors are spreading on what the Federation is planning after Gernot Rohr's current term expires in June. Bear in mind that SE is unlikely to play until late June or July. Meanwhile, there are no reported meetings to renew Rohr's contract inspite of Pinnick's claim a few weeks ago that a renewal is in the works.

2. Emmanuel Amuneke
3. Finidi George
4. Julian Nagelsmann
5. Antoine Kamboure
6. Vahid Halilhodzic

King Yobo's name is not on the list.

Dumb move. Rohr is doing a good job and should continue.

Current comparative record as it stands to date.

DATA SOURCE:
https://www.transfermarkt.com/stephen-k ... 550/plus/1?
saison_id=&verein_id=3444&liga=&wettbewerb_id=&trainer_id=

https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/gernot- ... 824/plus/1?

I fail to see the need to replace him. Patience is something badly lacking with our football. We forget that it took Westerhoff five years to build a team.

When I look back at the attacks on Didier Descamps after Euro 2016 and then see how the French persevered with him until he won the 2018 World Cup, it is easy to tell that patience pays off. We are on a roll, we are drawing with Brazil and Rohr is gradually building a team. Replacing him now will be suicidal.

Ayo Akinfe wrote:I fail to see the need to replace him. Patience is something badly lacking with our football. We forget that it took Westerhoff five years to build a team.

When I look back at the attacks on Didier Descamps after Euro 2016 and then see how the French persevered with him until he won the 2018 World Cup, it is easy to tell that patience pays off. We are on a roll, we are drawing with Brazil and Rohr is gradually building a team. Replacing him now will be suicidal.
Ayo, How dem wan share money dem dey look for.

Bigpokey24 wrote:This is one of the best news ever :clap: :clap: :clap: we do not need ****
It will soon be clear you are dreaming and your wish won't happen. Keep being happy, it will soon turn into cry.

ahidjo2 wrote:The enemies of Nigeria are at it again. Those evil men that always look for ways of destroying any progress made in that country. Why would any sensible or reasonable country want to get rid of a coach that has performed beyond expectations? Why? I hope this is a joke and fake.
I believe it's just a rumor, began by those who are looking to have their clients hired. I hope they end up crying for their failures

Sir V wrote:

2. Emmanuel Amuneke
3. Finidi George
4. Julian Nagelsmann
5. Antoine Kamboure
6. Vahid Halilhodzic

King Yobo's name is not on the list.

That's why it's not a valid list.

BTW, I don't think the NFF can afford to or should maintain Rohr at the current salary, especially with the current low oil prices and the economic situation in the country. I don't see them hiring a higher profile coach either. I personally don't have any problem with not renewing Rohr's contract giving the current economic circumstance, eventhough I think he has done an excellent job for the team. If we can't afford Rohr, and our local coaches can work together, then I would prefer a team comprising of Finidi, Amunike, and Yobo, with Yobo as the overall Manager. Among the three, he has the most experience as a leader (captain) and will command more respect from our younger players. Finidi and Amunike can be the technical experts, while Yobo handle the political aspect of the position... dealing with the NFF and the Presidency. He is well respected globally and had a fantastic international globally recognized name.

Damunk wrote:Current comparative record as it stands to date.

DATA SOURCE:
https://www.transfermarkt.com/stephen-k ... 550/plus/1?

https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/gernot- ... 824/plus/1?
S.Keshi : AFCON gold 2013,( undefeated Brazil 2014 WCup 2nd round
****: AFCON 2019triple golden bronze lost 2 matches( madagascar) let in 7 goals WCup Russia 2018 3 games lights out out

Nah they should keep Rohr

mcal wrote:...Rohr has suffocated them as per bribe, kickbacks, side deals, hence they want a new person.
With the list being tabled, they may be wanting a local coach they have screw anyway they want.
The mofos couldn't it to a white man.
After all this years a thief pocket gotta be dry. Bunch of idiots :curse:
Nigeria is a difficult place, Pinnick handed the U17, U20 and Olympic teams to them and we know the end result.
They're all now focused on the SE and if Pinnick bows to their pressure, the SE would go the way of the age grade teams.

in this particular case, the Nigerian public must be held accountable should rohr contract not getting renewed and SE going downhill. Their impatience caused NFF to start panicking. the irony of this situation is that a new coach will be mandated to
1) Qualify for ANC and reach semi finals
2) Qualify for World cup

The same exact goal that Rohr was mandated to achieve and he achieved. in 3 years time, when the new coach is building DELUSIONAL fans will call for his head and the cycle continues.