ROHR: Manager analysis

Posted: Thu Apr 16, 2020 10:53 pm
by The YeyeMan
Gernot Rohr: The Man from Mannheim on a mission
Taken from Breaking the Lines
Gernot Rohr’s announcement as Nigeria manager on August 9, 2016 was met with little fanfare as he was still an unknown quantity in West Africa at the time. It was understandable due to his relatively unsuccessful managerial stints at Niger and Burkina Faso prior to his appointment, but he has certainly made every Super Eagles fan aware of his presence ever since.

In November 2019, the International Federation of Football History & Statistics (IFFHS) ranked Rohr amongst the world’s top 20 national team managers. Four months prior, Rohr led Nigeria to 3rd place at the 2019 African Cup of Nations (AFCON).

After being narrowly eliminated in the semifinals by the eventual victors — Algeria — via a last minute Riyad Mahrez free kick, Super Eagles fans called for the German to be sacked. Just like legendary France manager Aimé Jacquet (winner of the 1998 FIFA World Cup), who coached Rohr at Girondins de Bordeaux during the 1980s, Jacquet was also criticized by fans for having outdated methods.

To understand Rohr’s methods as Nigeria’s manager, let’s take a trip down memory lane looking at his career and what influenced his managerial style on the African continent four decades later.
Since taking the job, Rohr has won more games than any other national team manager on the continent — 21 wins, 7 draws and 10 losses in 38 official games. If we take each win as three points and each a tie as one, Rohr has amassed a record 70 points out of a possible 114.
Not only is Rohr Nigeria’s longest serving manager, but he’s also managed the second highest number of official games (38), behind the late Stephen Keshi (43), with a higher point per game ratio (1.81), compared to Keshi’s (1.58) according to transfermarkt.com.
Much more here:
https://breakingthelines.com/manager-an ... a-mission/

Re: ROHR: Manager analysis

Posted: Fri Apr 17, 2020 12:53 am
by The YeyeMan
Bearing in mind Gernot Rohr is a Top 20 National manager according to IFFHS & also by his steady results so far, it’d be sad to not see how this Nigerian side progress under his tutelage as we try to qualify for the 2022 World Cup in Qatar & the 2021 AFCON.

Posted: Fri Apr 17, 2020 4:50 am
by deanotito
Article has a lot of schoolboy errors but in general, pretty good.

Posted: Fri Apr 17, 2020 5:43 am
by Damunk
The YeyeMan wrote:Gernot Rohr: The Man from Mannheim on a mission
Gernot Rohr’s announcement as Nigeria manager on August 9, 2016 was met with little fanfare as he was still an unknown quantity in West Africa at the time. It was understandable due to his relatively unsuccessful managerial stints at Niger and Burkina Faso prior to his appointment, but he has certainly made every Super Eagles fan aware of his presence ever since.

In November 2019, the International Federation of Football History & Statistics (IFFHS) ranked Rohr amongst the world’s top 20 national team managers. Four months prior, Rohr led Nigeria to 3rd place at the 2019 African Cup of Nations (AFCON).

After being narrowly eliminated in the semifinals by the eventual victors — Algeria — via a last minute Riyad Mahrez free kick, Super Eagles fans called for the German to be sacked. Just like legendary France manager Aimé Jacquet (winner of the 1998 FIFA World Cup), who coached Rohr at Girondins de Bordeaux during the 1980s, Jacquet was also criticized by fans for having outdated methods.

To understand Rohr’s methods as Nigeria’s manager, let’s take a trip down memory lane looking at his career and what influenced his managerial style on the African continent four decades later.
Since taking the job, Rohr has won more games than any other national team manager on the continent — 21 wins, 7 draws and 10 losses in 38 official games. If we take each win as three points and each a tie as one, Rohr has amassed a record 70 points out of a possible 114.
Not only is Rohr Nigeria’s longest serving manager, but he’s also managed the second highest number of official games (38), behind the late Stephen Keshi (43), with a higher point per game ratio (1.81), compared to Keshi’s (1.58) according to transfermarkt.com.
Much more here:
We've been saying all this for a while here on CE with statistical backup, but they say we are "emotional" and suffer from 'WOWOism".
So these guys too must be stricken by the same mental disease :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Posted: Fri Apr 17, 2020 5:48 am
by Damunk
deanotito wrote:Article has a lot of schoolboy errors but in general, pretty good.
Kindly point them out.
No vex. :thumb:

Posted: Fri Apr 17, 2020 6:33 am
by deanotito
deanotito wrote:Article has a lot of schoolboy errors but in general, pretty good.
Kindly point them out.

I’ll humor you:

“One only has to look at the Super Eagles’ 4-2 defeat to an Argentine side that included Lionel Messi and Sergio Agüero in 2018 — with Nigeria’s full-backs often joining the wingers in attack, overloading the flanks and creating options for midfielders. It’s what Rohr has done throughout his time as a manager.”

Said match never happened. Nigeria did not lose. We won. Messi was not there. The game was in 2017. As far as articles go, those errors show the writer is extremely sloppy .... but I’ll give him credit for at least attempting to go analytical on Rohr’s performance

Posted: Fri Apr 17, 2020 7:08 am
by fabio
The article is very subjective. It´s not well researched, or the researcher chosen to ignore certain timelines in Rohr football national coaching career (namely Niger Republic and Burkina Faso).

The author devotes three paragraphs and 193 words to Rohr 2 years reign has coach of Gabon (21 February 2010 - 5 February 2012). However, only one short paragraph and 36 words to 2 years and two month as coach of Niger Republic (5 September 2012 - 21 October 2014) and 10 months as Burkina Faso (25 February 2015 - 22 December 2015) coach.

24 months in Gabon: Lavish praise.

36 months in Niger and Burkina Faso: Airbrushed.
Everton’s Alex Iwobi, Bordeaux’s Josh Maja, Udinese’s William-Troost Ekong and Rangers’ Joe Aribo have all decided to represent Nigeria on the international stage and play under Rohr. This certainly wasn’t the case back in the day, when even lesser-known players such as Sidney Sam rejected the chance to play for the Super Eagles.
At the very least, the author could have properly research before making claiming that some of the above players represented Nigeria because of Rohr.

Alex Iwobi debut: 2015. Rohr appointed 2016.
William-Troost Ekong debut:2015. Rohr appointed 2016.

The author seems to have forgotten about other players (of Nigerian parentage) born outside Nigeria who have represented the SE, before Rohr become coach.

In the same way Sidney Sam said no to SE before Rohr, Tammy and Tomori said no to SE under Rohr.

Posted: Fri Apr 17, 2020 9:15 am
by Damunk
deanotito wrote:
Kindly point them out.

I’ll humor you:

“One only has to look at the Super Eagles’ 4-2 defeat to an Argentine side that included Lionel Messi and Sergio Agüero in 2018 — with Nigeria’s full-backs often joining the wingers in attack, overloading the flanks and creating options for midfielders. It’s what Rohr has done throughout his time as a manager.”

Said match never happened. Nigeria did not lose. We won. Messi was not there. The game was in 2017. As far as articles go, those errors show the writer is extremely sloppy .... but I’ll give him credit for at least attempting to go analytical on Rohr’s performance
It was actually a genuine question.
Look at the time of my post: 4:48am.
I had only just got home and scanned The Yeyeman's post and wanted your heads up on the main article's errors.
Why the sarcasm?

Posted: Fri Apr 17, 2020 9:32 am
by fabio
Damunk wrote:It was actually a genuine question.
I had only just got home and scanned The Yeyeman's post and wanted your heads up on the main article's errors.
Why the sarcasm?
I be know sey, you no read the article :tic: (na your way now, when you hear Rohr :taunt: ) because you want take style style won yab :D . Hope sey you dey ok :smile: Your UK number still dey work?

Posted: Fri Apr 17, 2020 9:37 am
by deanotito
deanotito wrote:
Kindly point them out.

I’ll humor you:

Why the sarcasm?
My error then. No wahala

Posted: Fri Apr 17, 2020 10:27 am
by Damunk
Damunk wrote:It was actually a genuine question.
Why the sarcasm?
I be know sey, you no read the article :tic: (na your way now, when you hear Rohr :taunt: ) because you want take style style won yab :D
Na Yeyeman's summarising post I read. I trust him to be fair and...unemotional :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:
Hope sey you dey ok :smile: Your UK number still dey work?
Never changes bro.
I'm fine o.
Thanks. :thumb:

Posted: Fri Apr 17, 2020 10:28 am
by Damunk
deanotito wrote:
Kindly point them out.

I’ll humor you:

Why the sarcasm?
My error then. No wahala
:thumb:

Posted: Fri Apr 17, 2020 11:53 pm
by Odas
The YeyeMan wrote:Gernot Rohr: The Man from Mannheim on a mission

Much more here:
We've been saying all this for a while here on CE with statistical backup, but they say we are "emotional" and suffer from 'WOWOism".
So these guys too must be stricken by the same mental disease :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
... which is 'wowoism.' Let's wait and see what Bigpokey24 and his cohorts has got to say about this