Page 2 of 5

Re: Another one in the bag!

Posted: Wed May 06, 2020 12:01 pm
by fabio
Another big fish!

Excellent....

The new global brand is taking shape.

Thanks to our agent turned chief scout from the UK with the special software.

Posted: Wed May 06, 2020 1:39 pm
by maceo4
Interesting, I remember watching some show where he stated it would be really weird turning out for Nigeria, he doesn’t have any real connection with the country, hopefully the likes of analogue and Ekong with a similar background can help him settle. But he’s a decent player.

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.goal.c ... c3u66hqolw

Posted: Wed May 06, 2020 1:59 pm
Dammy wrote:I just heard from a very reliable source that Bournemouth's Danish U21 midfielder, Phillip Billing, has agreed a nationality switch to play for Nigeria.
Guys, what do you think?=
Are we sure this isn't the 'Big Fish' referred to a few days ago by.....Oh!
Na you sef! :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
God forbid bad thing!

Posted: Wed May 06, 2020 2:25 pm
by heavyd
Dammy wrote:I just heard from a very reliable source that Bournemouth's Danish U21 midfielder, Phillip Billing, has agreed a nationality switch to play for Nigeria.
Didnt know he was Nigerian :shock:
He is a good player.
Solid and strong.
a good addition if true.
I would have thought he has a very good chance of representing Denmark very soon.
interesting...

Posted: Wed May 06, 2020 3:07 pm
by pajimoh
Go get Eze.

Posted: Wed May 06, 2020 3:32 pm
In November 2018, Billing turned down an approach to switch his international allegiance to the Nigeria national team.[24] In March 2019, he received his first call-up to the Denmark national team.[25]

Posted: Wed May 06, 2020 3:50 pm
by Dammy
Definitely not! I have mixed feelings about this player.

Posted: Wed May 06, 2020 3:51 pm
by Dammy
Definitely not! I have mixed feelings about this player.
fabio wrote:Another big fish!

Excellent....

The new global brand is taking shape.

Thanks to our agent turned chief scout from the UK with the special software.
Yes o, the special software just dey catch fish anyhow. Better than the analogue days that produced a dodgy squad for the 2014 WC!

Posted: Wed May 06, 2020 4:32 pm
by vancity eagle
truetalk wrote:Slightly better version of John Ogu in his prime. Very good addition to the squad.

I liked John Ogu, BTW. Don't understand all the hate he got on here. He was a solid & talented pro. Maybe he should have moved on from Israel in his prime.
Well my suspicions are probably right then cuz Ogu was nothing to write home about. He was OK, but too slow for the modern game. Ogu in his prime would not get into this SE team.

I watched the highlight clip for Billing, and tbh he looks like nothing special at all. Just a tall guy who is good at heading the ball. I honestly dont see this guy being very involved in SE.

Maybe I am missing something.

Posted: Wed May 06, 2020 4:41 pm
by Damunk
truetalk wrote:Slightly better version of John Ogu in his prime. Very good addition to the squad.

I liked John Ogu, BTW. Don't understand all the hate he got on here. He was a solid & talented pro. Maybe he should have moved on from Israel in his prime.
Well my suspicions are probably right then cuz Ogu was nothing to write home about. He was OK, but too slow for the modern game. Ogu in his prime would not get into this SE team.

I watched the highlight clip for Billing, and tbh he looks like nothing special at all. Just a tall guy who is good at heading the ball. I honestly dont see this guy being very involved in SE.

From the little we have seen, he'll probably struggle to get into our midfield. But maybe he offers something different. Who knows, he might even have latent defensive abilities that could make him another utility player.

Posted: Wed May 06, 2020 5:28 pm
by Dammy
heavyd wrote:
Didnt know he was Nigerian :shock:
He is a good player.
Solid and strong.
a good addition if true.
I would have thought he has a very good chance of representing Denmark very soon.
interesting...
His full name is Phillip Anyawu-Billing.

Posted: Wed May 06, 2020 5:32 pm
by vancity eagle

Posted: Wed May 06, 2020 5:45 pm
by 1naija
Bia, alll you foreign based dads, Una no sabi born goalkeepers?

Talking about Goalkeepers, there is an 11 year old kid that keeps for my son's middle school soccer team. His Dad is a Nigerian and fellow RCCG members :thumbs: :thumbs: . If that boy keeps up, he will in discussion for a National team (US or Nigeria) goalkeeper in 10 years! He is that good!

Posted: Wed May 06, 2020 5:47 pm
by 1naija
What da hell? Is he only good at throw in?

Okocha was a fantastic thrower of the ball!

Posted: Wed May 06, 2020 7:12 pm
by olumide

Billing is a much better athlete than Ogu, which is his main attribute, tbh. I would compare him more to a version of Ndidi that is better in the air, but worse at everything else. He covers a lot of ground, which is very different to Ogu's game. Also has a very good throw, which someone also mentioned.

Posted: Wed May 06, 2020 8:33 pm
by truetalk
1naija wrote:Bia, alll you foreign based dads, Una no sabi born goalkeepers?

Talking about Goalkeepers, there is an 11 year old kid that keeps for my son's middle school soccer team. His Dad is a Nigerian and fellow RCCG members :thumbs: :thumbs: . If that boy keeps up, he will in discussion for a National team (US or Nigeria) goalkeeper in 10 years! He is that good!

https://www.transfermarkt.com/arthur-ok ... ler/503769

He needs to be in the mix right now. No need to wait until he makes a Premier League start like Saka.

Just one minute in a competitive game & we have him in the bag.

Posted: Thu May 07, 2020 2:39 am
by 1naija
truetalk wrote:

He needs to be in the mix right now. No need to wait until he makes a Premier League start like Saka.

He is 11. Maybe 12 now.

Posted: Thu May 07, 2020 2:51 am
by Undertaker

He was too slow in his prime..............................

Posted: Thu May 07, 2020 5:20 am
by TonyTheTigerKiller
Damunk wrote:Not watched him but let's see. The jury is out on how good he is.

I'm more focussed on central defenders now.
I'm keeping a keen eye on the progress of the two young defenders Valentine Ozornwafor and Tosin Adarabioyo. :idea:
Based on his showing at the U20 World Cup, I won’t hold my breadth on Ozornwafor :idea: :!:

Posted: Thu May 07, 2020 7:49 am
by truetalk
truetalk wrote:

He is 11. Maybe 12 now.

I was answering your question on why Nigerians abroad are not giving birth to Goalkeepers and referring to Arthur Okokwo.

I am not one of those forumers that recommend players I have not watched.

In 5 years we can talk about your son's friend and the Golden Eaglets' camp. I should have perfected my agency, sorry scouting skills by then :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:

Posted: Thu May 07, 2020 8:14 am
by Damunk
truetalk wrote:

He is 11. Maybe 12 now.

I was answering your question on why Nigerians abroad are not giving birth to Goalkeepers and referring to Arthur Okokwo.

In 5 years we can talk about your son's friend and the Golden Eaglets' camp. I should have perfected my agency, sorry scouting skills by then :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:
I have two friends like that.
The first is even an ex Enugu Rangers player who later came over to the UK to train as a lawyer.
His son is now about 16 years old and has hit 6'4" already. His father says he has tried his best but his son has absolutely no interest in sport.

The other has a son slightly younger, maybe about 14, 15. When I last saw this boy he was about 13 and 6'5" tall and already dwarfing both parents. Now I hear he is pushing 6'9". Though Nigerians, I think they live in Kenya. Again, no interest in football but father says he watches basketball.

I've told them Nigeria is looking for goalkeepers but it seems these kids prefer their playstations. :roll:

Posted: Thu May 07, 2020 11:02 am
by pajimoh
truetalk wrote:

He is 11. Maybe 12 now.

I have two friends like that.
The first is even an ex Enugu Rangers player who later came over to the UK to train as a lawyer.
His son is now about 16 years old and has hit 6'4" already. His father says he has tried his best but his son has absolutely no interest in sport.

The other has a son slightly younger, maybe about 14, 15. When I last saw this boy he was about 13 and 6'5" tall and already dwarfing both parents. Now I hear he is pushing 6'9". Though Nigerians, I think they live in Kenya. Again, no interest in football but father says he watches basketball.

I've told them Nigeria is looking for goalkeepers but it seems these kids prefer their playstations. :roll:
If they are not already aspiring goal keeper then one can confidently say "look elsewhere" :tic:

Posted: Thu May 07, 2020 2:01 pm
https://www.owngoalnigeria.com/2020/05/ ... s-to-rohr/

While we’re looking all over Europe for Nigerian players some that have being in our system are getting left behind. Sadiq Umar Is now literally shut out of SE due to arrival of Dessers. Sadly, he’s now talking about switching his allegiance to Italy once he gets a chance at a bigger club. I know that’s how it is in international football but its sad to see these young boys grow in our system and live their whole life dreaming about playing for SE then get dumped for someone that has never even being to Nigeria. There’s just something about it that doesn’t sit well with me.