Segun Odegbami Slams Gernot Rohr

Re: Segun Odegbami Slams Gernot Rohr

Ugbowo wrote:Nonsense.

Tunde’s work that has unearthed plenty gems is now used as a stick to beat Rohr.

What a joke.
Which gems has he unearthed?
Bro,

How far? Hope u dey quarantine well.

Jamilu Collins was unknown to many before his call up. Joe Aribo as well.

Rohr seems to be aware of everybody we talk about and some we don't (look for his IG live interview w Colin).

He has also been a big part in the recruiting of Ejaria, Eze, Osarenren and apparently Saka.
Nigerian Coaches Good Enough for SE -- Odegbami

Nigerian coaches are good enough for Super Eagles – Odegbami
Moses Ojewunmi 0 May 9, 2020 10:06 am
posting.php?mode=post&f=1
Nigerian coaches are good enough for Super Eagles – Odegbami

Former Nigeria international, Segun Odegbami has hinted that Nigeria have capable to handle the Super Eagles and the NFF should not have renewed the contract of current boss Gernot Rohr.

Odegbami who played prominent in Nigeria’s 1980 African cup of Nations victory has continued to call on the Nigeria Football Federation to give local coaches chances to thinker the team.

Rohr’s current deal expires in June and and reports had it that the Federation and Franco-German tactician is nearing new agreement that will keep in the job until after the 2022 FIFA World Cup in Qatar.

” I have been an advocate of the end of foreign coaches in Nigerian football and I stand by that,” he said.

“It is very insensitive of people at this time in our history considering where we are now with the coronavirus opening our eyes to the new realities of the world for us to continue to go back to something that has failed us.”

” Rohr didn’t succeed, he took all that money, didn’t spend his time in this country.

“Besides, his scorelines are not anything that Nigerians have not done before so we must put an end to this slavery and colonial mentality,” Odegbami added.
He added that Nigeria is blessed with quality coaches who deliver at the highest level and they should be encouraged.

“Nigerians at this point have to look inwards, everything around us shows that these people out there don’t love us so they can’t love our country more than us.
“We have Nigerians who can do the job, they have always done the job and they can still do the job. He said.
If you use the quotes from this content, you legally agree to give www.brila.net the News credit as the source and a backlink to our story. Copyright 2020 Brila Media.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
Re: Nigerian Coaches Good Enough for SE -- Odegbami

The man never played modern football , he needs to stfu .

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote:The man never played modern football , he needs to stfu .
So he can't have an opinion no matter how ridiculous you think it is? :roll: :roll: :roll:

imehjunior wrote:

Tunde’s work that has unearthed plenty gems is now used as a stick to beat Rohr.

What a joke.
It's pathetic, but that's Nigerians for you!
Nothing Naijarian about that.

Often told you Rohr fan boys that if you want to retain Rohr for none football winning reasons it is very okay.

But don't attack folks that point out that he is being handsomely rewarded while not winning $#%.

Then again, some of you guys are very Arsenalistic in your thinking...
I count myself as SE fan and not a "manager in charge fan". But I will support anyone in charge until it becomes so obvious that a change is needed.

That said, you mean because he didn't win the AFCON or the WC, he should be sacked?
Maybe you haven't noticed, we've only won AFCON 3 times since it was instituted. If we keep sacking managers because they did not win AFCON in their first or second attempt, then we might as well get used to managers coming and going every 2 years or so.

Lets hold nerve and see what he's setting up with all the young, new blood being recruited to the team.
A change now would be more damaging than helpful, both in confirming those who have agreed to play for the SE and the stability of the current team.

Rohr qualified the team for the AFCON and the WC. The next milestone is to see a lot of improvement in the team and a discerning style of play.

Rome wasn't built in a day and a team that is capable of winning multiple tournaments will take time.
Uncle, it is okay for him to keep the job for none football winning reasons.

Perfectly ok!
Senior man, please what footballing target did he not meet ? Honestly just trying to learn.
I would've fired him at the World Cup.

That's me.

My understanding is our minimum for retaining his job is a second-round finish.

What a joke.
It's pathetic, but that's Nigerians for you!
Nothing Naijarian about that.

Often told you Rohr fan boys that if you want to retain Rohr for none football winning reasons it is very okay.

But don't attack folks that point out that he is being handsomely rewarded while not winning $#%.

Then again, some of you guys are very Arsenalistic in your thinking...
I count myself as SE fan and not a "manager in charge fan". But I will support anyone in charge until it becomes so obvious that a change is needed.

That said, you mean because he didn't win the AFCON or the WC, he should be sacked?
Maybe you haven't noticed, we've only won AFCON 3 times since it was instituted. If we keep sacking managers because they did not win AFCON in their first or second attempt, then we might as well get used to managers coming and going every 2 years or so.

Lets hold nerve and see what he's setting up with all the young, new blood being recruited to the team.
A change now would be more damaging than helpful, both in confirming those who have agreed to play for the SE and the stability of the current team.

Rohr qualified the team for the AFCON and the WC. The next milestone is to see a lot of improvement in the team and a discerning style of play.

Rome wasn't built in a day and a team that is capable of winning multiple tournaments will take time.
Uncle, it is okay for him to keep the job for none football winning reasons.

Perfectly ok!
What do you mean by 'non football-winning reasons'?

Is he losing an unacceptable number of games?
Are these 'non-winning' assessments based on two key games (out of a total of 38) that really coulda gone either way?
Do they dwarf everything else?
What is his WDL record compared to other coaches?

Or is it because he is being paid a fraction more than Keshi?
Keshi was on $31k/month as far back as 2012: https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/28897545
In fact at one point he was negotiating for more in a new contract.

Keshi or any deserving Nigerian coach today would (and should) be earning the same, and rightly so too.
In 2015, Oliseh was on the equivalent (at the time) of about $25,500/month, tax free.

So the excuse that Rohr must perform miracles because his salary is 'out-of-this-world-compared-to-Naija-coaches' is a bit of a convenient untruth.

There is a reason why the modern world has gone the way of 'continuous assessment' and left behind the 'almighty one-off exam' as the be-all and end-all of life in the universe.
Miracles?

Naaa Chief, just asking that he meet the very minimum... Get out of his group in a World Cup.

Again, you all are free to lower the standard for him for none football winning reasons.

highbury wrote:
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote:The man never played modern football , he needs to stfu .
So he can't have an opinion no matter how ridiculous you think it is? :roll: :roll: :roll:
Fans are not taking it easy on Odegbami for his comments on Rohr in completesportsnigeria.com.
They're insulting the legend with some telling him to go and die.