Never Ending Foreign v Local Coach Debate for Super Eagles
If you can take a moment to sit back, relax, and then attempt to make sense about how Nigeria has decided to fire and select its senior national team manager across time, you will sure make little sense of it. It is a cyclical abyss. By this one refers to the fact that it is cyclical because same things are repeated over time. It is an abyss because it appears to be a bottomless pit of hell, to which a conclusion, an endpoint, or a resolution is never in sight.
The Reality About National Team Performance and Coaching Nigeria
We must come to terms with the fact that the cyclical abyss of football manager hiring in Nigeria has done very little to improve the fortunes of our national team. What is known is that coaches who have become perceived as successful in Nigeria -- Father Tiko, Clemens Westerhoff, Stephen Keshi, and Shuaibu Amodu -- have one thing in common. They have demonstrated ability to obtain a pattern (not just in one event) of good results as defined above. They have either been in the AFCON Top Four multiple times and/or gone beyond the group phase of the World Cup. Importantly, they cut across the indigenous v foreign divide.
The full piece exists by clicking on the link below:
https://eaglecity.blogspot.com/2020/05/ ... cting.html
Last edited by Enugu II on Fri May 15, 2020 10:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
Re: Never Ending Foreign v Local Coach Debate for Super Eagl
Enugu II. I'm a fan of your write up and perhaps a bit of feedback is not out of place.
I tried clicking to check out your perspective and I get an odd / "never happened" request to enter my gmail user and password. I decided not to proceed.
Now -it may just be me and if so , disregard. IF however your readership has/is declining, then perhaps the friction or effort required to access your write up has now reached a point where potential clients chose not to proceed.
I tried clicking to check out your perspective and I get an odd / "never happened" request to enter my gmail user and password. I decided not to proceed.
Now -it may just be me and if so , disregard. IF however your readership has/is declining, then perhaps the friction or effort required to access your write up has now reached a point where potential clients chose not to proceed.
- Cellular
- Site Admin
- Location: Nembe Creek...Oil Exploration. If you call am bunkering na you sabi.
Not just you.icee wrote:Enugu II. I'm a fan of your write up and perhaps a bit of feedback is not out of place.
Couldn't get to the said piece.
Even after logging unto gmail.
My apologies for posting the wrong link. Here is an appropriate link:
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics