Everton midfielder Alex Iwobi: Why I committed to Nigeria

Everton midfielder Alex Iwobi has explained committing to Nigeria.

Iwobi played for England throughout the youth team levels before choosing the country of his birth.

He said on social media: "I will always have my respect for England, when I played for England they gave a great opportunity, they treat me very well.

"However, I feel like I am a true Nigerian, I grew up in the Nigerian culture and when I had the opportunity to go back I felt more at home playing for Nigeria.

"I felt at home playing for England as well.

"Of course it was difficult because I was very comfortable playing for England like it's where I've grown up. I grew up in the English roots so I knew how the system works.

"But when I had the opportunity to go and trial for the U23s is when I thought there was a lot of love for football - the way I was treated there - and these times I didn't have the profile I had today. I was really excited to play for the U23s.

"Even though the organisation may be a bit different to England, I really enjoy it. Even to this day I have no regrets."

https://www.tribalfootball.com/articles ... #popup-sso
Re: Everton midfielder Alex Iwobi: Why I committed to Nigeri

iworo wrote:Everton midfielder Alex Iwobi: Why I committed to Nigeria

Everton midfielder Alex Iwobi has explained committing to Nigeria.

Iwobi played for England throughout the youth team levels before choosing the country of his birth.

He said on social media: "I will always have my respect for England, when I played for England they gave a great opportunity, they treat me very well.

"However, I feel like I am a true Nigerian, I grew up in the Nigerian culture and when I had the opportunity to go back I felt more at home playing for Nigeria.

"I felt at home playing for England as well.

"Of course it was difficult because I was very comfortable playing for England like it's where I've grown up. I grew up in the English roots so I knew how the system works.

"But when I had the opportunity to go and trial for the U23s is when I thought there was a lot of love for football - the way I was treated there - and these times I didn't have the profile I had today. I was really excited to play for the U23s.

"Even though the organisation may be a bit different to England, I really enjoy it. Even to this day I have no regrets."

https://www.tribalfootball.com/articles ... #popup-sso

Great talk by Alex!!!
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Well said!
fledy

Post by fledy »

We've not seen the best of this young man!

fledy wrote:We've not seen the best of this young man!
We are hopeful of this o!

It also helps when your moms younger bros is a living legend!
But I fully get what he means. My kids grew up abroad, but they represent Naija first and foremost.
Its the constant dosage of eba and egusi with panla that gets you to commit.

charlie wrote:It also helps when your moms younger bros is a living legend!
But I fully get what he means. My kids grew up abroad, but they represent Naija first and foremost.
Its the constant dosage of eba and egusi with panla that gets you to commit.
WORD