Twitter Nigeria. Rufai Vs Enyeama

Most of the twitter generation like me only have Tunis 94, US 94 and France 98 to judge Rufai . Morroco 88 is slightly vague as I saw only the final.
How good was Rufai ?
Re: Twitter Nigeria. Rufai Vs Enyeama

Enyeama.. 2 CAF, 1 AFCON and 2 world cups. 2, Nigerian title with enyimba

Purity wrote:Enyeama.. 2 CAF, 1 AFCON and 2 world cups. 2, Nigerian title with enyimba
Twitter historians don start again...

Longevity and accomplishments in terms of titles won Enyeama hands down. Rufai in his prime was a better GK though.

Enyeama is/was miles ahead of Rufai. Comparing both in Afcons and worldcups.. Enyeama alone saved our defense so many times
Last edited by Bigpokey24 on Tue Jun 09, 2020 2:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Trophies count.

World cup exposure, AFCON exposure. Local league.

Rufai na legend too.. But Enyeama won many things..

Purity wrote:Trophies count.

World cup exposure, AFCON exposure. Local league.

Rufai na legend too.. But Enyeama won many things..
Who was better in their prime?

Enyeama is underated because he does not have the size of Rufai.

Enyeama kept 11 consecutive clean sheets in Ligue 1 matches during the first half of the season. On 8 December 2013, Enyeama finally conceded a goal after playing 1,062 minutes of Ligue 1 football in an away match against Bordeaux, during which he was beaten by Landry N'Guémo's deflected strike in the 27th minute. He thus came within 114 minutes of equalling Gaëtan Huard's Ligue 1 goalkeeping record, set in 1993.
BigMuze

Post by BigMuze »

Rufai obviously cuts a cult hero figure but realistically these two are not on same level. Enyeama miles ahead.
"Everyone, and particularly every true beliver, should decide which is more important to them. But as for me, I choose eternity over lifetime".

Peter " the cat" Rufai, in his prime was better than Enyeama. He was in total command of his box and plucked balls in the air easily something that was a problem for Enyeama until later in his career.
chuks69

Post by chuks69 »

Rufai had an eye problem later in his career. headers from Corner kicks were almost a sure goal during Rufai's prime. Rufai was good, but france 98 rubbbished his legacy.
They are both the best two Gks we have had.. In overall Enyeama clinches it..
afc##

Dammy wrote:Peter " the cat" Rufai, in his prime was better than Enyeama. He was in total command of his box and plucked balls in the air easily something that was a problem for Enyeama until later in his career.
I watched Rufai in his prime, and i can say without hesitation that Rufai was NEVER at any point at Enyeama's level. While Rufai at thia point was plucking ball easily from African club footballers, Enyeama at his prime was keeping clean sheets against the likes of Ibrahamovic, Cavani,etc at club level and stopping Messi from scoring at the World Cup. Enyeama has won CAF best goal keeper 3 times. There's just no comparison. Enyeama is the greatest Nigerian goalkeeper by a country mile.
onovo

Post by onovo »

Both are good, Enyeama is surely the best ! Rufai has an advantage of playing with the golden generation.

heavyd

Post by heavyd »

What kind of rubbish highlights are these?
YNWA

heavyd wrote:
What kind of rubbish highlights are these?
exactly. those were his best highlights , Rufai had a problem, he dives with both hands opned, just look the the goal CIV scored via the corner in 1994 or even the final vs Zambia...Rufai was terrible defending high balls

Enyeama for me is the greatest Naija goalie of all time. Played in 3 world cups, 2 of which he performed very well, won an ANC ,and captained the SE. He also has the distinguished record of playing more games than any other goalie. When he was at Lille he was also rated as one of the best goalies in France and Europe.

Rufai was a very good goalie too. Many on this forum are too young to have seen his best years. He also lost a few of his prime years cos he was frozen out of the SE despite being the most talented keeper available. Though he was older, his performance in the 98 world cup also somewhat tarnishes his legacy. Also Rufai spent a good amount of time on the bench for some of the European clubs he played for.

olu wrote:Enyeama for me is the greatest Naija goalie of all time. Played in 3 world cups, 2 of which he performed very well, won an ANC ,and captained the SE. He also has the distinguished record of playing more games than any other goalie. When he was at Lille he was also rated as one of the best goalies in France and Europe.

Rufai was a very good goalie too. Many on this forum are too young to have seen his best years. He also lost a few of his prime years cos he was frozen out of the SE despite being the most talented keeper available. Though he was older, his performance in the 98 world cup also somewhat tarnishes his legacy. Also Rufai spent a good amount of time on the bench for some of the European clubs he played for.
One of the best goal keepers in Europe :???:

He was playing for Lille, an European clubside.
gochino wrote:
olu wrote:Enyeama for me is the greatest Naija goalie of all time. Played in 3 world cups, 2 of which he performed very well, won an ANC ,and captained the SE. He also has the distinguished record of playing more games than any other goalie. When he was at Lille he was also rated as one of the best goalies in France and Europe.

olu wrote:He was playing for Lille, an European clubside.
gochino wrote:

He was one of the best in the world when he was Lille.

Im a Rufai fan but I give it to Enyeama. When he was on top of his game at Lille, he was the best GK in Africa and one of the best in the World.

Enyeama was a top goalie, but its a travesty to compare him to Rufai, not to mention Okalla.

SMH at some of these people...

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp