At last, the SE are back! :thumb:
Weytin?

Re: Super Eagles to play Portugal, Sept 2020

Posted: Fri Jul 17, 2020 7:29 am
by Damunk
NFF Plans Two Friendllies For Super Eagles In September
2 July 16, 2020 5:04 pm
NFF Plans Two Friendllies For Super Eagles In September

The Super Eagles will play two friendly games during the FIFA window in September, reports Completesports.com.

The games will be likely be against teams from South America and Africa.

“The arrangement is 70% confirmed,” president of the Nigeria Football Federation, Amaju Pinnick stated in an Instagram live chat on Thursday.

Read Also: Pinnick: NFF Won’t Beg Saka To Play For Super Eagles

“We hope to make use of the FIFA windows in both September and October.”

The Super Eagles last friendly encounter was against the Selecao of Brazil in October 2019.

Gernot Rohr’s charges were held to a 1-1 draw by the five-time world champions at the National Stadium, Singapore.

Their last competitive game was the 2021 Africa Cup of Nations qualifying fixture against the Crocodiles of Lesotho which they won 4-2.

By Adeboye Amosu
https://www.completesports.com/nff-plan ... september/

Copyright © 2020 Completesports.com All rights reserved. The information contained in Completesports.com may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without the prior written authority of Completesports.com.

Posted: Fri Jul 17, 2020 8:08 am
by vancity eagle
This is what I said weeks back that we should be able to play a friendly in europe despite CAF official games being cancelled for September.

Now Portugal is playing 2 Nations league games in September so I dont know how we will be playing them, unless they are doing a 3 match FIFA window, which they had discussed in order to also accomadate the Euro playoffs, but I checked and these will not start until the October window.

The other report of us playing a South American team or African team makes more sense if Portugal will not be available.

Posted: Fri Jul 17, 2020 8:18 am
by vancity eagle
How reliable is Brila ?

This report says SE will play 2 friendlies IN PORTUGAL, not against Portugal, and that the opponents will likely be from S America and AFrica.

https://www.thisdaylive.com/index.php/2 ... september/

Posted: Fri Jul 17, 2020 8:46 am
Damunk and fake news, how can the SE play Portugal. when they play two European fixtures. Epic fail

Posted: Fri Jul 17, 2020 9:59 am
by Tobi17
Friendly matches with undisclosed teams will be played in Portugal not the actual team.

Good stuff for the team, best time to see our Eagles play again, and of course see new faces like Sanusi, Ejaria, Dessers etc finally play.

Posted: Fri Jul 17, 2020 11:06 am
by ohenhen1
I will be shocked if they dont cancel the game.

Posted: Fri Jul 17, 2020 11:08 am
by ohenhen1
Travel restrictions still dey for Nigerian staff and etc. Many problems

Posted: Fri Jul 17, 2020 11:25 am
by Damunk
Tobi17 wrote:Friendly matches with undisclosed teams will be played in Portugal not the actual team.

Good stuff for the team, best time to see our Eagles play again, and of course see new faces like Sanusi, Ejaria, Dessers etc finally play.
You're obsessed. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
Why, I have no idea! :?: :?: :?:

Posted: Fri Jul 17, 2020 11:43 am
by Damunk
vancity eagle wrote:How reliable is Brila ?

This report says SE will play 2 friendlies IN PORTUGAL, not against Portugal, and that the opponents will likely be from S America and AFrica.

The Brila FM report says Rohr "just confirmed" it, suggesting it is an additional report.
All the other reports are quoting Pinnick, probably recycling each other's news reports.

Posted: Fri Jul 17, 2020 12:52 pm
Tobi17 wrote:Friendly matches with undisclosed teams will be played in Portugal not the actual team.

Wow, he corrected you, and now he is obsessed. Okkkkkkk

Posted: Fri Jul 17, 2020 2:50 pm
by Damunk

Ooops! Sorry Tobi.
That was meant for this groupie here, Fatporkey.
Apologies.

And apologies to you too Fatporkey, for inadvertently stripping you of your groupie membership. :lol: :lol: :lol:

Posted: Fri Jul 17, 2020 3:07 pm

Ooops! Sorry Tobi.
That was meant for this groupie here, Fatporkey.
Apologies.

And apologies to you too Fatporkey, for inadvertently stripping you of your groupie membership. :lol: :lol: :lol:
"Ole kuku ni gbogbo wọn

Posted: Fri Jul 17, 2020 5:01 pm
by charlie
Saka can go and eat panla.
He hasnt learned from watching other Naija origins getting discarded by Englund by the next great white hope.

E go do am like juju when he finds himself watching the next WC on TV instead of participating.

BTW, Nice friendly line-up Pinniki. Naija-Portugal will be a cracker!

Posted: Fri Jul 17, 2020 5:12 pm
by vancity eagle
vancity eagle wrote:How reliable is Brila ?

The Brila FM report says Rohr "just confirmed" it, suggesting it is an additional report.
All the other reports are quoting Pinnick, probably recycling each other's news reports.

yeah I get that I just dont see it happening with Portugal already playing 2 competative matches, unless somebody has a source that says the September window will allow 3 matchdays.

The south american and african opposition makes more sense given that official matches for those nations are cancelled.

I would like to play Uruguay or Colombia.

Posted: Fri Jul 17, 2020 6:09 pm
by Damunk
charlie wrote:Saka can go and eat panla.
He hasnt learned from watching other Naija origins getting discarded by Englund by the next great white hope.

E go do am like juju when he finds himself watching the next WC on TV instead of participating.

Ah-ah? Why the beef? :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
The kid hasn't even done or said anything yet.
He's 18 yrs old and you are already on his case like he has committed some cardinal sin.

This is why we say the debate gets too emotional too quickly.
Imagine when you were 18 and barely out of secondary school and somebody half way across the world dey beef you for weytin you never do. :lol: :lol: :lol:

Posted: Fri Jul 17, 2020 6:12 pm
by Otitokoro
With most, if not all the relevant players in Europe, how is this a problem?
Rohr is currently in Germany and he can always tap on the likes of Adelakun and Trabelsi to assist him (who are not impacted by travel restrictions) - besides, Rohr really doesn't need all his backroom staff to be present at the games.
Also, Ezenwa and Akpeyi don't need to be there. They can easily be replaced by Alampasu and the Adebayo kid from Israel.
I really do not see an issue here (if you 'pro-NPFL quota' folks are able to put your emotions aside for once).
ohenhen1 wrote:Travel restrictions still dey for Nigerian staff and etc. Many problems

Posted: Sat Jul 18, 2020 9:50 pm
by charlie
charlie wrote:Saka can go and eat panla.

Ah-ah? Why the beef? :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
The kid hasn't even done or said anything yet.
He's 18 yrs old and you are already on his case like he has committed some cardinal sin.

This is why we say the debate gets too emotional too quickly.
Imagine when you were 18 and barely out of secondary school and somebody half way across the world dey beef you for weytin you never do. :lol: :lol: :lol:
Bros, Panla no be beef, na leather :taunt:

Posted: Sat Jul 18, 2020 10:30 pm
by Gotti
Otitokoro wrote:With most, if not all the relevant players in Europe, how is this a problem?
Rohr is currently in Germany and he can always tap on the likes of Adelakun and Trabelsi to assist him (who are not impacted by travel restrictions) - besides, Rohr really doesn't need all his backroom staff to be present at the games.
Also, Ezenwa and Akpeyi don't need to be there. They can easily be replaced by Alampasu and the Adebayo kid from Israel.
I really do not see an issue here (if you 'pro-NPFL quota' folks are able to put your emotions aside for once).
ohenhen1 wrote:Travel restrictions still dey for Nigerian staff and etc. Many problems
Dude, you were making sense until that spectacularly obtuse remark...
Nothing to do with NPFL, because if we have a player in the MLS (eg, Okonkwo), it would be the same.

Next time follow your own counsel...
And put your subjugated ONO emotions aside for once. Thanks in advance. :lol:

Posted: Mon Jul 20, 2020 11:17 am
by Ayo Akinfe
My Line-up for the first of these games:

4-3-3:

****************************Osimhen*************************

**********Chukwueze**********************Kalu*************

*****************************Nwakali*************************

*************Aribo**********************Ndidi****************

***Sanusi*********Ajayi**********Ekong*************Aina***

***************************Uzoho******************************

For now, this is our strongest starting 11. There are still a few doubts though:

[1] I am not certain about our centrebacks. Do they have the pace to deal with quick forwards?
[2] Awaziem appears to be the most complete of our centrebacks
[3] When will Ebuehi be fit again?
[4] Will Ebere opt for Nigeria
[5] How stable is Nwakali's mind?
[6] Is Samuel Kalu taking his football seriously
[7] There is no natural leader in this team
[8] Is Alhassan Yusuf a better box-to-box midfielder than Aribo?
[9] Is Zaidu Sanusi the real deal?
[10] When will Samuel Chuwueze stop running into cul-de-sacs?

I am hoping that these two friendlies will address most of these issues.

Posted: Tue Jul 21, 2020 1:32 am
by jette1
Ayo Akinfe wrote:My Line-up for the first of these games:

4-3-3:

****************************Osimhen*************************

**********Chukwueze**********************Kalu*************

*****************************Nwakali*************************

*************Aribo**********************Ndidi****************

***Sanusi*********Ajayi**********Ekong*************Aina***

***************************Uzoho******************************

For now, this is our strongest starting 11. There are still a few doubts though:

[1] I am not certain about our centrebacks. Do they have the pace to deal with quick forwards?
[2] Awaziem appears to be the most complete of our centrebacks
[3] When will Ebuehi be fit again?
[4] Will Ebere opt for Nigeria
[5] How stable is Nwakali's mind?
[6] Is Samuel Kalu taking his football seriously
[7] There is no natural leader in this team
[8] Is Alhassan Yusuf a better box-to-box midfielder than Aribo?
[9] Is Zaidu Sanusi the real deal?
[10] When will Samuel Chuwueze stop running into cul-de-sacs?

I am hoping that these two friendlies will address most of these issues.
Given your highly fictional line-up; where is Ighalo

Posted: Tue Jul 21, 2020 1:39 am
by vancity eagle
Ayo is crazy if he thinks Nwakali will play AM over Iwobi, Ejuke, Aribo, Ejaria.

Let the boy play some first team football first. Jeez.

Posted: Tue Jul 21, 2020 2:15 am
by bret- hart
Ayo has started again. Hyping a player that has yet to prove himself at the highest level.