Kickback with Nedum Podcast: Eberechi Eze

Re: Kickback with Nedum Podcast: Eberechi Eze

Dammy wrote:We really should blacklist this manipulative boy. I doubt if England will cap him at full international level. BBC football just did a write-up on 11 prospects, who could gate crash the England squad for Euro 2021, he's not even mentioned.
His eyes would soon clear!
He is young and it is a big decision. Victor Moses didn't come round immediately and he turned out to be great for us.

aruako1 wrote:
Dammy wrote:We really should blacklist this manipulative boy. I doubt if England will cap him at full international level. BBC football just did a write-up on 11 prospects, who could gate crash the England squad for Euro 2021, he's not even mentioned.
He is young and it is a big decision. Victor Moses didn't come round immediately and he turned out to be great for us.
I wouldnt consider him young in the "football sense", he's at the prime age to make a decision regarding his international leanings... otherwise he might end up been another promising player stuck in the wilderness of international football at 28 years of age.
Aswani

Post by Aswani »

Aswani wrote:
jette1 wrote:. Like you said Nedum said if he had the stability at that time he wouldn’t even have any doubt of what country to play for. He mentioned that rumore he was begging for England was totally false because Nigeria no doubt would have been his first choice.
What stability exactly was Nedum talking about? Like Ehiogu (RIP), he was at best an England squad member but preferred that over playing for the Eagles.

As per the "begging for England", what exactly do those nonsense words mean? England is a country that you play for if you are good enough and neither Nedum nor Ehiogu were.

I have no issues with these British boys of Nigerian ancestry wanting to play for England over Naija but no one should turn up and start trying to rewrite history, please.

Nedum and Ehiogu would have been a fantastic centre back pairing for the Eagles, they chose not to and that is OK, albeit painful.

I hope Eze does well for England if that's his choice.
“England is country you play for if you are good enough” oh yea? So Moses and Iwobi weren’t good enough? And what stability was he talking about; must he tell you his personal day to day challenges for him to be authentic? Do you tell him yours
And for your information Nedum Is not a brutish boy with Nigerian ancestry he was In fact born in Nigeria per self report
jette1, I didn't set up a podcast and talk vaguely about "stability".

I lived and worked amongst City fans, when Nedum started breaking into the team in the mid 2000's (If memory serves). I know how very highly they rated him, what they expected from him career wise. Bear in mind City was a mid table team then at best, not the behemoth it is now.

I am aware Nedum was born in Nigeria and I don't need to be a rocket scientist to know he is now British. Nedum wanted to play for England because he feels English or British or whatever and that would have helped his profile, like I said, that is OK. Nedum Onuoha has to do what is best for Nedum Onuoha.

My concern is with being English during your career and Nigerian after it is over (George Boateng is pulling that stunt as well with Holland and Ghana). Before this gets misinterpreted, I am trying to say don't avoid playing for Nigeria during your career and then claim otherwise after it is over.

Aswani wrote:
jette1 wrote:. Like you said Nedum said if he had the stability at that time he wouldn’t even have any doubt of what country to play for. He mentioned that rumore he was begging for England was totally false because Nigeria no doubt would have been his first choice.
What stability exactly was Nedum talking about? Like Ehiogu (RIP), he was at best an England squad member but preferred that over playing for the Eagles.

As per the "begging for England", what exactly do those nonsense words mean? England is a country that you play for if you are good enough and neither Nedum nor Ehiogu were.

I have no issues with these British boys of Nigerian ancestry wanting to play for England over Naija but no one should turn up and start trying to rewrite history, please.

Nedum and Ehiogu would have been a fantastic centre back pairing for the Eagles, they chose not to and that is OK, albeit painful.

“England is country you play for if you are good enough” oh yea? So Moses and Iwobi weren’t good enough? And what stability was he talking about; must he tell you his personal day to day challenges for him to be authentic? Do you tell him yours
And for your information Nedum Is not a brutish boy with Nigerian ancestry he was In fact born in Nigeria per self report

I lived and worked amongst City fans, when Nedum started breaking into the team in the mid 2000's (If memory serves). I know how very highly they rated him, what they expected from him career wise. Bear in mind City was a mid table team then at best, not the behemoth it is now.

I am aware Nedum was born in Nigeria and I don't need to be a rocket scientist to know he is now British. Nedum wanted to play for England because he feels English or British or whatever and that would have helped his profile, like I said, that is OK. Nedum Onuoha has to do what is best for Nedum Onuoha.

My concern is with being English during your career and Nigerian after it is over (George Boateng is pulling that stunt as well with Holland and Ghana). Before this gets misinterpreted, I am trying to say don't avoid playing for Nigeria during your career and then claim otherwise after it is over.
The issue in this forum is that you guys think Football is a hobby for these players....it’s their livelihood and it is for a short period. They have to do the best thing for them and their family before national royalty comes into question.

Let’s take Chilwell....if is name is Chinenye...do you think Chelsea will pay £50m for him or even try it? Again let’s take Vardy....if he is Nigerian and Kelechi is British....do you think Kelechi won’t get more opportunities than he got?

Do you think JJ Okocha would not be a Ballon d’or candidate if he was Brazilian or English...?

This is their job...and they Livelihood...no guarantee when it will end or how...ain’t like there is a massive Pension for them after the SE....for the three Lions....there is.

So we have to celebrate the likes of Moses and Iwobi....cos they picked Nigeria despite the drawbacks and not because we are great (we will be soon- I can see it).

The once that are on the fence.....it is not Becos of lack of Love for the country but because of circumstances.....

Even ex Nigerian footballers are not “encouraging” their kids to play for SE. Moses was adopted still he played for GWG even though without Mikel, he really didn’t belong there....No way he doesn’t get a call up to the England squad when he played for conte....he was special

Iwobi was the next thing at Arsenal esp after the night in Barcelona and I know for a fact that the England coach called him.....and him & his father told him categorically that he was Nigerian Becos of his parents that’s without an international call up from us - so we should celebrate them

As for Eze....he needs a big move, as an England team prospect? He is worth a lot more than a Nigerian team prospect and so is his wages.....let’s wish him well and see what happens.

aruako1 wrote:
I wouldnt consider him young in the "football sense", he's at the prime age to make a decision regarding his international leanings... otherwise he might end up been another promising player stuck in the wilderness of international football at 28 years of age.

He is still being pulled both ways. He had wanted to play for Nigeria so his heart is with us. The England U-21 callup muddied the waters for him. He just doesn't want to make a hasty decision. We need to be patient with some of these young players and show them love. From the podcast I got the impression that he was really torn.

The guy said he would have regrets if he had played for the SE. He opened his mouth and said so in that interview. However some are still digging for the Eze dude....smh

Bigpokey24 wrote:The guy said he would have regrets if he had played for the SE. He opened his mouth and said so in that interview. However some are still digging for the Eze dude....smh
Sad to hear...seems like a hard headed chap, his regrets will change over time, then he will start saying Nigeria never approached him...

Bigpokey24 wrote:The guy said he would have regrets if he had played for the SE. He opened his mouth and said so in that interview. However some are still digging for the Eze dude....smh
He didn't say that.
He even went on to clarify what he had said.

Sad to hear...seems like a hard headed chap, his regrets will change over time, then he will start saying Nigeria never approached him...
You need to listen carefully to what was said.
Basically he was saying that he realised he didn't want to "regret" making an uninformed decision "either way" which might have happened at that early stage of his career (when he trained with the SE in London). Nedum then warned him to avoid using the word "regret" whichever nation he eventually chooses.

Seems people are hearing what they want to hear so they can justify their negative feelings towards the guy.
Maybe I should post the transcript of that section of the conversation.

Since Mourinho has blocked his move to Tottenham (which was tee'd up by Poch), it seems he will have to settle for Crystal Palace.

I assume Southgate will head to Palace to watch him regularly. :lol:

Basically he was saying that he realised he didn't want to "regret" making an uninformed decision "either way" which might have happened at that early stage of his career (when he trained with the SE in London). Nedum then warned him to avoid using the word "regret" whichever nation he eventually chooses.

Seems people are hearing what they want to hear so they can justify their negative feelings towards the guy.
I have a little time today so listening to more of it now...

danfo driver wrote:Since Mourinho has blocked his move to Tottenham (which was tee'd up by Poch), it seems he will have to settle for Crystal Palace.

I assume Southgate will head to Palace to watch him regularly. :lol:
Can you imagine, nah Crystal palace this Eze dey use the SE shakara for..kai wonders will never end. Can someone tell us where QPR finished last season

Enyi wrote:
Aswani wrote:

The issue in this forum is that you guys think Football is a hobby for these players....it’s their livelihood and it is for a short period. They have to do the best thing for them and their family before national royalty comes into question.

Let’s take Chilwell....if is name is Chinenye...do you think Chelsea will pay £50m for him or even try it? Again let’s take Vardy....if he is Nigerian and Kelechi is British....do you think Kelechi won’t get more opportunities than he got?

Do you think JJ Okocha would not be a Ballon d’or candidate if he was Brazilian or English...?

This is their job...and they Livelihood...no guarantee when it will end or how...ain’t like there is a massive Pension for them after the SE....for the three Lions....there is.

So we have to celebrate the likes of Moses and Iwobi....cos they picked Nigeria despite the drawbacks and not because we are great (we will be soon- I can see it).

The once that are on the fence.....it is not Becos of lack of Love for the country but because of circumstances.....

Even ex Nigerian footballers are not “encouraging” their kids to play for SE. Moses was adopted still he played for GWG even though without Mikel, he really didn’t belong there....No way he doesn’t get a call up to the England squad when he played for conte....he was special

Iwobi was the next thing at Arsenal esp after the night in Barcelona and I know for a fact that the England coach called him.....and him & his father told him categorically that he was Nigerian Becos of his parents that’s without an international call up from us - so we should celebrate them

As for Eze....he needs a big move, as an England team prospect? He is worth a lot more than a Nigerian team prospect and so is his wages.....let’s wish him well and see what happens.
Bro, I understand your comments very well and don't have a problem with these players if they choose to play for England or any other country.
The problem I have is when they use Nigeria to leverage their chances with their preferred options like Abraham, Tomori, Billings, Danjuma etc have done and Eze appears to be doing.
This boy visits the NFF President in his house, takes pictures, appears to give a commitment and then gets invited to the England U21 squad.

I have a little time today so listening to more of it now...
I listened and so basically when he was a lazy bum and moving from club he was happy to come train with Naija but once he had a chance with Ingurland he said hold up now, let me not make a decision I’m a regret, like being an International would be a regrettable thing. Nedum tried to save him but he let us know his true feelings. Ingurland is his preferred choice and he wouldn’t want to ruin that option by jumping to Naija to early. So to me sounding like another Tammy, oh well...

Owngoalnigeria is reporting that Saka told England to give him time to make up his mind about his international future. If true, my respect for the boy has gone up and even if he eventually settles for England, my respect for him will not diminish because he didn't use Nigeria to get England's attention.

Dammy wrote:Owngoalnigeria is reporting that Saka told England to give him time to make up his mind about his international future. If true, my respect for the boy has gone up and even if he eventually settles for England, my respect for him will not diminish because he didn't use Nigeria to get England's attention.
Not that I'm a great fan of owngoal.com, but this goes to show that there is so much that goes on behind the scenes and people i.e. fans just go with their emotions and ascribe blame and praise accordingly. They react to the little they see and hear and then reach their own conclusions.

England and Arsenal fans at this point in time will probably be insulting Southgate. Nigerian fans have already labelled the kid a ditherer simply because he hasn't made up his mind. If this story turns out to be true the boy suddenly becomes a hero. Meanwhile, na di same boy dem abuse yesterday.
Same with Eze's story.

These choices are career-defining and to be honest, I don't know whether I would have been able to make such huge life-changing choices so easily at 18 or even 21.
It so happens that at that age most of us were still being 'managed' by our parents and THEY told us what to do and what not to do.
Aswani

Post by Aswani »

Enyi wrote:
Aswani wrote: jette1, I didn't set up a podcast and talk vaguely about "stability".

Brother Enyi, I am not sure why you quoted me as our opinions appear not to be differ.

My main "interest" in this thread is to do with Nedum Onuoha having an "England or Nothing" stance during his career and now talking about "lack of stability" stopping him playing for Nigeria.

Whatever Eze decides to do, I hope he does well out of it. Same as Lukman or whomever else has Nigerian ancestry. They were brought up in the English system and England should rightfully have first dibs.

If Nedum had said in the podcast he only wanted to play for England but is a fan of the Eagles, I would not begrudge him. His life, his choice. It's the (attempt at) rewriting history that gets me.

My attitude to these guys choosing England changed when I read about Reuben Agboola and how the poor guy suffered in trying to get his appearance money from the NFA. They continued to waste his time and pulled him form pillar to post until he gave up and left the money for them.

Our best two players currently are Kelechi and Etebo, they are Nigerians born and bred. Even without those brought up in other countries systems, we would still do Ok.

Dammy wrote: Bro, I understand your comments very well and don't have a problem with these players if they choose to play for England or any other country.
The problem I have is when they use Nigeria to leverage their chances with their preferred options like Abraham, Tomori, Billings, Danjuma etc have done and Eze appears to be doing.
This boy visits the NFF President in his house, takes pictures, appears to give a commitment and then gets invited to the England U21 squad.
The boy was invited by the NFF President, he honoured an invitation. He didn´t go for a visit.

Secondly, u-21 squad seems to be a rite of passage. Once he is done with junior international football, he will make up his mind.

Dammy wrote:Let this Eze go and play for England. The new FIFA rules means that England would not waste their caps trying to cap-tie players.
He should learn from Billings who after all the shakara he did for Nigeria has not been called up by the new Danish coach, who persuaded him to turn his back on Nigeria.
You know the true story and behind the scenes with Billings....

Did Naija reach out to him first or Billings reach out first.

Was he not the big fish you teased CE about. Now, you seem happy he wasn´t called up the Danish national team.

Saka never said he needed time. He was called and told that he will be part of the U-21 and that he is being monitored. I suspect same for Eze.

I don’t think SE desperately needs Saka or Eze....they ain’t no Alaba....and we survived him. He actually came calling and SE said No.

We saw the likes of Barkley, Alli, Tomori(angel*- warned him), Tammy and co come and go and SE is still a powerhouse.

My issue is actually on the guys that DECIDED to wear the GWG....the Iwobi’s, Ekong, Balogun, Ajayi, Moses....We should celebrate them and understand the sacrifices they made and not start stupid threads like...should we swap Iwobi with Pulisic.....

Eze has pulled out of England U21 matches. No reason was given for his withdrawal.

Dammy wrote:Eze has pulled out of England U21 matches. No reason was given for his withdrawal.

viewtopic.php?f=1&t=301552&p=5604340#p5604284

Enyi wrote:
Aswani wrote:

Bro, I understand your comments very well and don't have a problem with these players if they choose to play for England or any other country.
I thought it was the other way around,didn't the NFF President visit Eze and claim he'll choose Nigeria?