Page 2 of 3

Re: Victor Osimhen Debut Hattrick For Napoli

Posted: Sat Aug 29, 2020 4:07 pm
by gochino
olu wrote:I have high expectations for Osimhen, however, I wouldn't read too much into that game. I think the team they played was lower than Serie C level.
Was actually Serie D
https://www.goal.com/en/news/its-not-li ... ykjju7nfdv
According to Goal the match lasted 45 mins and ended 10: 0

Posted: Sat Aug 29, 2020 5:41 pm
by deanotito
Victor Osimhen is World Class. No ifs, No Buts

Posted: Sat Aug 29, 2020 6:29 pm
gochino wrote:
olu wrote:I have high expectations for Osimhen, however, I wouldn't read too much into that game. I think the team they played was lower than Serie C level.
Was actually Serie D
it was 11-0.

its the second match, in which Osimhen did not play that ended 10-0

Posted: Sat Aug 29, 2020 8:47 pm
by Gotti
gochino wrote:
Was actually Serie D
It’s a ‘triangular’ match...
Napoli played against 2 different clubs.

PS: Not sure if each game lasted 45 or 60mins each.

Posted: Sat Aug 29, 2020 8:56 pm
by YUJAM
The overhyping starts again but this is nothing new on CE. The Italians are masters of defense, legal and illegal. It will be tough for him to score many goals in that league. I am excited for him though. I think he has all the tools to excel with time. I’ll be watching Serie A more this season.

Posted: Sat Aug 29, 2020 9:12 pm
YUJAM wrote:The overhyping starts again but this is nothing new on CE. The Italians are masters of defense, legal and illegal. It will be tough for him to score many goals in that league. I am excited for him though. I think he has all the tools to excel with time. I’ll be watching Serie A more this season.
I get your point, many CE folks are looking for that next thing, so they hype and set unrealistic expectations. In Seria A goals are difficult to come by, even CRon is yet to win top goal scorer in 2 season

Posted: Sat Aug 29, 2020 9:36 pm
by Mr Shows
YUJAM wrote:The overhyping starts again but this is nothing new on CE. The Italians are masters of defense, legal and illegal. It will be tough for him to score many goals in that league. I am excited for him though. I think he has all the tools to excel with time. I’ll be watching Serie A more this season.
The boy has bulked up, adding physicality to his clinical finishing. Serie A is a good ground for him to hone his skills if he is going to become one of the deadliest No.9's around.

Napoli are a team that can build around him, he is using his pace well and knows how to exploit space. My only prayer is that he stays fit and is over his early career injury spells.

Posted: Sat Aug 29, 2020 9:48 pm
Uncle, looks like this Osimhen success truly pained you to your bone marrow! :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

You are the one who said he will be bought for pittance and you laughed when we told you his fee will be astronomical. When Napoli spent a record fee for him, you ran into hiding. :thumbs: :D

I expect you to run into hiding again, beginning after the Juve game :taunt: :D

Posted: Sat Aug 29, 2020 9:50 pm
Uncle, I found your post:
YUJAM wrote:105 milla would be a monumental money miss road move. Victor is full of potential but I think he’s worth a max of 60 milla USDs
you couldnt imagine the money-miss road would be more than 50 million Euros. Napoli paid 80 million Euros. :taunt:

Posted: Sun Aug 30, 2020 1:13 am
by Benedict Iroha
Best striker since Ikpeba.

Posted: Sun Aug 30, 2020 3:20 am
by YUJAM
I get your point, many CE folks are looking for that next thing, so they hype and set unrealistic expectations. In Seria A goals are difficult to come by, even CRon is yet to win top goal scorer in 2 season
Exactly. Their football is far more defensive. Less goals.

Posted: Sun Aug 30, 2020 3:27 am
by YUJAM
Mr Shows wrote:
The boy has bulked up, adding physicality to his clinical finishing. Serie A is a good ground for him to hone his skills if he is going to become one of the deadliest No.9's around.

Napoli are a team that can build around him, he is using his pace well and knows how to exploit space. My only prayer is that he stays fit and is over his early career injury spells.
He’s definitely quite physical. Other than the past season when he had some big injury scares, he’s been healthy. So hopefully last season was just an aberration. Besides I expect before Napoli shelled out all that money they made him go through a thorough physical. But I get your point. He has to stay healthy to be successful there

Posted: Sun Aug 30, 2020 3:33 am
by YUJAM
danfo driver wrote:Uncle, I found your post:
YUJAM wrote:105 milla would be a monumental money miss road move. Victor is full of potential but I think he’s worth a max of 60 milla USDs
you couldnt imagine the money-miss road would be more than 50 million Euros. Napoli paid 80 million Euros. :taunt:
Thanks for reminding me how close I was to his valuation. They paid 70 milla upfront. Bonuses aren’t guaranteed so let’s just say they paid 70. Now tell me which is closer to 70, 105 or 60?

Posted: Sun Aug 30, 2020 3:40 am
by maceo4
Benedict Iroha wrote:Best striker since Ikpeba.
Kai, it’s been a while since we had proper APOY talent like Yeking, Ikpeba, Kanu etc...

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=gBemPXn3Quk[/video]

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=dZz71FtpGqU[/video]

Posted: Sun Aug 30, 2020 3:41 am
by YUJAM
You of all people should know better than this unnecessary hyping. :mad:

The Serie A is a defense oriented league so it may take him a bit to adapt.

Uncle, looks like this Osimhen success truly pained you to your bone marrow! :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

You are the one who said he will be bought for pittance and you laughed when we told you his fee will be astronomical. When Napoli spent a record fee for him, you ran into hiding. :thumbs: :D

Posted: Sun Aug 30, 2020 4:28 am
YUJAM wrote:
danfo driver wrote:Uncle, I found your post:
Thanks for reminding me how close I was to his valuation. They paid 70 milla upfront. Bonuses aren’t guaranteed so let’s just say they paid 70. Now tell me which is closer to 70, 105 or 60?

The 105 was in USD and your 60 was in USD as well.

So their 105m USD = 88m Euros // while your 60m USD = 50m Euros.

The deal for Osimhen from Lille to Napoli is 81m Euros

81m Euros = 96.4m USD.

Uncle:

which is closer to 81? 88 or 50? :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

which is closer to 96.4? 105 or 60? :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Posted: Sun Aug 30, 2020 4:30 am
YUJAM wrote:You of all people should know better than this unnecessary hyping. :mad:

The Serie A is a defense oriented league so it may take him a bit to adapt.

Thats what they said when he went to Belgium and then France.

In 2 weeks, Juve will answer for Santino... Thereafter, the rest of the League will also answer for Papa. :D

Posted: Sun Aug 30, 2020 8:14 am
by Gotti
Abegi, where's the "overhyping"? :blink:

He scored a hat-trick in his first 8 mins of a preseason game and was reported (with video evidence to boot), even going as far as noting the much lower quality of opposition (than what he would normally face in Serie A). Why do you consider such a reporting/discussion of actual FACTS to constitute "overhyping"? Frankly, if you want to see real overhyping, troll the archives and check out some dude who was virtually canonizing Chris Obodo on these pages a while ago ( :wink: ).

Meanwhile, it might interest you know that Victor's old club Lille only managed 35 league goals this past season, while his new club Napoli recorded 61 goals (albeit in ten more games due to the Covid-enforced premature end to the French season). Similarly, Atalanta recorded 98 goals (again in more games) than PSG's 75 (and PSG is by far the highest scoring team in France, with the next highest-scoring club being Lyon with 42). Seems your PERCEPTION (rather than reality) of both leagues is a wee bit outdated.

Posted: Sun Aug 30, 2020 11:09 am
by The YeyeMan
Gotti wrote:Frankly, if you want to see real overhyping, troll the archives and check out some dude who was virtually canonizing Chris Obodo on these pages a while ago ( :wink: ).
Kai. People don't forget shiat here. :lol: :lol: :lol:

Posted: Sun Aug 30, 2020 11:33 am
by Damunk
YUJAM wrote:
Exactly. Their football is far more defensive. Less goals.
Chief, there aren't any recent stats to support that assertion.
Serie A fairly consistently scores above the beloved La Liga and often Ligue 1 in goals-per-game averages.

As at December 2019

As at October 2018

There are more stats here, though you'll have to navigate and compute for what you want.

Go back 6 or 7 years and you might have a point.

Posted: Sun Aug 30, 2020 3:02 pm
Abegi, where's the "overhyping"? :blink:

He scored a hat-trick in his first 8 mins of a preseason game and was reported (with video evidence to boot), even going as far as noting the much lower quality of opposition (than what he would normally face in Serie A). Why do you consider such a reporting/discussion of actual FACTS to constitute "overhyping"? Frankly, if you want to see real overhyping, troll the archives and check out some dude who was virtually canonizing Chris Obodo on these pages a while ago ( :wink: ).

Meanwhile, it might interest you know that Victor's old club Lille only managed 35 league goals this past season, while his new club Napoli recorded 61 goals (albeit in ten more games due to the Covid-enforced premature end to the French season). Similarly, Atalanta recorded 98 goals (again in more games) than PSG's 75 (and PSG is by far the highest scoring team in France, with the next highest-scoring club being Lyon with 42). Seems your PERCEPTION (rather than reality) of both leagues is a wee bit outdated.
And with the risk of sounding like I am exaggerating, they'd have scored twice as much with the number of chances they created on a platter for their misfiring strikers. It was that bad.

Posted: Sun Aug 30, 2020 3:05 pm
Gotti wrote:Frankly, if you want to see real overhyping, troll the archives and check out some dude who was virtually canonizing Chris Obodo on these pages a while ago ( :wink: ).
Kai. People don't forget shiat here. :lol: :lol: :lol:
Saint Obodo di Perugia. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Posted: Sun Aug 30, 2020 5:28 pm