Just finished the First half Second time around
- It is becoming a common theme that the match I saw the second time is not the one I remember
- No way was this game as bad as people are saying, even I am guilty in this regard
- Algeria and Nigeria were both dead even. It was an even match, dare I say we actually even had the better chances to score, other than the sloppy goal at the beginning of the match
-the tired cliches about us "not being able to string together passes" is a complete lie and fabrication by either emotional people stressed at watching live games (myself included) or those with an agenda. We had some very neat passing play at times. In fact we did not give the ball away as much as I remember, and when we did it was usually when the Algerians double or triple teamed our guys with a high press.
- Our defence was SOLID. It is understandable why Rohr went back to the "Oyibo wall" Nothing was getting by these guys, and the wing backs were great as well and it is understandable why the Algerian website gave their attackers such low scores.
-Onyeka was not as bad as people made him out to be. He got disposessed once early in the game in a bad area, but other than that, he worked hard, covered lots of ground, and even tried to get into the attack part of the game. I would definately not write him off, and want to see more of him vs Tunisia.
- Ajayi also wasn't bad at DM, and he won lots of ball in the air from midfield as well as on the ground. He is an extra tall body on the pitch for set pieces.
- Onuachu is just not a fit for this SE. Not a diss on him, but we dont need that kind of forward. We need a guy who will press the defence, and a guy who is far more dynamic. Onuachu is not it, and it wasn't just about "service" He is too one dimensional, not a good fit.
- Iwobi is very talented, we are lucky to have a player like him. The hate against him needs to stop. He was everywhere, covered lots of ground, dropped back deep to make things happen, made intelligent passes and decisions. Iwobi is a G, and he can only get better.
- Kalu and Chuks were OK, but I expect a lot from them, they weren't bad, but they were just OK, they defended as well too.
- Zaidu what an upgrade from that hapless Collins. Frankly with Aina and Ebuehi both able to play left back, I struggle to see the relevance of Collins in a SE 23. I would rather take Aina, Ezibuhe, Ebuehi, Sanusi to any tournament. I hope Rohr can see things this way, since he loves players who can play multiple positions.
- Ebuehi was very good defensively and has quick recovery speed, would like to see a little more in attack.
- Chei Balogun still has it. That boy get vexxed and joins the attack to try and make something happen, I was one of those writing him off, but he is here to stay for the time being. Omeruo and Awaziem will be the ones to lose out.
Overall a very good work out so far. I am not worried about this team at all.
Now on to the 2nd half.
A few points:
1. The game was disjointed because there were two teams on the pitch who haven't played a match in 11 months. Believe me, Algeria are much better than they showed and the same thing goes for us. We had more new players than Rohr usually invites as well and the last time I remember us playing such a patchy game was in the friendly against Senegal.
2. We indeed struggled to string passes together and were consistently harried into mistakes by the Algerians and their pressing. We could definitely be better there.
3. Onyeka wasn't as poor as some of the comments in the game thread would indicate, but he also failed to seize his opportunity. He will likely get another chance against Tunisia and hopefully justifies his call up.
4. Ajayi can be an emergency DM, but shouldn't play in midfield if we can avoid it.
5. I will save the bulk of my thoughts for after the Tunisia game. It's after that game that we'll be able to more properly judge the benefits (if any) of the Super Eagles activity in this friendly window.