for the most part Rohr has got the scouting and callups correct, but as I stated earlier he made a few mistakes with this window
Onuachu is nothing new, we have seen him, he even started ANC matches for us and this guy has always been unable to fit into the team. I feel that Rohr was under pressure because of his club form and Dessers sitting bench on the very same club to call Onuachu up and start him because of his goals in training.
I really hope this Onuachu chapter has fully ended, he has had enough chances, plenty in fact, he needs to be absolutely and equivocally written off for GOOD.
He even jumped ahead of Maja, who was the one on the standby list, Onuachu wasn't even originally on it.
There is no reason why Rohr and his scouting crew have not identified the fact that Sadiq is not only tall, but quick, and very technical with goals and assists galore. NO EXCUSE TO OVERLOOK HIM.
IMO I think Sadiq is the backup for Osimehn we are looking for, its just too bad he couldn't make a proper move this transfer window.
Now to the midfield, a huge mess up by Rohr and the crew calling up a paper thin midfield with all of our injuries. I personally called this out before the game, now it is glaring as ever.
Alhassan Yusuf, Azeez should both have been called up. No excuse whatsoever to exclude Azeez. Nwakali sef should have been called up if the Covid was not an issue, which I doubt it was.
How on earth you can go into 2 matches with a midfield of Onyeka, Agu, Tijani is simply astounding.
You mention that Algeria midfield were all non starters, yes but those midfielder ALL play in Ligue 1, while we are parading a guy playing in Denmark, a youngster who just started his career in Austria, and a central defender, and we wonder why we were outplayed in midfield.
Again I have been happy with most of Rohr's decisions, but some of them have been head scratching to say the least.
The highlighted is summarily my whole point, Maceo is talking about us getting outplayed by non-starters on the Algerian side, but those Algerian midfielders despite not first starters, still play for established clubs in France. How would you expect us not to get outplayed when we fielded a rookie from Denmark, some 18 year kid still on loan in Austria and a natural defender playing as a CDM... This one is on Rohr, if we had the likes of Azeez, perhaps even Nwakali and even Ejaria (if only his passport issues were sorted out in time), that Algerian team was easily there for some thrashing... and we didn't even need the likes of Ndidi, Etebo or Aribo to do that.