Maduka Okoye starts for Rotterdam

75th minute they are 1-0 down.

The club #1 on the bench for first time. He has previously chopped 1 goal, 1 goal, 2 goals, 4 goals, 4 goals.
Re: Maduka Okoye starts for Rotterdam

Oh its only a cup match.

vancity eagle wrote:75th minute they are 1-0 down.

The club #1 on the bench for first time. He has previously chopped 1 goal, 1 goal, 2 goals, 4 goals, 4 goals.
You mean 1 goal up?

vancity eagle wrote:75th minute they are 1-0 down.

You mean 1 goal up?

you're right, my bad

meanwhile he just chopped a goal 4 minutes into stoppage time. 1-1

Kaizer Chiefs confirm on their website that Daniel Akpeyi has been invited for Nigeria's double header against Sierra Leone next month.
It's going to be interesting with Uzoho starting his first game today and keeping a clean sheet.

Dammy wrote:Kaizer Chiefs confirm on their website that Daniel Akpeyi has been invited for Nigeria's double header against Sierra Leone next month.
It's going to be interesting with Uzoho starting his first game today and keeping a clean sheet.
Don't let 1Naija lose his marbles already

Tbh, Okoye hasn't done enough to be No 1 goalie.Yes he's promising but if Uzoho is available and in form then he's No 1.

Dammy wrote:Kaizer Chiefs confirm on their website that Daniel Akpeyi has been invited for Nigeria's double header against Sierra Leone next month.
Yeah! Can someone please check on 1Naija? I am concerned about him

Nigeria's no 1 goalkeeper has been begged back and you are worrying about 1naija? It's a few of you that are in denial. Akpeyi is the truth. He is one player that no one can accuse of having a Godfather. He is no.1 on merit.
onovo

Post by onovo »

Thank God Rohr is the one to decide the team first choice goalkeeper. For Akpeyi to join Kazier Chief (a South African club) and bench South Africa's National team first choice goalkeeper Itumeleng Khune, tells you the stuff he is made of. As for Odinaka Uzoho, the Nigerian fans are his greatest problem. He is simply over rated. The consequence of this is him now plying his trade at a backwater league after having an initial potential in Spain. If you watch Uzoho games very well, you will notice the young man always struggles to catch the ball ones (He needs to learn). In the past, our great goalkeepers like Peter Rufai, Ike Shorunmu, and Vincent Enyeama, etc did not join the national team immediately as first keeper. It took time. Ike Shorunmu understudied for around five years under Peter Rufai, Aloy Agu, Wilfred Agbonavbare, etc. Even Vincent Enyeama understudied Ike Shorunmu etc. Even look at top footballing Nation like Spain, Germany, France, etc. the same model applies

But for Odinaka Uzoho, Immediately he was given glimpse of opportunities in Deportivo La Coruna at La Liga. He was tagged a "World Class" by our local fans and media to the extent he was taken to the World Cup as our first choice goalkeeper. The burden was on the young man with very little league experience. Today what we have is the same man with potential at the La Liga 3 years ago now in a backwater league. Now tell me honestly if this is progression or regression ?

My point is that even if Akpeyi is not the kind of goalkeeper we like. The fact is that he is currently the best we have today based on statistics and not sentiment. Odinaka Uzoho should be placed where he belongs at the minute to help him develop his career with sincerity.
oyek

Post by oyek »

If not for Jesus, where will i be?

onovo wrote:Thank God Rohr is the one to decide the team first choice goalkeeper. For Akpeyi to join Kazier Chief (a South African club) and bench South Africa's National team first choice goalkeeper Itumeleng Khune, tells you the stuff he is made of. As for Odinaka Uzoho, the Nigerian fans are his greatest problem. He is simply over rated. The consequence of this is him now plying his trade at a backwater league after having an initial potential in Spain. If you watch Uzoho games very well, you will notice the young man always struggles to catch the ball ones (He needs to learn). In the past, our great goalkeepers like Peter Rufai, Ike Shorunmu, and Vincent Enyeama, etc did not join the national team immediately as first keeper. It took time. Ike Shorunmu understudied for around five years under Peter Rufai, Aloy Agu, Wilfred Agbonavbare, etc. Even Vincent Enyeama understudied Ike Shorunmu etc. Even look at top footballing Nation like Spain, Germany, France, etc. the same model applies

But for Odinaka Uzoho, Immediately he was given glimpse of opportunities in Deportivo La Coruna at La Liga. He was tagged a "World Class" by our local fans and media to the extent he was taken to the World Cup as our first choice goalkeeper. The burden was on the young man with very little league experience. Today what we have is the same man with potential at the La Liga 3 years ago now in a backwater league. Now tell me honestly if this is progression or regression ?

My point is that even if Akpeyi is not the kind of goalkeeper we like. The fact is that he is currently the best we have today based on statistics and not sentiment. Odinaka Uzoho should be placed where he belongs at the minute to help him develop his career with sincerity.
ithune isn't the starting goalie of Sa, hasn't even played in years.. you are out of touch

Damn see header from opposing keeper. Okoye did very well in this game top saves nothing he could do about the equalizer.

Wow nice saves! Okoye is good!

I am very impressed with Okoye's performance since the friendlies. Seems we have finally gotten credible depth at the goalkeeper position.

Very nice and reassuring performance from Okoye. Suspect he will be in goal for both matches against Sierra Leone.

Regarding the match against Ado den Haag, the Sparta Rotterdam striker Alui couldn't hit a barn door even if it starred him in the face. Bloody useless striker.

lets be honest, he is currently our most inform and active goalie

Very impressed with Okoye from this match. :thumb: :thumb: :thumb:
Even if Akpeyi is the SE no1, I am not sure Uzoho is the automatic no2.

Okoye is making a very strong case and I suspect he is already knocking on door No1 at his club.

onovo wrote:Thank God Rohr is the one to decide the team first choice goalkeeper. For Akpeyi to join Kazier Chief (a South African club) and bench South Africa's National team first choice goalkeeper Itumeleng Khune, tells you the stuff he is made of. As for Odinaka Uzoho, the Nigerian fans are his greatest problem. He is simply over rated. The consequence of this is him now plying his trade at a backwater league after having an initial potential in Spain. If you watch Uzoho games very well, you will notice the young man always struggles to catch the ball ones (He needs to learn). In the past, our great goalkeepers like Peter Rufai, Ike Shorunmu, and Vincent Enyeama, etc did not join the national team immediately as first keeper. It took time. Ike Shorunmu understudied for around five years under Peter Rufai, Aloy Agu, Wilfred Agbonavbare, etc. Even Vincent Enyeama understudied Ike Shorunmu etc. Even look at top footballing Nation like Spain, Germany, France, etc. the same model applies

With all due respect, quit spitting from both sides of the mouth...
You “Thank God” that Rohr decides on the SE GK, but blame Naija fans for Rohr deciding on Uzoho being SE GK at the WC. SMH

With all due respect, quit spitting from both sides of the mouth...
You “Thank God” that Rohr decides on the SE GK, but blame Naija fans for Rohr deciding on Uzoho being SE GK at the WC. SMH

It's amazing that Onovo doesn't know that Uzoho is Rohr's official number 1. He has said it several times but guys just conclude what they want to conclude.

Okoye starts today against 5th placed Herveneen, and he has chopped 3 goals and its only halftime.

vancity eagle wrote:Okoye starts today against 5th placed Herveneen, and he has chopped 3 goals and its only halftime.
How many were his fault?

vancity eagle wrote:Okoye starts today against 5th placed Herveneen, and he has chopped 3 goals and its only halftime.
Make that 4 goals...
60 minutes gone. Sparta looks rubbish!