Match Report: Gernot Rohr on the Ropes........

Re: Match Report: Gernot Rohr on the Ropes........

Damunk wrote:Based on what do you say this? Records?
You judge one coach on records and the other on feelings. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

The same thing was said when Siasia took over - that he "couldn't be any worse". We all know what happened.

Just say you want s to 'try our luck' with a local coach becos there is no objective basis by which we can measure our local coaches' performances that can credibly make their case for the full SE job. Olympics, U17, U20 don't cut it unless you are intent on fooling yourself..

At least Keshi had a track record worth examining.
Just give us a coach with a credible track record is all Nigerians want.
What was Rohr track record :taunt: :taunt:
Better than Amuneke's for starters.
Better than Finidi's.

You can of course go for the guy at KF Tirana in Albania. :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:

While I dont think Rohr should be sacked now ( after the last WC was the right time to sack him), saying that there is no credible alternative is taking it too far.

If the objective is a golden bronze at the ANC and first round exit at the WC (Rohr's achievement) almost any coach will deliver that provided that the NFF does not sabotage such a coach.

If the job is thrown open we will have enough people that will show interest. There are enough local coaches who can deliver same. Amuneke cannot do WORSE than Rohr to start with.
Based on what do you say this? Records?

The same thing was said when Siasia took over - that he "couldn't be any worse". We all know what happened.

Just say you want s to 'try our luck' with a local coach becos there is no objective basis by which we can measure our local coaches' performances that can credibly make their case for the full SE job. Olympics, U17, U20 don't cut it unless you are intent on fooling yourself..

Yes we know happened. Sabotage by the NFF and their ilks.

If Ameneke can get Tanzania to qualify for the ANC that is good enough track record.

What was Rohr's record when we employed him? Any trophy?

And why should Olympics not count?

Telling us there is no alternative to Rohr is absurd!
Sabotage is a lame excuse.
It won't fly bro.
Every SE coach can claim sabotage if they choose to.

Siddonlook11 wrote:
While I dont think Rohr should be sacked now ( after the last WC was the right time to sack him), saying that there is no credible alternative is taking it too far.

If the objective is a golden bronze at the ANC and first round exit at the WC (Rohr's achievement) almost any coach will deliver that provided that the NFF does not sabotage such a coach.

If the job is thrown open we will have enough people that will show interest. There are enough local coaches who can deliver same. Amuneke cannot do WORSE than Rohr to start with.

If Ameneke can get Tanzania to qualify for the ANC that is good enough track record.

I really dont get it ...Has Rohr been better than Amodu, and Keshi statistically ? Plus the abuse they had to endure because they were "local" ? Abeg make una stats buff answer o.. I think a combo of Amuneke and Maybe the Egbo others are pushing would be a good pair to try. why one ? why cant we get both ?
You really don't want the answer to that question.
You won't be happy if you got it.
The results were posted here last year and people did "the needful" - ignored it. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Many people on here trivialize the appointment of a new coach. They really don't understand how much of a gamble it is.

deanotito wrote:Many people on here trivialize the appointment of a new coach. They really don't understand how much of a gamble it is.
Well Algeria took that gamble, and we all know how that turned out... what's the essence of life without taking a gamble sometimes?

deanotito wrote:Many people on here trivialize the appointment of a new coach. They really don't understand how much of a gamble it is.
Well Algeria took that gamble, and we all know how that turned out... what's the essence of life without taking a gamble sometimes?
Do you ever wonder why an 85 year old Buhari is president of Nigeria? and while politicians who fail as local government chairmen become governors? while those who fail in the house of rep go to the senate? You need'nt wonder my brother. Most Nigerians are like deadotito. They do not like gambles. They will stick to the tried and failed to the death! It doesnt matter if it kills them or destroys the country, they will stick to the Obasanjo and Buhari that they know. Tufiakwa!

:clap: :clap: :clap: we just like to play it "safe" and be stuck in the mud of cyclic mediocrity, that's why we are whom and where we are as a people.

Tobi, you’re a young man. Don’t model your choices after chest thumpers online who wouldn’t understand a calculated risk if it slapped them in the face.
Last edited by deanotito on Thu Nov 19, 2020 2:53 am, edited 1 time in total.

Let’s investigate this claim. Algeria’s current coach took over in 2018 after the previous coach led a team to a group Afcon elimination in 2017. He then led the team to a 2019 Afcon victory.

You on the other hand are asking for a Bronze medal winning coach, top of his group and top of every qualification series he has participated in (with games to spare) to be fired.

It’s obvious you people don’t understand what types of risks serious people should take, and what kind of thoughts they should see a psychologist for.

Algeria finished LAST in their WC qualifying group and were even beaten at home by Zambia.

You think we are in the same situation ?

deanotito,

First, let me point out that there is a risk firing Rohr. It is a financial settlement risk and considering NFF finances (and the fact that NFF may likely be made to pay this up) this is a substantial risk especially when one considers that Nigeria is on track to reach the AFCON finals.

Hoewever, your calculation that there is a major risk of getting a worse coach is doubtful. I am not exactly sure how you calculated that risk. It may help if you can share the reasoning behind that calculation.

On the contrary, I find the risk to be low. This calculation is based on the following:

AFCON
1. Nigeria has more often than not qualified for the AFCON finals since 1976. This is a period of 50 years in a biennial competition. That is a huge qualification likelihood at every qualification series.

2. At least three of four finals that Nigeria failed to reach were explained by upheavals (The other two -- 1996 & 1998) was based on crisis concerning Sani Abacha government). The first, 1986, being the absence of the Head coach in a crucial qualification game v Zambia (re: Udemezue), Siasia ill-advised attacking for additional goals instead of defending a lead against Guinea (2012), NFF battling of Keshi in the midst of important qualifiers (2015), and then a quirk meeting against Egypt during a qualifier (2017). But even then, these four episodes constitute a small number of finals that Nigeria did not get to given that the competition is once every two years regardless of who the Manager was!

3. Nigeria has only failed to get third place in only 1982 and 2008. In essence, Nigeria invariably medals when it gets to the tournament finals: 1976, 1978, 1980, 1984, 1988, 1990, 1992, 1994, 2000, 2002, 2004, 2006, 2010, 2013, 2019.

4. Bear in mind that most of the above was achieved in AFCON finals with 8 and then 16 teams. Since 2019, 24 teams now get to the finals. This makes it even a shoo-in for the likes of Nigeria making the odds far more favorable.

** Given the above, the odds favor not doing worse with a new coach given what Rohr has achieved with the team. I will play those odds with high optimism!b given Nigeria's ranking in Africa and the fact that as many as 24 teams now get to the AFCON finals.

The World Cup
1. This is of course a far more difficult odds to play.

2. However, since 1994, Nigeria has reached the WC finals in 1994, 1998, 2006, 2010, 2014, 2018! We have only missed one finals in 2006. These feats have been achieved with different coaches both foreign and local.

3. At the WC itself, Rohr lost in the opening round. A new coach getting there will do no worse!

Dean,

The bottomline is Rohr has done nothing extraordinary. He is a middling coach for Nigeria at best and it will not be difficult to find someone who will do no worse.

However, the hope will be to find someone to do better. That lessens the odds but to find someone to do like Rohr is much easier than you make it seem given the above odds.

If you think about it, what Rohr achieved with Nigeria can be attributed mostly to the fact that he was managing Nigeria! He did nothing close during his time in Niger, Gabon, and Burkina Faso. The only remarkable thing that Rohr ever did in his coaching career is taking Bourdeau to the UEFA Cup final in 1996! He isn't a remarkable manager.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Siddonlook11 wrote:

I really dont get it ...Has Rohr been better than Amodu, and Keshi statistically ? Plus the abuse they had to endure because they were "local" ? Abeg make una stats buff answer o.. I think a combo of Amuneke and Maybe the Egbo others are pushing would be a good pair to try. why one ? why cant we get both ?
The results were posted here last year and people did "the needful" - ignored it. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
I still want it abeg - can you report the link here ?

deanotito,

First, let me point out that there is a risk firing Rohr. It is a financial settlement risk and considering NFF finances (and the fact that NFF may likely be made to pay this up) this is a substantial risk especially when one considers that Nigeria is on track to reach the AFCON finals.

Hoewever, your calculation that there is a major risk of getting a worse coach is doubtful. I am not exactly sure how you calculated that risk. It may help if you can share the reasoning behind that calculation.

On the contrary, I find the risk to be low. This calculation is based on the following:

AFCON
1. Nigeria has more often than not qualified for the AFCON finals since 1976. This is a period of 50 years in a biennial competition. That is a huge qualification likelihood at every qualification series.

2. At least three of four finals that Nigeria failed to reach were explained by upheavals (The other two -- 1996 & 1998) was based on crisis concerning Sani Abacha government). The first, 1986, being the absence of the Head coach in a crucial qualification game v Zambia (re: Udemezue), Siasia ill-advised attacking for additional goals instead of defending a lead against Guinea (2012), NFF battling of Keshi in the midst of important qualifiers (2015), and then a quirk meeting against Egypt during a qualifier (2017). But even then, these four episodes constitute a small number of finals that Nigeria did not get to given that the competition is once every two years regardless of who the Manager was!

3. Nigeria has only failed to get third place in only 1982 and 2008. In essence, Nigeria invariably medals when it gets to the tournament finals: 1976, 1978, 1980, 1984, 1988, 1990, 1992, 1994, 2000, 2002, 2004, 2006, 2010, 2013, 2019.

4. Bear in mind that most of the above was achieved in AFCON finals with 8 and then 16 teams. Since 2019, 24 teams now get to the finals. This makes it even a shoo-in for the likes of Nigeria making the odds far more favorable.

** Given the above, the odds favor not doing worse with a new coach given what Rohr has achieved with the team. I will play those odds with high optimism!b given Nigeria's ranking in Africa and the fact that as many as 24 teams now get to the AFCON finals.

The World Cup

2. However, since 1994, Nigeria has reached the WC finals in 1994, 1998, 2006, 2010, 2014, 2018! We have only missed one finals in 2006. These feats have been achieved with different coaches both foreign and local.

3. At the WC itself, Rohr lost in the opening round. A new coach getting there will do no worse!

Dean,

The bottomline is Rohr has done nothing extraordinary. He is a middling coach for Nigeria at best and it will not be difficult to find someone who will do no worse.

However, the hope will be to find someone to do better. That lessens the odds but to find someone to do like Rohr is much easier than you make it seem given the above odds.

If you think about it, what Rohr achieved with Nigeria can be attributed mostly to the fact that he was managing Nigeria! He did nothing close during his time in Niger, Gabon, and Burkina Faso. The only remarkable thing that Rohr ever did in his coaching career is taking Bourdeau to the UEFA Cup final in 1996! He isn't a remarkable manager.
I am sure the Rohr brigade will ignore this.

Its not just change for the sake of changing..for me it also comes down to what is happening around us in the world today - why must we persist with a stereotype that we cant fix our own problems by our own ways ? Why cant we find a right path to our own coaching the national team ? I don tire for Oyinbo abeg let try our own again and again and again till we make it work. why can we go back and invite the British to recolonize us every-time our leaders fail? why can we do the same with less critical sport like soccer ? abeg joo.

That's fine.
But can we handle the turbulence that comes with the gamble?
History will tell us NO.
I fear for Amuneke dem, even more than the SE.

Siddonlook11 wrote:
I still want it abeg - can you report the link here ?
You say you want stats?
Oya, take. Here is the post from November last year, so this year's 4 games are not included: viewtopic.php?f=1&t=301294&p=5597931

niyi wrote:
Enugu II wrote:In my view, Gernot Rohr who will finish as the longest serving Nigerian coach must start wining or he is in his last years as the NT Coach. That much is or should be clear. We have never had a coach with such futility given the time in the saddle. For him to stay on, the only way out is winning.

I am not a fan of Rohr but isn't the premise of this thread flawed?
What is his winning % compared to other past SE coaches?

Seems the only 'winning' that counts is the AFCON gold.
So when Prof says`'start winning" he is effectively saying he should win AFCON.
Nothing wrong in that but considering there has only been one opportunity to win it so far, it sounds strange to hear "start winning" as if he has lost many opportunities to win AFCON.

As for winning ratios, I posted his record vs Keshi's a few months ago. People were not interested.
He had already notched up more wins than Keshi with fewer games.
And Keshi had been our best coach in terms of "winning".

DATA SOURCE:
https://www.transfermarkt.com/stephen-k ... 550/plus/1?
saison_id=&verein_id=3444&liga=&wettbewerb_id=&trainer_id=

https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/gernot- ... 824/plus/1?
saison_id=&verein_id=3444&liga=&wettbewerb_id=&trainer_id=

Stats only have value in Nigeria when the heavenly stars align on any given day. Otherwise they don't count.
That's why they sacked Amodu twice, for reasons only astronomers have ever understood.
Apparently, the stars were out of position.

deanotito,

AFCON

The World Cup

Dean,

:clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:

Rohr qualified Niger for ANC! That´s another achievement!

Damunk wrote:Stats only have value in Nigeria when the heavenly stars align on any given day. Otherwise they don't count.
That's why they sacked Amodu twice, for reasons only astronomers have ever understood.
Baba, we have discussed this stats because... Like my sociology lecture was remarked about low unemployment figures... Figures don´t lie, liars can figure!

Damunk wrote:Stats only have value in Nigeria when the heavenly stars align on any given day. Otherwise they don't count.
Baba, we have discussed this stats because... Like my sociology lecture was remarked about low unemployment figures... Figures don´t lie, liars can figure!
Indeed Fabio, you have spoken well. :taunt:

That's why you can't really challenge the statistics.
Bottom line is, he is not the abject failure you like to class him as.
He just hasn't won AFCON and you don't like the way the team plays....pretty much the same lame reasons for sacking Amodu back then.

People that don't learn from history are....oops!
The word 'learn' is taboo in these parts! :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:

Damunk wrote:Indeed Fabio, you have spoken well. :taunt:

He just hasn't won AFCON and you don't like the way the team plays....pretty much the same lame reasons for sacking Amodu back then.

We have discussed this statistics! Congratulations to Rohr for his record breaking statistics.
Your stats reminds me of Super Bowl XLII. When the American Football Conference (AFC) champion New England Patriots came with a perfect 16-0 and their the National Football Conference (NFC) champion New York Giants came with (10–6).

Using your theory.

Before the Super Bowl.

New England Patriots 100% before the Super Bowl

New York Giants 62.5% before the Super Bowl.

After the Super Bowl, these were the stats:

New England Patriots stats for the season was 94%

New York Giants stats for the season was 64%.

Whilst New York Giants won the Super Bowl, New England Patriots were satisfied they won the statistically argument or I dare say emotional argument!
New England Patriots are still learning from the statistics, whilst the New York Giants went home with the Super Bowl. Please keep learning :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:

That's fine.
But can we handle the turbulence that comes with the gamble?
History will tell us NO.
I fear for Amuneke dem, even more than the SE.
Adarabioyo also took a gamble, while you told him to be afraid of change and remain at City! Thank God the boy did not listen and look at him now. :D

Damunk wrote:Indeed Fabio, you have spoken well. :taunt:

We have discussed this statistics! Congratulations to Rohr for his record breaking statistics.
Your stats reminds me of Super Bowl XLII. When the American Football Conference (AFC) champion New England Patriots came with a perfect 16-0 and their the National Football Conference (NFC) champion New York Giants came with (10–6).

Using your theory.

Before the Super Bowl.

New England Patriots 100% before the Super Bowl

New York Giants 62.5% before the Super Bowl.

After the Super Bowl, these were the stats:

New England Patriots stats for the season was 94%

New York Giants stats for the season was 64%.

Whilst New York Giants won the Super Bowl, New England Patriots were satisfied they won the statistically argument or I dare say emotional argument!
New England Patriots are still learning from the statistics, whilst the New York Giants went home with the Super Bowl. Please keep learning :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:
You can ignore nah.
Na you ask me question?
Why are you so defensive?
Na your consign?
Abeg, face front.
If you have no regard for records, stick with feelings. :taunt: